1999 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1999 Renault Laguna 1.9dti RT Sport Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Good economical comfortable workhorse

Faults:

The Airbag & ABS lights would light on occasion and would then extinguish after standing for a while.

I traced the Airbag problem to the driver's seat - intermittent connexion.

The ABS was a little more of a problem!

It turned out that at some time in it's life the power line to the near-side road speed sensor had been snagged and the connecting plug torn off.

This had been repaired by simply soldering a piece of twin cable in it's place and covering with shrink wrap.

Unfortunately the shrink wrap allowed moisture access and the soldered joints corroded, causing poor conductivity, hence the warning light.

This was replaced and all is well.

General Comments:

Quiet, comfortable and smooth vehicle.

Ideal for the family man that does a large annual mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

23rd Jan 2009, 14:50

Yeah, I got a 1999 TDi Laguna, and apart from water running in over the plastic into both front footwells, it is excellent.

I would have another any day.

1999 Renault Laguna RXE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

Quiet, comfortable, roomy, easy to drive, lots of features

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Quiet, comfortable, reasonable handling, clear controls.

Automatic transmission not nearly as smooth as my previous car (a Vauxhall Senator). Also noisier. Took some getting used to.

I like the climate control and cruise control.

Rear visibility a little restricted. Small glovebox, not much storage space for maps or tools or whatever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

1999 Renault Laguna RTI 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

The ultimate Q car

Faults:

The clutch has started to show signs of wear at about 65000 miles.

Occasional reports of problems with the ignition system from the voice computer that doesn't exist.

Apart from that, no problems at all.

General Comments:

The acceleration is extremely rapid. 0-60 in 7s is easy to achieve, even with a full tank of fuel.

The Laguna RTI V6 is very understated and can out perform just about any standard production car on the road, barring Porsches and Impreza Turbos.

The cabin looks a bit boring, but it has climate control, cruise control, electric sunroof, trip computer all as standard. In fact the only extras I specified were a 6 CD autochanger and metallic paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

23rd Jun 2002, 15:33

I tried the Laguna V6, and to be honest didn't like it one bit. Yes, it does go very well from 0-60 but uses so much fuel you might as well be sponsered by Esso.

In the end I went for a Volvo V70R, quicker than the Laguna and uses less fuel. Thanks to the Turbo It will eat a Laguna for breakfast from 40mph onwards, right up to 155mph.

9th Jul 2002, 15:14

Fine, except that the Volvo retails for around £25k and the Laguna is around £18k. The £7k premium for driving around in a car with the visual dynamics of a house brick doesn't cut it for me. The understated looks of the Laguna and it's performance to 60 make it a much better buy. After all, once you've proved you can burn someone off, you don't need to keep going up to 155mph. You just ease off and watch them come past and disappear into the distance, suitably embarrassed.

15th Sep 2004, 06:29

Well said, the Laguna has far more sleeker looks and is not considered an old granddads car. Even if it does perform better at high speeds.

11th Sep 2006, 12:37

I own a 1999 V6 RTI, It is a very performance like car, but I agree it doesn't look a million dollars. I am a regular at Crail quarter mile sprint track and I can safely say it keeps up with Japanese turbos all day, but I am not sure exactly what power it produces can anyone tell me please?

9th Oct 2006, 01:19

Hi, I think they have around 200bhp as standard that's what makes them quick!

I test drove one which was very, very fast!

I didn't get it in end though as it was a bit of a dodgy one from manchester that has obviously been clocked!.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 22 reviews