2000 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6200 miles
Most recent distance12200 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

A nice car pity about problems at such low mileage

Faults:

Central locking works when it wants to.

2 of 4 coils gone at 12200 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and spacious. It also handles very well and not too bad at pick up considering its engine size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

14th Jan 2003, 13:41

Touch wood no problems so far with the central locking, but two ignition coils failed at 12000 miles. Renault only supply in sets of four and recommend that all four are replaced irrespective of how many have failed. The Dealer's bill for the work was about £170.00.

3rd Oct 2004, 09:19

I too have had problems with ignition coils failing.

I have had a Laguna since new (2000 X). The first coil failed at 40,000 miles, the second at 47,000. Renault dealer replaced them singularly and cost around £50 a time.

I'm now waiting nervously for the others to go!

22nd Dec 2004, 16:39

Look on Ebay for Genuine replacement Renault Ignition Coils.

Mine has just had a failure and cost £47.00 to replace (for the part, no labour)

Seems that they are a known weak component!

2000 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A good value car offering good mechanical reliability, but let down a little by poor interior build

Faults:

Panel around front windscreen became loose.

Rear hatchback interior light was not connected when new so did not work.

Interior trim marks easily.

Annoying rattle form the dashboard area that cannot be tracked down.

Metallic paint seems to scratch easily.

Plastic rivets holding interior sunroof blind have sheared.

General Comments:

For a 1.6 litre, the performance is good and I have, so far, had no problems with the engine. It is smooth and responsive and has never hesitated over the 28,000 miles. Reliability is good.

The build quality of the interior is not so good. The plastic around the console scratches easily. Also there is an annoying rattle which neither I, or Renault, have been able to resolve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

11th Feb 2004, 13:40

I "solved" the rattle in my Laguna by using spray grease down the back of the dash (may need to remove cover strip by window). Have to reapply it every so often. If you spray too much it drips down onto the carpet (it's already stained my trainers) so go easy. I also find it only rattles when it's not raining, so I think it's caused by some dry rubber vibrating.

2000 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Solid, reliable and comfortable transport

Faults:

Had no major problem's so far.

But, the car has been back in to the dealership about a dozen times for a persistent rattle in the dashboard near the passenger airbag. Each time they are convinced they've tracked down and cured it, but it keeps returning.

General Comments:

Despite the annoying rattle I would have no hesitation in recommending a Laguna to anyone.

Very pleased with the way it performs and handles, corners well for a big car with plenty of load lugging space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

14th Jan 2002, 05:17

I had the same problem with a similarly uncured rattle. Have you looked at the black valance that runs along under the windscreen wipers on the OUTSIDE of the car. It is held on very flimsily by two plastic screws at either end. Mine worked loose and caused the rattle. It sounded as though it was inside the car.

23rd May 2005, 10:48

1999 RT Laguna 2.0ltr auto. The same rattle, but it disappears after half a mile so I have assumed it is related to a heat source although it sounds as if it is in the dashboard area, possibly the ventilation trunking.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews