2002 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 21 of 23

2002 Renault Clio extreme 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Very reliable and looks very smart.

Faults:

My air bag light came on.

My seats have started to wear and stain.

My number plate fell off.

My gear lever material has a hole in it.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for a 1.2, 16v.

It is very comfortable to drive on both long and short journeys.

This car also has really good brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

2002 Renault Clio Sport 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance350 miles

Summary:

Nothing but fantastic value for money

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The car is very nice.

The colors, one of the main features, totally set the car off.

The car handles extremely well, in the wet, in the dry, at low speeds and at high speeds.

Having owned a Scooter for two years, I thought the time had come to exchange it for something a little warmer. After looking around dealerships for a couple of weeks, test-driving a few cars along the way, I was introduced to the Extreme, and I ordered the car the same day.

The car's 16V gives it that edge, instant power when you need it, or indeed want it.

Three words for anyone toying between the Renault Clio 1.2 16V Extreme (which is in the Clio Sport range) and something other the this beauty, "Go Buy One".

A sure way to make all of your friend seriously jealous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

26th Mar 2003, 07:47

Extreme is a special edition. The sport edition as standard are the Dynamique range... Though the 1.2 Extreme and 1.2 Dynamique are virtually identical, except for the colour and a CD player thrown in for the Extreme.

2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.2 16v from Slovenia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Reliability comes first, so think about it

Faults:

Electronic failure, the gas pedal stopped working - on a busy highway. Had to tow the car. Computer had to be replaced (after 1 week).

Ignition coil failure (car running on 3 Cyl, the catalyzator could start to burn).

The car couldn't be started - sensors had to be replaced, common problem with new Clio's that they fail to fast start again.

Electronic failure, gas pedal stopped working. Went to service, they've "fixed" the problem, next day the car died on me one more time when I was driving to an important meeting.

The ventilator panel stopped working. Had to be replaced.

Don't use the long lights and wipers at night - because the lights shutdown. There's a bug in a computer system and Renault is aware of it. Except that they refuse to repair it on my car...

The repairmen at Renault broke down two plastic parts (engine cover and ashtray bottom) during all the repairs and they refuse it replace it - like, my fault..

Etc..

All this problems occurred in 6 months since I got the new Clio. At Renault Slovenia they're all saying that they can't replace it and it should work now... I'm afraid to drive around now, because my Clio died on me around every 2500 kilometers (1250 miles). I had French Clio '98 - not a bigger problem in 4 years!

I'm not pushing the car to the limits, revs go up to 4500 max, but the car engine keeps using the oil (!!!). Full oil in this car drops down to minimum in just 2500km. I can't believe it...

General Comments:

Otherwise, the New Clio handles the corners much better than the old Series (1998-2001).

The engine is quite good, the car is very comfortable and it has many places to drop off your things. Seats are one of the best. But some nasty noises can be heard from the wheel when turning fast on a parking place.

The backseats are more comfortable than in the past series of Clios.

The best new part is the ABS System that really takes care of you in tough situations. The car stops very shortly and handling is very good! The 4 airbags make you feel secure, although there were already problems with the underseat connectors. The airbag light and SERVice light went on and I had to attach the cables (so I was told on Renault service) back again more firmly...

But it all comes way to short for me to be happy about this car and most of you will agree that the car reliablity is the most important factor. In half of the year using the new bought Clio, it broke down 5 times and left me on the road... I've managed to contact a lot of new Clio 2002 owners on the Internet and they face the similiar problems, so I'm not the only one... I guess Renault has some tough problems to face to keep the customers. I'm switching to Ford or one of the Japanese cars, I've seen enough, although I *was* a proud owner of Renault for more than 6 years...

Good luck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

7th Oct 2004, 18:29

I am driving the same car in Italy... And I had the same sort of problems:

10000 Km: BOTH front lights burned out in 2 days and replaced

15000 Km: Radio satellite at steering wheel replaced

25000 Km: first coil replaced

27000 Km: Engine Control Unit reprogrammed by Renault

30000 Km: second coil replaced

35000 Km: third coil replaced

37000 Km: shaft position sensor replaced.

The CD unit behaves erratically

The driver window makes strange noises

The airbag wiring harness under the passenger seat is loose

The glove compartment light does not switch off any more

Strange feeling at the brake pedal if you press it flat and then release not completely (no feedback at all... but it brakes!)

Left side plastic on the windscreen detaches continuously

Erratic behavior of the mean fuel consumption indicator (shows IMPOSSIBLE values, and cycle rapidly when IDLE)

(Renault tried to fix all of this without success)

And after 40000 Km the driver seat is REALLY worn out... and I think to have 'behaved' normally on it!

Now I am waiting for the fourth coil to fail...

PS1: Try to reproduce this sequence of events (I am not sure now of the correctness of the sequence, but if you try some variants I am sure you could reproduce the problem)

1) open passenger door

2) push the emergency lights button

3) switch the ignition off

4) close the passenger door

5) THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS SOUND WILL SHUT OFF!

This is definitely a cluster unit software error...

This is the second RenFault I had... and definitely the last one.

18th Jun 2006, 10:51

I have had my Clio 172 for 3 years, and in that time it has been in the garage more times than it has on the road! It has had 5600 pounds of warranty parts put on it, and the problem I have now is that the warranty has run out, so it's starting to cost me money.

I don't want to pass it on to someone else, because that would be unfair, and I don't want to part ex it because it means getting into debt again. Can someone please give me some advice.

Thanks

rustysocks@yahoo.com

24th Nov 2008, 07:59

My feeling is that the manufacturer should at least take some responsibility for the faults on the vehicles they manufacture. You are destroying your company name. After getting many problems with my Clio Expression 1.4 Auto, I will never buy a Renault again and will tell whoever I know that it must be the worst manufacturer on the market. Please guys get your act together.

29th Aug 2010, 17:15

I would not have another Renault Clio if someone paid me a generous salary every month, just for having one.

1st Oct 2010, 20:13

I have a 1.2 2001/2002... and never again... it just cuts out whenever it feels like it... normally in the most stupid of times.

It struggles to start on a daily basis... the interior creaks like it's made of wood... OK, I know it's an 'old' car, but I had a Pug that was a T plate, and I never thought I'd say I prefer the pug :{

If and when I have enough money to get all the little problems fixed... wait... no, I'll just buy another car.

30th Apr 2011, 16:56

I will second you on that, never again!!!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 81 reviews