1984 Rolls Royce Silver Spur from North America - Comments

31st Oct 2002, 10:49

Owning a Rolls Royce is, but for the priviliged few. Remember, these cars were designed and built for millionaires. The cost of upkeep is commensurate with the size and complexity of these vehicles. They are expensive to purchase and to run, but hey the joy of ownership and the pure pleasure of driving one cannot be measured in monetary terms. Just look at the expressions on peoples faces as you glide along and that is priceless. Fix the car and enjoy the rare thrill of ownership - you are honoured to be lucky enough to be an owner - very few ever get the chance.

15th Dec 2002, 02:40

Why complain about minor details like sunvisors, pedals, and the gear selector? Let your Chauffeur worry about that! After all, this car was probably built with the passenger more in mind than the driver.

4th Aug 2003, 21:13

Remember, a Rolls Royce was not designed to be practical for budget minded consumers, but are designed for people who are willing to invest in a vehicle of distinction. The hand craftmenship and quality on inside and out side trim is beyond any car in the world. The weight of the car puts extra wear and tear on the brakes and suspension. You can't compare this car in terms of service intervals with a vehicle half the weight and mass. If you want economy, buy a typical production car with a smaller engine that your local gargage can work on. If you want to be the boss, you have to pay the price somewhere down the line.

22nd Sep 2003, 22:49

I purchased a Rolls-Royce in July, 2002, and I have been extremely happy with it. The hand-built quality of this piece of automotive history, coupled with the pure enjoyment of driving a work of art, outweighs any petty quirks. For the rest of my life, I will NEVER be "Rollsless".

7th Jun 2005, 23:31

Sir with all due respect there is a clause known as "buyer beware",as a used car purchaser you should have been aware of it. All the items listed would have been noticed by a competent mechanic. By the way the rear view mirror can move sideways also and can be set out of the way.

I congratulate you on getting a REAL car and not a substitute of one.

Better luck on your next Rolls, you deserve the best.

11th Jul 2005, 17:04

That was a 20 year old car, what do you expect?,all other 20 year old cars come "Flat Packed".

10th Oct 2005, 12:31

I have heard from a reliable source that there are two kinds of Royces out there in the world... The good ones and the bad ones. I've had both.

I had a completely bulletproof Silver Cloud, and a constantly broken Bentley Turbo R. Every time I turned around something was going wrong with that car, and within one year I dropped $17000 on repairs. It was, however, a poorly maintained and neglected car, but I've heard that some are like that from the day they come out.

Rolls Royces are, to me, a lot like vintage jaguars. The engines are bulletproof and will run forever. The weak point on these cars is the crappy lucas electrical system, which I believe was replaced with Bosch in the later models.

Rolls Royces are much like Ferraris when I comes to buying one. There are good ones and bad ones. If you get a good one, you'll never love a car more. If you get a bad one, You'll curse the day and go broke trying to get it up to snuff. That's why the pre purchase inspection is so very important and worth the money.

14th May 2006, 04:02

I drove an 87 rolls spur 11 46 limo for a client of mine for many years. I am a professional driver for hire. I oversaw the repairs on this vehicle. I think the issues mentioned above were mainly from lack of maintenance and poor driving habits.

These cars need more work during routine service. and that is something most owners don't have performed. Anyone can afford the car, especially used, most can't afford the repair, That is why they are a car for the rich:)

These cars were NOT designed to be driven like a turbo R sedan. 2000 lbs of extra weight means they need to be driven with just that in mind. A feat left only to the experienced chauffeur. Cleaning the many relay and fuse connections and coating them with proper grease assured no oxidation on contact points and made the car most reliable where many fail. Constant proper maintenance is the key to reliability. this includes checking for leaks and tightening loose clamps etc. It's a lot of work, but in my opinion... well worth the ride! I love to tinker so I was in heaven while being responsible for this ride.

In 80,000 miles, I never had 1/2 the above issues. I found the car handled and responded quite proper.

BEST RIDE AND DRIVE EVER MADE IN MY OPINION:) Not to mention the ONLY coach work!!! Cheers to the people that created such a beautiful work of rolling masterpiece. The new models are great in their own right, but can't touch the craftsmanship of these older hand made saloons!

Stepping into one of these cars is like stepping into a fine older home filled with magnificent antiques. You won't find this pleasure in a new saloon! My heart races every time I open the door of one. Just the smell of the leather and wood and steel actually makes my heart race!

To the workers that slaved in the creation of these rolling gems on wheels. Cheers to you all wherever you be :) LOL, and thanks for creating such a fine example of what a top end chauffeur driven luxury automobile should be! The likes of which we will never see again!

With sincere thanks, and a tip of my cap to you:)

Fred Halliwell NY / CT USA. FEH777@AOL.com

18th Jul 2006, 05:47

About nine months ago I purchased a 20,000 chassis Silver Spur I for my limousine business. It had sat in the dealers for nearly a year beforehand, having only been switched on to keep the battery charged. The price was more than right, it was an absolute bargain, but I fully expected and budgeted for another $25,000 to $30,000 AUD to get it back up to what I considered Rolls Royce standards. So far, in nine months, I have had to fit a new a/c compressor, I have given the car a general service, including new brake rotors, and have just had the rear shock mounts and gas springs replaced. Total cost - $4,300. The vehicle is now %100 mechanically perfect, and I have been given the drum by my mechanic - service it when it needs it, and it will never die.

To anybody considering owning or driving a Royce, the key is always maintenance. My vehicle came with a full service history which I was able to check with just a couple of phone calls. A trusted friend who owns some vintage Royces also checked it out and gave it the all clear. There are always certain easy things to look for in these cars, i.e. cracked or worn dash tops, heavily worn driver's seat and armrest leather, window micro-switches not working, all indicating deeper problems from neglect.

Like any car, there are good ones and bad ones (I think this point has all ready been made several times), and both examples are usually the fault of the owners. A digital Seiko watch will keep time far more accurately than a hand-made Rolex or Patek Phillipe, so why do so many people lust after the latter?