1996 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1996 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 from France

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance32944 kilometres

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

This car was imported from Malta.

The lights on the dashboard frequently are cut off.

The ref-counter does not work.

Everytime the agent opens the dashboard area... scratches all over.

The most frustrating fault... the A/C does not work. After just 3 years I have been informed that the evaporator needs changing. This is a major part in the A/C and I do not expect that just after 3 years, there is a leakage in the evaporator. To change it, I need to pay approximately FF3000... ridiculous.

General Comments:

Is it possible to contact somebody at Renault, as I would like to receive further relevant information about the A/C problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

1st Jun 2001, 19:57

The front springs are weak, and the water pump goes a lot (needs replacing).

Water temperature sender blows showing overheating and the Renault dealer in Swindon, Wiltshire have no idea what is happening.

But the most bad thing is the rear spoiler, the paint bubbled up because of the water in it before spaying. I know this as an owner of a Coupe 2.0 16v.

1996 Renault Megane Classic RT 1.6 petrol from Israel

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Automatic tranmission had to be fixed after 80,000 km (but then didn't make any trouble).

AC radiator had to be replaced after 3 years, engine base needs to be chnged often.

Low quality plastics.

General Comments:

Great car.

Engine super reliable, didn't lose one gram of oil even after 250,000 km.

Love the styling.

Excellent comfort.

This one got crashed, so I bought a new 1.6 16V Megane, and it's great too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2000

5th Feb 2001, 00:03

Hello,

This is really a question that I have. This is may be not the right forum, but I am hoping that I can get some help.

I'd like to paste here my email to Renault, which would explain what I am after:

"Hello,

I would like to get some help with an issue that is upsetting me in Australia.

My girlfriend currently has a Renault 19/1994 model. Two weeks ago the automatic transmission stopped working in forward. It is still working in reverse, so I started to look for a repair center.

That is when all problems started. Firstly, none of the old people would help (Volvo), or give any information where to go. Finally on the Internet I have find out that it is now Nissan who will look after Renault services.

This is where got even more confusing. I was given some of the dealership phone numbers, who would be able to help me. I have given up the search after they have told me that no service will be done until March.

At this point I have found the number of Mr. David Wind, who has kindly informed me, that within a day I will be called by a service center.

Obviously this did not happen, so I called him again. He was unavailable at that time, but instead of him calling back, finally the service centers from Randwick called.

The gentlemen asked me about the car, after some details he told me that if it is a major repair, they will just replace the transmission. Renault Australia would supply this.

The service center would only charge for the cost of labor. The total cost he quoted was $ 5000.00 - $5500.00 Australian.

I have told him that in the time of searching for the service center, I have got a quote from an independent repairer for $2850.00 for a total rebuild of the transmission.

Please understand that we liked Renault cars already back in Europe, so we have given our support to you in Australia too. This car cost $11.500.00 just a year ago, these sorts of costs of repair are simply out of question for my girlfriend, or I believe for anyone. How can such repair cost so much? Can you justify it?

I do hope that I'll get some help from you to solve this issue and find a reasonable solution to fix this car.

If this is the only way to go, I am sorry to say, the Renault has lost some long time supporters!

Yours faithfully,

Laszlo Vigh Herman.

Ph: 61-412-10-20-10"

So far I am still looking for a reasonable solution, so here is where I hope that you can help me. Can I get a replacement gearbox from overseas for around $1500.00 Aust.? Do you know of anyone who may be in Australia, who I could turn to?

Any help or comment would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Laszlo.

laszlo@comdotcom.com.au

10th Feb 2003, 18:40

HI.

It's amazing, but doesn't surprise me to find out that at exactly the same time my girlfriends RT19 Renault has also decided that all the Tranmission forward gears have stopped functioning. With just 135k on the clock, this is to be unheard of.

It started 2-3Days before when on take off 1st gear was slipping, then after taking to a RENAULT Service Agent in Mentone, Melbourne they advised me only that the gear box belts!! were gone and advised me to take it to a Transmission specialist, within 5 Minutes after this even B4 I got home it seized.

I have just exhausted my efforts contacting various wreckers to find a second hand unit, to no avail, I am aware of the ful cost of changeover and find it also to be very unreasonable, considering the fact it is no more than around 1 Year old.

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP...

See how amazingly we have something in common, I hope we can find a solution, the Person previous quotes that he has found a Transmission and Installation for AUD$1500 that is semi reasonable. If he could provide us with the same contacts this would certainly ease the burden, a lot.

Theoit@hotmail.com.

I THANKYOU FOR YOUR ANTICIPATED RESPONSE.

Regards

Theo.

Theoit@hotmail.com.

4th Oct 2003, 06:38

Buy a new car, this will solve all problems.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews