1995 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1995 Renault Clio Oasis RL 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

She's a little beauty

Faults:

Water dripping from the interior light unit.

Engine cuts out sometimes when I start up.

General Comments:

It's a good little runner and I'm very pleased with it seeing as it is my first car.

Handles very well.

I don't like the fact that you can't go above 70mph because then my engine slows the car down or the chassis vibrates violently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

22nd Aug 2006, 09:34

I myself have a Renault Clio Oasis. In regards to the engine slowing the car down or the chassis vibrating, have you had the engine and the mounts checked out. I recently had a lapse of concentration and realised my car was doing 100 with no vibrations whatsoever. Other than a minor oil leak (gets through to each service without needing topping up) there is nothing wrong with the car, and I manage to rack up 1500 miles a month.

1995 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

This car is a reliable rs turbo beater!!!

Faults:

Engine rattles a bit when cold.

Steering column creaks.

Sun roof leaks occasionaly.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick.

The interior although a bit dull is very comfy.

I like the oil gauges they show when it is safe to boot it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1995 Renault Clio RSI 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance76210 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Very quick, but I want more

Faults:

Clutch cable snapped two days after buying, Had to replace front exhaust pipe and center box.

Touch wood had no problem with a leaking sunroof which seems to be a common fault.

General Comments:

This is one very fast little car, I previously owned a Rover 220 GSI and the clio is quicker,

I've had fitted a Power flow back box and next is a K&N induction kit hoping to boost performance even more.

Was thinking about getting it chipped, but heard a few bad things about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

1995 Renault Clio RL 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

I have to say I really like it!

Faults:

I was very happy with my clio until just about now.

It ran brilliantly - and then: -

My head gasket started to leak oil at 87000 miles (don't know if it had been changed before). £200.00 approx.

My brakes are rubbing and so my car is not running freely. dad to fix.

It has started to leak (only slightly), but worried it may get worse. only happens occasionally in heavy rain fall in winter so will not bother fixing it.

Over heating - not sure why as head gasket has been changed. Possibly something wrong with water pipes or radiator?

Fan not coming on when everything is too warm, even though all switches have been changed! Maybe something to do with Radiator not heating up, but everything else does!

I really should leave it into a mechanic to sort out all the little problems I am having, but money is tight, so my dad will have to fix some of it, and the others, well they will just have to wait!

General Comments:

Believe it or not, I still love this little car! I reckon everything is going wrong because it is coming to 10 years old and don't think much was done to it before I got it.

Its nice to drive, steering not too heavy, but clutch quite heavy.

I find the seats very comfortable and the inside of the car is very roomy considering the size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2004

1995 Renault Clio rsi 1.8 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Fast, reliable and cheap

Faults:

Humming Noise coming from passenger side.

General Comments:

A fantastic Hot hatch.

Rapid affordable car.

Good on petrol and reasonable on insurance.

Well capable of tonking Standard Saxo VTR's and Many other supposed Hot Hatches.

110 BHP, 0-60 in just over 8 seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2004

1995 Renault Clio 16 valve 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Impressive, different choice which needs to be respected!

Faults:

The Alternator went the day after I bought the car which is apparently a very common fault. Difficult job to do because of the position of the unit under the inlet manifold!

General Comments:

The build quality in general is quite simply...french! The quality is as expected, nothing great, but not terrible by a long way! The car handles brilliantly and sounds great when an induction kit is fitted! The factory body is brilliant as it has the bonnet vent, the wider arches, different bumper and so on. The acceleration surprises most people as they give you the 'hold on, that's a Clio' confused look! The interior is very comfortable as it has the bucket seats as standard, I have the late model so have the slightly larger, more comfortable seats-both have lumbar support as standard I think???Mine has anyway! The wheel arches are well sized so a set of 17 inch wheels fit on straight way, something which is impossible on any of the normal arched Clios! Fantastic little car although expensive for a 19 year old to insure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

10th Jan 2005, 14:44

To start with, you can fit 17 inch wheels to any Clio.

Have you heard of Clios overheating? I have a 1.6 8v Clio 1999. To my astonishment, I have to buy a new engine for it, as the engine is rubbish. 5 garages have told me changing engines in Clios is common. How come I have never seen anything about this?

Help.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews