2004 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Renault Scenic 1.6 16v from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Kangoo

Summary:

Good

Faults:

The power windows were a constant problem. All four replaced gratis by the dealer.

Fly wheel sensor replaced at 100000km. This needs to be cleaned at each service according to the dealer.

Ignition coils replaced gratis by the dealer during a service.

General Comments:

This is a good family car. It is spacious and comfortable.

I do about 120km a day, and considering the use, the car has been fine.

Running costs are expensive, i.e. spare parts. The local dealer should look into this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2008

2004 Renault Scenic Expression 1.6 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance11800 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz A-Class

Summary:

Good car is nothing goes wrong

Faults:

Excessive tyre wear on rear; lasting less than 11000 miles on nearside rear. Rear axle apparently non adjustable. Common problem on earlier models.

General Comments:

Let down by poor dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

2004 Renault Scenic Expression 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

It does not match up too my previous models

Faults:

Air conditioner unit replaced after 2 weeks.

Drive belt for above renewed.

Spark plug and three coils replaced.

Auto gearbox replaced due to noisy change from second to third gear, same problem.

Brakes are not consistant, too sharp and the next time possibly nothing.

General Comments:

This is my third scenic and the only problematic one.

The brakes are dangerous and the car has been returned at least five times for inspection.

Comfortable and airy, a pleasure to drive It`s on the Motability scheme due to my illness and I can't afford to break down as I have difficulty walking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

25th Jan 2005, 23:18

Further reports on my 2004 Scenic with the automatic gear box. Requested by Renault to return it to main dealer for indefinite period for investigation, returned it after six hours: unable to assess problems, possibly elecctrical fault no solution as yet. Renaults possible diagnosis in five months consist of its the gear box, then the torque converter, electrical problem, tyres flat.

2004 Renault Scenic Dynamique 2.0L turbo 165 BHP from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo 165 BHP Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carCitroen Picasso

Summary:

Hot MPV

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Well what can I say other than fantastic comfort with speed too. 0-60 MPH in 8.5 Seconds and a top speed of 127 MPH need I say more for an MPV. Good amount of equipment levels too.

It is great fun Burning off boy racers in their cars from the traffic lights and I can see their look on their faces as I speed away. I'd say it isn't far off the 197 BHP Zaferia Turbo. Can beat any 1.6L hot hatch you throw at it apart from the Saxo VTS, but makes mince meat of the Saxo VTR. Fully loaded it can still get to 60 mph in around 10 seconds. Raced a Peugeot 206 GTI HDI killed it. Raced a saxo VTR Killed it. Raced a Ford Focus 2.0L Killed it. the list can go on.

Insise the cabin quality is very good the dashboard looks well put together and there CD Player is a joy to use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 21:28

I have a 2.0 16v 140bhp Scenic and it's faster than the Saxo vts.

And to the other comment, boy racers trying to show off to their mates shouldn't think of MPV's as easy targets.

25th Dec 2004, 11:03

Thank you to the second comment I had a 1.6i 16v Renault Scenic 2001 before hand and that was nippy. MPV's are quicker than some people think. I surprised my mates by how nippy my old 1.6i 16V was.

2004 Renault Scenic Expression 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz A-Class

Summary:

Good family car

General Comments:

Car is very quiet and comfortable to drive. Seats are very supportive. It is well built and well equipped, loads of storage compartments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 23:39

Renault Scenic purchased through the motability scheme on July 30 2004. Problems reported in first week.Brakes not consistant too keen then hardly no brake, Air condition was noisy and the automatic gear box is noisy and vibrates through out the car at 22 mph. Air condition unit and drive belt replaced,brakes are still not consistant after six visits to dealer, new gear box fitted the results just as before dealer and independent garage both confirm it is in the gear box.

Renault tell me it is characteristic of this gear box to make an awful noise, I ask the question why was I not told of this on purchase or why is it not in the brochure. the final comment this is my third scenic and it is a pleasure to drive.

Harold Brazier Tel 01482 896881.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews