1996 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1996 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6e from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6e Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Nice looking, but hard on the wallet

Faults:

New fuel canister, the previous one leaked small amounts of petrol when the engine was first shut off.

The exhaust completely fell off, luckily only 5 minutes walk from home. where the pipes meet between the cat and back box, both ends are reduced, so it doesn't just slot in. The collar which is supposed to hold them together is useless and gradually they come apart.

Water pump leaked without warning, no overheating. This lead to an air-block in the coolant system. Difficult to change, think about having it done with your next cam-belt change. Plus you need to use Renault's own coolant for the system.

Because the water pump died so did the heater matrix. this is a big job to change as the whole dash needs to come out. I haven't bothered yet.

Head gasket is now seeping oil at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall it's a lovely looking car.

Very Comfortable.

Handles well.

The 1.6 8v gets a bit breathless unless you really red-line it.

Really expensive to keep going.

Bit claustrophobic inside, no room for rear-seat passengers.

The boot opening is tiny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

1996 Renault Megane RN 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

What's that smell? It's hot oil!

Faults:

Entire exhaust needed replacing shortly after purchase.

Several oil leaks.

Driver's side locks non-functional.

Brake pads wear out every 6 months!

Etc.

General Comments:

With a mere 90 break horse power available, the Megane's slow pace really becomes a pain. Uphill struggles become power-sappingly mundane and overtaking National Express coaches becomes a long, drawn-out affair.

- Not my words; the words of Top Gear magazine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2004

1996 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6e from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6e Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

Catalytic converter has been replaced 4 times since July 2002.

Exhaust mid and back section went at 46000 miles.

Head gasket went at 58000 miles.

Dash lights constantly go out, but come on after you tap/thump the dash.

Ignition coil went at 40000 miles.

Manifold cracked at 41000 miles.

Rattling dash.

Whistling from around window seals at motorway speed.

Rear shock absorbers went at 52000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought the car from a Used section of a Renault Dealer. Within the first 4 months the ignition coil, catalytic converter (twice), manifold, rear shock absorbers needed to be replaced. The dealer refused to replace any of the parts. After many telephone calls he finally agreed to pay for some of the parts. Courtesy cars were never there when promised and I ended up taking nine days off work. I would never buy another Renault car and I would never buy another car from this dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2004

1996 Renault Megane RT 1.4 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres

Summary:

A car worth buying!

Faults:

When I first purchased my car, I had found difficulty engaging the first gear, but now it isn't a problem any more.

Five months after I bought it, rust started appearing at the edge of the rear windscreen.

General Comments:

It's a great car though, with excellent interiors, road holding, excellent audio and comfortable seating position.

This car has fair acceleration and handles very well even at 140km per hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1996 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Dreadful litany of engine problems

Faults:

Fuel line sensor blown 52000 miles.

Catalytic converter failed 76000 miles.

Cylinder head gasket failed at 75000 miles.

Exhaust and engine valve replaced 70000 miles.

Engine completely destroyed 83000 miles.

General Comments:

Although the car is quite nicely made and comfortable, the litany of (expensive) engine faults mean that I could not recommend anyone to buy one.

The performance of the engine was fine initially and, although not exciting, the cars performance was adequate.

After problems with the exhaust and engine inlet valves, the engine was beset with problems culminating in a cylinder head gasket failure costing about £800 to replace.

About six months later the engine appeared to completely destroy itself by somehow contriving to force oil through the cylinder head, through the cooling system and onto the engine. Result: One dead engine and a decision to scrap this waste of metal.

Avoid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

18th Nov 2003, 11:30

HI.

I have a Renault Megane Scenic R Reg Diesel. In August 2002 I broke down on the M4 On the way to LOndon with 4 children in the car. The cam belt had gone and completely ruined the engine. This incurred a £2000 repair. Even though the car had been serviced regularly by a Renault dealership.

My car has gone in for its MOT today and guess what? The cam belt is going yet againm. I have been advised not to use my car until its replaced.

THis is an inherrent problem with certain Renault Engines. They recalled half a million cars in Europe, but are not inclined to do the same in the UK. When I asked if they were aware of any inherent faults they said no. However, they were aware, but refused point blank to do anything about it.

MY ADVICE STEER WELL CLEAR OF ANY RENAULT>

23rd Jan 2008, 06:31

Can I use a cat off a 1.6 on a 1996 RENAULT MEGANE COUPE 2.0.

20th Jul 2011, 08:07

Just sold my Renault 02 reg. Best thing I ever did.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews