1996 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1996 Renault Megane RN Paris (Limited Edition) 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

Cheap car to get you from A to B

Faults:

Rear lights leaked so every time it rained the rear of the car was soaked.

HT leads went at 53,000 miles.

Exhaust dropped off at 54,250 miles.

Front seats stitching torn.

Bad acceleration due to loose cable.

Exhaust blowing since purchase.

General Comments:

This car is quite responsive and acceptably reliable. As I say it doesn't have decent acceleration due to the tiny 1.4 8 valve engine. Heavy thrashing because of this.

Tyres easy to replace and was driven to France and back with no problem at all.

Would not recommend to large family as the legroom is absolutely pathetic. Extremely big boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

1996 Renault Megane Coupe Coach 1.6e 1.6i from Bosnia and Herzegovina

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great handling and great looking car

Faults:

Right rear window stopped working (fixed it myself)

The gasoline locker stopped working (fixed it my self, Renault service wanted 100EUR for fixing that)

Gearbox partially broken.2nd gear sometimes gets out of it's place.

General Comments:

The car handling is great and it's really enjoy to drive.

The car is very attractive and comfort for driver and co driver, although there's not much space on rear seats.

Car handling is great, it's very stable and pretty fast.

One thing I miss on this model is lack of ABS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1st Sep 2006, 04:35

There is ABS on the car if you have stearingaid (i don't know how its said while I'm dutch)

1996 Renault Megane RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Buy one of the New Megane's if you have to

Faults:

After owning the car for around 1 year, with a mileage of 45000, without any warning, the gearbox broke.

The problem appears to be one of the cogs breaking off the shaft. This cost around £1000 to fix and the car has never been the same since. Anyone else had this problem??

Also, early 2002, the central locking system / immobilizer shorted out and deadened my battery. This required a new Renault Immobilizser at a cost of £250.

Finally the exhaust. It has been developing an awful rattle sound, yet whenever I have it checked, there are no holes in it and it is not loose.

Anyone else had similar problems???

General Comments:

I reported my gearbox problem to Renault Customer Services, yet they did not seem in the least bit interested to listen, let alone do anything about it.

They have seriously let themselves down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

18th Nov 2003, 10:27

I have exhaust rattle problem, caused when the rubber around the brackets melts or falls off, costs about £300 to fix as the cat is attached to the bracket which must be replaced. happens to all meganes eventually, just have to live with it I'm afraid.

Kris.

18th Apr 2004, 01:27

I had the same exhaust rattling problem on my Clio, a friend on his Mégane and my mum on her Espace. Have been told this is a Renault characteristic... nothing serious. As is the "electric-like" whining engine :-)

1996 Renault Megane RT 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

A comfortable, quiet, highly specified, well built and very economical family car

Faults:

Intermittent failure to start - traced to a faulty connection on the TDC sensor (14,000 miles) - replaced free of charge.

Rear silencer rusted through at a weld (18,500 miles) - replaced free of charge.

Clock/external temperature display bulb failed (16,000 miles)

Alternator belt snapped (27,000 miles)

Oil leak from a tappet cover - gasket not fitted correctly (35,000 miles).

General Comments:

Excellent value for money, good equipment level.

Good build quality.

Comfortable and roomy with a large boot.

Superb fuel economy (average 43 mpg)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

24th Jun 2006, 03:47

I have now owned the Mégane for 9 years and 8 months (June 2006) and the mileage is 70,000. Fuel consumption has averaged 40 mpg.

Since posting the original report I have had very few problems with the car and it still looks good both inside and out. There is absolutely no rust to the bodywork.

Apart from regular service items such as oil, filters, plugs, wiper blades and tyres (I do my own servicing) problems/maintenance have been:

New exhaust (from rear of catalyst) at 37,800 miles

Front brake pads at 40,600 miles

Thermostat at 42,000 miles

Cat converter bracket cracked (welded) at 43,000 miles

Cam belt changed at 61000 miles

Front brake discs and pads replaced at 63,000 miles

Broken front o/s coil spring replaced at 66,000 miles. (I obtained a second hand spring/shock absorber unit from a scrap yard for £20 and fitted it in less than an hour).

There is a rattling or knocking noise on occasions that I've traced to the sunroof, but have so far been unable to cure. If I push firmly against the glass the noise disappears.

I have to conclude that the Mégane has been a very reliable and comfortable car that has exceeded our expectations. Although it has very little residual value it still has bright, shiny paintwork and looks smart.

I'm confident that it will continue to give excellent service for years to come.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews