1999 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Renault Scenic CDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles

Summary:

An economical, spacious family car

Faults:

Over 17 fuses blown controlling the rear windscreen wiper. Renault's solution was to run a new wire direct from the battery to overcome the issue. They never have identified the root cause.

Rear windscreen wash/wipe control fails to operate on an intermittent basis. In the "fail" mode the front screen washers operate instead.

General Comments:

The car has proved generally very reliable and with the diesel engine, pretty economic (average 43GPM).

I have some concerns over the car's road holding capabilities, particularly in a cross wind situation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

20th May 2002, 14:42

I have a Scenic Monoco 2lt which has just developed a similar problem with the rear washer. The only difference is that it is not intermittent. Whenever I operate the rear washers, the fronts operate instead.

The car is 1 year old and covered 24000 miles.

I guess the washers use a common pump with a diverter valve and it is the valve that has failed.

Otherwise the car is OK except for a heavy and binding clutch pedal which makes the car tiring to drive in heavy traffic.

30th Dec 2002, 18:19

My Scenic 2001/X has the same fault with the rear washer also.

1999 Renault Scenic RXE 2.0 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance46000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Potentially a lovely family car if it did not leak oil

Faults:

Rear door dampers failed after 10 months.

Front and rear crankshaft seals started leaking after just 30 000 km.

Sump gasket leaking.

Wheel alignment never been right, has always pulled to one side.

General Comments:

I was very happy with the car until the oil leaks started.

My wife and family love the car.

Parts and servicing are extremely expensive.

Performance and economy are quite good.

Too much wind noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

1999 Renault Scenic RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A nice car but some work still left to be done

Faults:

In every Scenic I have looked at the front seats have split in exactly the same place. Renault replaced mine however my neighbours have not been so lucky. There is a design fault on the seats, Renault does not accept this...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2000

16th Dec 2000, 07:32

My S reg front passenger seat split 2 weeks after I bought the car.

11th May 2001, 15:20

Nice car shame about the fuel consumption, wooly handling, diabolical brakes in the wet, poor build quality, road noise at high speed, indifferent dealers and mine has just developed a noisy a/c pump. Any body else had similar 'charectoristics'and found any cures. After reading the survey I'm quite grateful that mine ain't so bad as it could be!

1999 Renault Scenic RN 1.6e from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6e Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRenault Megane 1.6 Sport

Summary:

Fairly good..... so far!

Faults:

Radiator burst at 8,000 miles, replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Paintwork appalling, chips far too easily esp. bonnet.

Annoying rattle from the overhead console.

Generally quite a good car but I consider the fuel consumption is rather disappointing.

I am not confident with the remote unlocking/immobiliser system having had a problem with my Megane Sport. The system on my Scenic is a radio controlled device rather than infra-red so it may be a little more reliable, time will tell. I never undertake a long journey without the spare key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

31st Jan 2003, 18:22

What was the problem you had with the immobiliser on your previous Renault? I only ask, as I am having serious problems with the immobiliser sticking its nose in all the time on my Renault Megane Scenic RXE 2.0.

1999 Renault Scenic RT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

A spacious, clever, economic car ideal for the family

Faults:

Car was recalled for a brake pump problem. Other than that, front tyres replaced at 22,000 miles.

However only gripe that I can come up with is that the bonnet is very prone to stonechips.

General Comments:

A great car with masses of space - has taken 2 adults and 2 kids under 5 together with nappy boxes, buggies etc on a 3000 mile trip round France absolutely hassle free. Spent 2 hours on French Autoroute at steady 100mph and car still returned 43mpg! Average mpg is approx 48-51. Excellent for a car with the power available when required. Definitely recommend it

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews