1999 Renault Clio RN 1.1 from UK and Ireland


Never buy a Renault!


Where do I start with the problems I have had with this car:

It fails to start on a regular bases.

A pool of water is waiting for me on the floor of the drivers side every time I step into the car.

The service light is constantly on, even though it has been replaced twice.

The car cuts out when slowing down, very dangerous.

General Comments:

They say, never say never, well I'm saying it. I will NEVER own another Renault car again. I've had problems with it since the day I bought it.

If it's not one thing it's another.

It's a shame as the car is comfy and well finished, but obviously at the expense of reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

1999 Renault Clio 1.2 from UK and Ireland


Fantastic until..........


Pulling to the left at 42,000 miles. Tracking has not fixed.

When I first had it in 2003 the brakes locked, but Renault Wolverhampton sorted it all out, no problem.

General Comments:

Fantastic car until started pulling to the left at 42,000 miles.

Comfy, 'very' nippy and apart from the stated (only) 2 problems, 100% reliable.

Not the best on cornering however.

I 'was' so in love.

Any advice as to the cause of the current problem will be appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

7th Feb 2006, 06:06

Get the roll bar link checked, mine had snapped and car was going right, got that fixed and all was back to normal, didn't need tracking. Chris.

1999 Renault Clio RT 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A very nice car for small families


Clutch had to be replaced on 12000 mile first service.

When the weather gets cold and reaches just above minus to a maximum of 5 degrees the dashboard dials jump about and only reset when I remove the leads from the battery and replace.

The radio worked for the first year and the tape player refused to work after that.

Its now December 2004 and the radio has lost some of the display panel lighting.

General Comments:

Apart from the faults mentioned the Clio is quite a nice car and very cheap to run and has never really caused me any serious problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

1999 Renault Clio 1.6 from Trinidad and Tobago


A high cost money pit


I Received electrical shocks from the car approximately 3 times a month for the time I drove the car.

I had to replace engine mounts 3 times in two years.

The after warranty service is not very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

20th Nov 2008, 15:27

A Clio 1.6 was my first car. I loved that car and it almost made me broke. It was zippy and just the right size for me. However, I never had much confidence that the dealership knew what they were doing. I knew the transmission light came on and they told me that it was a fault that could be 'erased'. The transmission eventually gave out and then they didn't have the trained technician to rebuild it. The cost of parts in Trinidad and Tobago would rule out me ever buying another Renault. Resale value is also low.

1999 Renault Clio 1.9 diesel from Croatia


Ideal start for beginners


Front right suspension leaked at 25 000km. Replaced under warranty.

Oil pressure indicator failure at 90 000km (very cheap.)

First gear on ventilation system failed at 100 000km (never fixed it)

Water pump failure at 104 000km. Probably because V belt was changed at 100 000km and the pump wasn't. Pretty expensive for this class of vehicle - aprox 190 EUR.

General Comments:

This is very smooth and comfortable car. Ideal for city and for women. On longer trips max three passengers due to lack of space and power.

Transmission is well combined with engine and although is has only 64 hp you can cruise on highway with speed of 160 (161 km/h official top speed)

Fuel consumption is approx 5,5 - 6 in the city and on open road you can go under 5 liters per 100 km.

If you think of this as your first car, you have my strong recommendation.

Low maintenance and "user friendly" behavior during driving are it's best qualities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004