2005 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Renault Clio SPORT 182 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance5398 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106 GTI

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Back passenger window - the one that doesn't open - fell out, I was driving along and could here the wind very loud and when I checked the window, only touching it, it fell out.

Exhausts rattling, everytime I give the car a bit of a revving the exhausts tingle like mad is this normal.

Radio stopped working, one morning I got in and the radio just asked for a code and the code they gave me was the wrong one; I then had to take it to the Renault dealer.

All these problems occured within 2 months of purchasing the car, I have not had any problems since, touch wood.

General Comments:

The car is great super quick and very good on handling.

However the engine ticks over is quite rough I think!!! is this normal? I have done 140 in mine in a very short time, still felt OK at that speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

20th Jul 2006, 00:59

These engines run rough, don't worry, it's normal, they all do. You get used to it after a while. About the window, that's a new one to me. All you can really say is damn Renault build quality.

2005 Renault Clio 182 Sport 2.0L from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance6087 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Poorly built rollerskate, but excellent value for money if you get a good one

Faults:

Wiring loom dodgy when purchased. Have been to Renault numerous times, to come back with the same problem.

Engine idles quite erratically when cold, cuts outs sometimes due to dodgy ignition barrel.

Suspension creaks when cold.

Road noise is harsh.

Seats uncomfortable.

Constant airbag light sensor on.

General Comments:

Apart from that, very good. Doesn't feel as solid as a VW, but what do you expect from a french car?

Quite quick, but not as rapid as I thought it would be; gutless over 100mph.

Bought to replace my old VTS, and it's much better, but I want to get rid, because it's more of a girl's car, and I need a bit more space. I want to get an MG ZS180, as my mate owns a 04 180, and it's very quick for the size of the car, has better build quality, and feels a lot more solid, plus the ZS has a 2.5L V6, and is quite a bit quicker over 100 than the 182.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

3rd Jan 2006, 10:44

I just can't understand why you bought this car. It's no secret that it is very poorly built. Why not read reviews and save yourself the hassle (and probably money) and skip purchases of cars like this. It's a mystery to me.

4th Jan 2006, 08:34

I thought I was offered a good deal at 11k with only a few delivery miles on the clock, but now wonder why I did? what else is there for around the same price though, I do like the mgzs180, my mates got one and I would swap anyday for that!

2005 Renault Clio Sport 2.0 182 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 182 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1600 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Very quick and comfortable

Faults:

Back speaker buzzing.

Wind noise through drivers door.

Road noise.

General Comments:

Performance excellent wide grin.

The faster you go the greater the noise through the drivers door. Well yeah you might say, but very annoying.

Any one else noticed road noise?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

14th Jan 2006, 06:26

Mine makes a squeeling noise at high speed. Particularly evident in high wind conditions. Been to the dealers, they did not find the cause. Apart from that, not bad!

2005 Renault Clio DCI 100 BHP from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 100 BHP Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles

Summary:

Fast, fun, but subtle

Faults:

After 1200 miles the clutch developed an annoying Squeak. It has now been dealt with.

General Comments:

Great on the motorway and the city. Overtaking is a breeze. With the 100bhp giving it that bit extra. 0-60 in 10s is great, plus the economy of it being a diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

29th Jul 2005, 17:02

How did you fix the clutch?

29th Jan 2006, 02:20

I am guessing after only 1200 miles on a brand new car they took it back to the dealer?? I really should be a detective lol.

11th Apr 2006, 10:59

I have a dCi 80 Clio and am more than happy with it, the fuel economy is amazing with over 650 miles to the tank being my record! The performance is also excellent, and coupled with the recent reduction in road tax (to a mere £50 for 12 months) the car is just superb, the best car I've owned.

7th Aug 2006, 04:26

Keep an eye on your rear brakes. Only the dCi 100bhp has rear calipers and even Renault and Lucas (who make the part) have difficulty remembering that. Rear calipers are fragile, I just had one replaced £130 + vat just for the part and it took 4 weeks for Renault to find 1.

I'd like to sell my Clio on now (46000 miles and lots of rattles and bits/paint falling off) but I can't justify it.

The 100bhp engine has tons of overtaking speed and gets 55+mpg whatever you do. Engine and drive train seem pretty bullet proof just everything else is a bit French with them.

Just don't get a black one, they mark like crazy.

2005 Renault Clio 182 sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance900 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Fun fun fun

Faults:

Nothing so far has gone wrong with it!!

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails!!

This is the best car I have ever owned. Build quality is a bit rubbish, makes a few noises and rattles, but its fun time frankie all the way. Got the Cup packs, black met paint and the 6CD for £12650.

Had a 206 GTI (136 BHP) for my last car, this beats it hands down and uses less fuel.

Just done a 230 mile run, bit uncomfortable at the end, but what a ride. And it WILL do 140mph.

I am so glad I got this and not a 206 GTI 180

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

22nd Mar 2005, 02:45

How's a type r got more gadgets??? you don't even get air con as standard.

23rd Mar 2005, 14:19

A Ctr does not handle and grip better in anybodys book, except for a biased Ctr owner. The 182 is one of the best handling cars available. It constantly wins group tests and beats more expensive cars in handling tests, i have yet to see a single review where it gets beaten by a Ctr.

As for performance, the 182 is a little quicker in a sprint, the Ctr a little quicker at higher speeds. Sod all in it depite the Ctr owners claims.

The 182 has yet to win a build quality test and never will, but it has won every other test going.

You don`t see the Ctr winning build quality tests either and its beaten in every other department by the 182.

The best hot hatch ever...who are we to argue.

The above is a quote from Evo ;-)

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews