1995 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1995 Renault Clio RSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Overall it is a nice little car packing bags of fun

Faults:

Judging by the service history nothing has gone wrong with the car except for the usual wear and tear.

I recently put the car through the 72,000 miles major service.

Everything was fine, except for a split timing belt.

General Comments:

I bought the car modified with:

K+N 52 induction kit.

Devil de-cat exhaust.

Magnex rear silencer.

+12 BHP Superchip.

Cool air flow kit.

Piper cams.

30-45mm lowered suspension.

The power from this small car is quite shocking.

When you put your foot down in 2nd gear the car really takes off.

Handles very well, very agile.

Great fun to drive.

The interior is nicely laid out.

The seats are sporty and figure hugging.

The gear box feels solid along with the clutch.

Most people will agree that the Clio is a nice looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

5th Mar 2007, 11:10

Good shout mate! Got an RSi with a straight through exhaust, BDSA Air filter, lowered 65mm fully adjustable with a sparco strut brace and it goes like HELL!

1995 Renault Clio RSI 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61500 miles
Most recent distance64800 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Cheap,but fast

Faults:

Front and rear disks and pads replaced.

Engine Mounting replaced.

Seat wings have collapsed on both the driver and passenger sides, though that's easily fixed!

Leaking aerial seal.

Leaking rear washer, causing rust.

Rust starting on the rear arches.

General Comments:

Though there have been a few more problems with the car than listed, I still love it to bits!

The car handles surprisingly well, the engine can perform explosively, if you ask it to.

The car has not been modified in any way (yet!!), however its victims include Corsa GSI, 106 GTI, and beleive it or not a Impreza WRX STI... but I think he was just playing with me though!!!

Once it has its exhaust, Superchip and Induction kit, I'm sure it'll have impressive power, tourqe and 0-60 figures.

All that's on hold though because some Muppet decided to pull out on me, and thought she'd blame it on me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

5th Mar 2007, 11:38

No mate, believe it! I left a subaru STI behind at the lights in my rsi. He did stay with me, but I was pulling away by quite a distance. must be the power to weight ratio?

5th Mar 2007, 17:36

I think the power-to-weight would have to be a bit more significant than that, STI's have 265 BHP and a 0-60 of 5.2 seconds, to beat him at the lights you would have to beat 5.2 seconds in an RSI, and also beat 0-100 in 13.7, don't get too carried away with the old power-to-weight ammo.

1995 Renault Clio 1.4 RT 1.4 from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres

Summary:

A good package for the money

Faults:

Back part of exhaust pipe broke.

A small crack in the cooling fluid bottle caused gradual loss of cooling fluid, resulting in overheating.

The cable from contact key to engine starter lost contact sometimes.

Rear window wiper sometimes doesn't work.

The clutch became very hard. The mechanics said that is because it is nearing the end of its life.

Difficult to shift from 3rd to 2nd gear until the gear box has warmed up.

General Comments:

The engine is the big plus on this car. It performs better than the newer 75HP 1.4 Clios. It has power steering and central locking (also electrical windows and mirrors, which I don't find very important).

Various things break here and there, but nothing expensive.

Regular maintenance is quite costly, but the car is economical on fuel.

It drives really well in the city and on country roads. For long autobahn journeys, the seats are too soft and the engine is a bit loud over 130 km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2002

1995 Renault Clio 1.8 Rsi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Bland uninspiring banger

Faults:

Battery.

Clutch.

Fuel sender unit.

Fog Lights failed.

Ignition module.

General Comments:

Nippy car, but didn't feel stable at speed.

Didn't seem to be suited for long motorway runs.

Interior was boring and had the odd rattle.

Reliability of the electrics were very poor.

Body started to rust despite regular washing and waxing.

Not finished very well, felt a cheap car.

Poor fuel economy and high insurance group together with an average of 27mpg made this an expensive car to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

6th Aug 2005, 13:37

I think you just ad a dodgy one. I'm on my second MK1 and I love them.

28th Dec 2006, 14:01

I am interested in getting a clio rsi 1.8 want to know if I am gonna regret it or worship it also wot does rsi stand for.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews