1999 Renault Grand Espace RT 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Big, comfy bus with niggling issues

Faults:

Petrol tank warped, causing a leak in the sender unit housing seal.

Dash airbag warning light.

Tailgate locking mechanism.

General Comments:

My Grande Espace was bought in July 2005, specifically for the school run.

It cost £7000, but had just 20,000 miles on it, confirmed by MOTs.

The exhaust fell off (corroded through) on day two, and the front tyres needed almost immediate replacement.

The front brakes had been renewed 6 months before my purchase; the rear ones were replaced 6 months after.

Apart from these consumables, it has been pretty good.

Around April 2006, it started to smell of petrol, so off to the garage it went for its annual service. The warped petrol tank was replaced; cost £500.

It is a nice car to drive, big and roomy with space for 7 six foot adults and their luggage. Or six 15 year old kids and their school bags.

It has taken the family 2000 miles round France on holiday, and never failed to start.

The engine performance is impressive for a 2 litre in such a large car, pulling eagerly and returning an average 30 MPG.

It has niggly faults, but you get used to them, and overall it is a very good car.

Ownership is enhanced with access to the RenaultForums.co.uk website. Here the pooling of information can save a lot of time and hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2007

1998 Renault Grand Espace RTX-DT 2.2 2.2 TD from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Spacious family MPV

Faults:

In the cold the boot fails to open - the central locking sticks. This was fixed by removing the door panel and spraying with a grease.

The sunroofs leak slightly, in heavy run.

General Comments:

This is a great 7 seater with the boot space to go with it. Interior styling is a lot better than most MPV's. Great family car and more economical than my previous Suzuki Jimny 1.3 although the book figures both suggest 35mpg!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

2000 Renault Grand Espace RXE 2.2Dti from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great French style - appalling reliability - do not buy one!

Faults:

Where to Start!!

Wheel bearing - near side.

Airbag computer.

Wheel bearing near side.

Air Bag control unit - fault not located by the Renault dealer - still a problem.

Cat - at about year 5 - this may be normal - but it was expensive.

Hydraulic Clutch.

Accelerator cable - again to be expected?

Fairly rapid tyre wear.

And now the big one - Cam belt - Prior to the official mileage change - but 4 months after the age change date!!! so a complete head rebuild.

And now the electronic dash has a mind of its own - most of the warning lights seem to randomly come on - everything from Oil to Airbag warning with the battery thrown in for good measure.

General Comments:

Excellent ride and interior space.

Lots of luggage space even 7 up.

Great looking well designed internally.

Functional dash - again a lot of thought.

Handling a bit ship like - but it has a massive wheelbase and it's not a sports car - what I would expect.

Reliability - appalling - talk about a Friday afternoon car - the Renault factory must only work Fridays...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

23rd Feb 2006, 15:24

I have an Espace and must agree it is the most unreliable car I have ever experienced. Would not touch Renault again if my life depended on it.

13th Apr 2006, 07:30

I own a 99 Grand Espace RXE 2.2 diesel. I've not had anything major go wrong, small parts to be expected, as for these people who moan about wheel bearings and batteries, grow up they're consumable items. And as for tyres and brakes, take a look at your own driving style I'd suggest.

Great car, some small faults so far, but nothing major in 100,000 miles.

2000 Renault Grand Espace RXT 3.0 V6 24v from Netherlands

Summary:

The perfect MPV

Faults:

Some engine problems at the beginning. Dealer fixed all problems within 2 hours.

General Comments:

Too bad this is the last Matra as it is the mother of all MPV's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005