1999 Renault Laguna RT Elise 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


Considering the size, very nippy!!!


Faulty coolant fan, comes on intermittently every 15 or so seconds as soon as car is started.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable in the front and there's plenty of space for driver and front passenger.

Changing down gears is a tenuous task, especially 2nd to 1st, which the car complains about, even when practically stationary. Rear visibility could be better and takes a bit of time to get used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

1999 Renault Laguna Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A well appointed, comfortable sporty looking family car


Needed a coil which was replaced by garage free of charge when purchasing.

Nothing else wrong.

General Comments:

Seats are comfortable even on long distance runs.

Good level of specification inside and out.

Performance is OK, handles well on corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

21st Feb 2009, 20:00

Really comfortable car, I've got another make now, and I'm looking to change it... :(

Had the car for 1 year, changed 2 wheel bearings, sparks (no need but I wanted) and tyres. I've done about 25000 miles, and I love this car... unfortunately I hit a curve, and the subframe front bent...

Now I'm looking for a subframe.. so if any news please e-mail me nistorgabriel2003@yahoo.com

1999 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Bargain reliable car



General Comments:

Fantastic car for the money, no problems at all - I did 14,000 miles in 7 months and still fantastic (though exhaust starting to go)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

1999 Renault Laguna from Turkey


We would never buy another Renault. Repeat we would never buy any French car for the rest of lives


We had an automatic transmission problem when we had 41,000 km. on the car and it could not be fixed by the authorized Renault service although we paid incredibly high costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

1999 Renault Laguna Executive 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland


Very comfortable with a few minor faults


Alarm kept going off at random.

Engine sometimes cuts out when Air-Conditioning in use.

General Comments:

The alarm fault was quickly detected by the Renault mechanics. Seemed to be due to some coolant leaking onto a wire. Problem has not re-occurred.

Problem with Air-Conditioning is still on-going. Happens very rarely, so will take the car in when it becomes more of a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

8th May 2003, 08:45

It replaced the RXE for a while!

16th Jun 2005, 14:29

I have a Renault Laguna Executive S reg 1999, it is kitted out with all the specs of a Rolls Royce - nice car!


1999 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A comfortable and reliable car


Not a single thing has gone wrong with the car so far.

General Comments:

I find the seats comfortable, but the back support on the driver's seat is not high enough. By this I mean the top of the seat finishes 4 inches short of my shoulders. I am not tall. This problem gives me a bit of back ache.

It's not the fastest car, but it does well on economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

16th Jun 2010, 17:49

An update to this comment would be good. How is the car in 2010?

1999 Renault Laguna RXE 2.0 L petrol from UK and Ireland


A lemon


Water pouring from the windscreen through the overhead light panel onto the central console after moderate to heavy rain fall.

Water ingress through the windows.

Doors do not open occasionally.

Other electrical faults due to water ingress.

Incorrect information given by the computer in the car.

General Comments:

I am horrified by the way I have been dealt with by the company who sold me the car, they do not see any danger in the water ingress and have only offered repairs to be carried out by the warranty company.

I still have to pay the full price for the vehicle, even though the water ingress has caused depreciation in the vehicle's value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

1999 Renault Laguna RTI 3.0 V6 24v from UK and Ireland


V6 200Bhp for Less than £5000


Drivers window mechanism seized in the down position. Purchased one from a Renault Breakers for £50 Renault wanted £380 plus 5hrs labour.

Alloy wheel nut Key is far too soft and bends very easily.

Dashboard lights fail very easily. £3 from Renault they wanted £30 to fit them, easy to do in about 30 minutes.

Slight creaking from clutch mechanism, into gearbox. Not major though, just dry a dry seal.

General Comments:

This car is very, very understated, it is a serious bargain if you after performance, comfort, looks, gadgets, and an excellent ride.

It isn't such a bargain if you are after good fuel economy. It can easily attain 33 mpg on a really good run, but it normally averages between 20-25mpg, not cheap when it has a 66l tank.

Interior is durable and the leather is very supple, gadgets galore from cruise control, computer, climate control, air conditioning and fingertip CD control.

Exterior is classy, refined and hides what lurks under the bonnet! Effortless Acceleration, smooth gear change and lots of torque.

Ocean Blue Metallic paint is really deep and polishes to an immaculate quality.

Handling is very good, with Variable Assisted Power Steering (Lighter the slower you are going), cornering is the one and only drawback, yes it holds the roads like it's running on rails, although body roll is quite significant. This is only due to the self leveling suspension i. e with three in the back it will raise the back end so the car is level again.

Servicing is VERY expensive from Renault, 72,000 service is a BIG one Cam-belt, filters, Platinum Eroded spark plugs x 6, Oil etc. This Service alone is about £750. Lucky mine was done!!

This is undoubtedly a pure bargain £18,500 new, purchased a mint condition one for just over £4000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

22nd Apr 2007, 00:28

My 1999 3.0 RTI purchased in 2002 at 30,000 miles has been a very reliable car bar the odd computer glitches like no oil, side lights not working when switched on, fuel gauge goes to empty, but they all return to normal. If moisture/rain goes in the aerial roof, it seems to play havoc with the alarm system and you know when the water drips through the interior light cluster. Rarely the car do not start, I press the gas down and it starts with black smoke out of exhaust. Most times my climate control temperature setting do not follow the actual temperature. Think digital climate control is a waste of time preferring the dial system. Only thing gone wrong (breakdown) was the battery at 4 yrs old... one faulty cell causing starting problems and the air con activated on it's own. I have replaced the expensive spark plugs £81 which the back 3 is a pig of a job and Renault have done air con service 3 yrs ago. It is now 8 years old, 64,000 miles and haven't done the cam belt yet as it is 3 years overdue!!!

19th Oct 2007, 03:43

Bloody hell mate! Get it done otherwise it's gonna be new engine time. I'd get this done as a priority!