2002 Renault Clio 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A possible death trap


Severe problem with the suspension.

General Comments:

Purchased the car via a Hire Purchase Agreement in June this year and within 6 weeks off ownership a fault with the suspension has resulted in the car being deemed a write off.

The dealership do not want to get involved and state its simply an insurance matter, the Finance Company blame the dealership.

I am now left with no car, a possible claim on my insurance, thus loss of my no claims bonus and the option of getting into debt to sue over my personal loss and personal injuries. Think it's a disgrace that such a large well known company can get away with selling substandard vehicles, so much for consumer protection. Will never get in another Renault Car as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

2002 Renault Clio Extreme 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A funky, fun car with high performance and lots of extras at a great price!


I have only had one slight problem since purchasing the car, it's air bag light came on all the time when driving - this was very quickly put rectified.

General Comments:

I love this car! It's from the Clio sport selection so has that extra something - being a special edition it also has lots of extras such as automatic headlights and windscreen wipers, CD, trip computer, sunroof etc, but best of all is the very Jazzy interior.

The car is fun and sporty looking - I love the metallic black colour.

In addition the engine is so nippy, being a 16 valve it really does move well, and I would never have believed it was such a small engine. Even my husband who dives a 2.5 V6 was impressed with it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2002

13th Feb 2003, 07:14

Same problem with airbag/service light coming on... what was the problem???

Apart from that pretty good apart from no-air con!

29th Mar 2003, 10:08

Me too, but work in dealership so not too much of a problem, under seat wiring was the fault, fixed in minutes. Love the car, just love it, so nippy and looks great and very economical, can't wait to get my next one - wouldn't change model for £1,000 0000.

5th Apr 2003, 09:14

I've got this car as well, great car. I had a similar problem, a light kept coming on, on my dash board. I looked it up in the manual and it said take it back to the garage straight away. It has come on a few times, but only within the first 3,000 miles. It has been back to the garage a few times with the above, also as the drivers window stopped working and on the top of the gear knob the face was coming off. Do love the car though, love the seats (although they get dirty quick) and the colour (a rare blue, think its cyclone blue?). Can't wait to get my next one.

8th Nov 2005, 07:15

Bought the Extreme brand new having decided I wanted a sporty looking, cheap to run car and seem to have had problem, after problem with it.

Engine Management Light has come on twice when engine lost most of it's power

CD Player packed in

Coating on Gear Knob has all chipped off

Coil/plugs/HT leads have had to be replaced by AA

Brake Master Cylinder went capput.

Apart from that, it is great on petrol, flies round the corners and is dead cheap to insure!!

2002 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland


Great car, but some serious safety problems


Air bag warning light came on several times. Dealership suggested a "Renault modification" of cutting the wiring loom for the air bag and soldering in new wires! About 30 miles from the Dealership in Inverness while doing 70 MPH and overtaking a line of traffic the passenger seat airbag deployed. Dealership refuse to repair the car without my insurance paying for it. It is also 5 weeks since the incident and there is still no sign of the seat or airbag. On back order - nice one Renault UK who are not interested in the slightest. Truly remarkable as I was about to place a fleet order for 6 Clio vans and 3 Clio cars (all diesel). They will not respond to my solicitor, so it looks as if they will get the car back.

General Comments:

Great little car.

Pity about the airbag and their safety.

Pity about Renault UK lack of interest.

Pity about dealer's lack of interest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

31st Jul 2002, 17:35

I have a Clio Sport 172 mark II (September 2001) and the air bag warning light is now coming on also. It's the passenger side air bag - there is a wire up the back of the passenger seat which is strained when moving the seat back/forth to get access to the rear - upon tugging the wire back of the seat the air bag light goes off. Hopefully the air bag will not deploy when I have a passenger. Dealer can't rectify the problem.