1995 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 7 of 11

1995 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired57500 miles
Most recent distance74500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

The best hot hatch for power/

Faults:

The right front wheel bearings went at 69,000 miles.

The battery was replaced in 2001.

Faulty oil gauge readout.

General Comments:

I firstly looked at purchasing a 19 16v, but in the end I went for the Clio, which in my view is the better of the two.

After driving a 1.3 309, I was amazed at the performance of this little car, its simply amazing. Even with a full car load of people its very quick!

It handles very well, although it can be twitchy in the wet, you can judge when the front-end will start slipping and make adjustments. It's a good drivers car, you can sense what is going on throughout the car while driving.

This car will out perform nearly anything out there short of Porches etc, a superbly fast car that is quite happy round town too.

So far no real expenses, but I am past the limit for the cam-belt to be replaced, so will have to watch out for it as it's a very big job if it goes!

Anyone who is looking to buy one, do it, it will beat all those Gt i's out there, it's a superb little car with great looks and performance, I love mine! Also, not too many on the road so quite unique.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

31st Aug 2004, 12:32

I've just bought a Clio 16v, it's a great looking car. Mine has stainless steel exhaust, K&N induction kit and is chipped. I think it must be pushing 150bhp. Ultimate pocket rocket!! Sounds nice too. It didn't cost the earth to insure either which made a nice change.

15th Feb 2005, 13:38

The Clio 16v. Agreed, This is one of the best hatches out there. I've owned mine nearly 2 years and I love it. It will wipe the floor with all the Gti's and will beat rs turbo's. I'm not lying either! Great car, but expensive if it breaks.

10th Mar 2006, 14:46

1 word from the owner of one "WILLIAMS"

12th Mar 2006, 14:53

MY mg zs180 handles better than the williams. Damn sight faster as well, speaking from first hand experience. As I have owned both, I still have the Mg though.

Don't get me wrong the williams is a great little car, but NO WAY can it out handle or out accelerate the MG ZS180! Zs 180 has gotta be the best performance bargain of the decade!

1995 Renault Clio RSI 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A lovely little car, but now very wet due to sunroof leaking

Faults:

Sunroof leaking - I get very wet!

General Comments:

The car is very fast and very reliable.

The only problem is the leaking sunroof, which apparently is a Renault design fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

2nd Dec 2003, 10:20

My clio has also got a leaking sunroof. Are there no drainage channels on it? If there are I can't find them! I can't believe Renault are claiming a design fault, it does rain in France doesn't it?

9th Feb 2004, 08:23

My car also leaks very badly.

If anyone knows where I can get a better seal please add your comments here...

29th Jul 2005, 13:28

I am on my second Clio both sunroofs have leaks, There seems no way of dealing with them that is not very expensive. I have decided to seal mine up completely. I hope this will prevent further embarrassing wet patches on outer clothing. Does anybody have other ideas?

1st Nov 2005, 08:51

I spent a fortune getting my Clio sunroof repaired and then had a new one put in as apparently mine was "warped" but it still leaked badly. In the end I sealed the thing up entirely with silicone gel and haven't had any problems since!

1995 Renault Clio RL Prima 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Lovely car, but expensive to run

Faults:

The car had a leak from the sump gasket costing a lot of money,

The clutch had to be replaced cost four times that of a clutch in a fiesta Zetec

The car likes to eat brakes, a set of pads every 12,000 the norm

Constant leaks from the sump gasket drain plug

Head gasket needed replacing at 60,000 miles

Brake cyinders neded replacing at 65,000 costing again a lot of money.

General Comments:

The car is great to drive and is very responsive, but general repairs cost a lot of money to carry out and makes me wary of buying another on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

26th Mar 2004, 06:14

Re: the 1995 1.2 Clio.

Totally agree that the car eats brakes. My car is annually getting pads replaced. Also, oil sump had various leaks, which is indeed a very expensive repair!

Allen, Aberdeen.

6th Aug 2005, 13:34

I can't see how its expensive to run. I have had the model above (1.4 rt) and that didn't cost hardly anything to run and I now have the 1.8 16V which still isn't that expensive.

11th Apr 2006, 15:40

I agree with the car eating brake pads, mine needed new rear cylinders, front brake discs were badly worn and needed replacing. I also agree with the price of the clutch.

Cost almost £180 of work done to the car when I got it and put it through it's MOT okay, but six months down the line the clutch went (costing another £180 alone!) and I was told there were other problems, including the steering rod which had cracked, oil leak from in front of the gearbox somewhere, the heater matrix blocked up, wheel bearings needed replacing, and new brake pads were needed!

Somehow a car with a value of approx £500 is not worth all the hassle. I'm much happier with my new Corsa!

8th May 2008, 15:57

You poor bugger, buying a Corsa.

I work in the motor trade, and can tell you now you're going to have trouble with that car.

They like blowing head gaskets. I know; I have done loads on the 1.2 12v, so out of the cars you were talking about, I would have the Renault Clio.

At least the Clio has 4 spark plugs.

The Clio is good on fuel and a good first car, but try a Honda Civic for your 2nd. You'll love it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews