1984 Rolls Royce Silver Spur from North America - Comments

5th Aug 2009, 18:27

I feel moving about freely has greater value than reaffirming what you have already achieved Howard Hughes use to move about in plain different color Chevrolets. Privacy has greater value in my opinion. Why have a Rolls? I would likely drive it alone on closed roads only.

12th Aug 2009, 09:57

My family has owned Rolls Royces starting in 30's in India. I have been living in the USA since early 60's, and ever since always owned a Rolls or a Bentley. I still like the Rolls/Bentleys of the 60's (1956-1965). Although our family owned older 1938 Phantom, but I never cared for the ugly squared boxed Phantoms although our 1964 P5 James young is lot better than the earlier Phantoms.

I have recently bought a 2004 Azure with the German technology incorporated into this vehicle. I would say that after the marriage of German and the British cars, Rolls and the Bentley is far far better and reliable vehicle than the models starting from Shadows all the way to 2003 models with British engine designs. A great move for the good of these great vehicles. I think a Rolls and a Bentley would always be the cars of distinction, no matter what kind of good or bad experiences one may have by owning one.

10th Nov 2009, 18:37

I am looking to buy 1984 Silver Spur. Car seems to be in a top shape, but I am concern with high cost of repairs and up keep.

I just wondering if I should pay a specific attention to anything in particular.

4th Mar 2010, 19:49

Wannabes? Want to be what's? If the reference was to wanting to be someone who appreciates things of beauty and a job well done, then that is me. It is true that my Lexus probably optimizes any number of engineering tasks more efficiently, but my Rolls is refined. It is made by people for people. It is apparent to me the crew at Crewe were listening and built into their automobiles things that are fundamentally pleasing to the human spirit.

Just because this car is expensive, doesn’t mean it doesn’t need to be cared for. The space shuttle is expensive and has to be overhauled after every flight. But it does what it is meant to do. If one is looking for the ultimate in gas and go, care free driving, then a Lexus or maybe even a less complex Toyota might be a more appropriate choice.

I never had any intention on owning a Rolls Royce. My goals had always been focused on sports cars. A friend of mine bought a Rolls and let me drive it, and I was immediately hooked. It had the ride I was always seeking. I had made modifications to several of my cars, fooling around with spring rates and shock absorbers to search for the ultimate ride. I felt that ride my first time in a Rolls Royce. A week later I was the proud owner of a Silver Spur.

I admit that most of the repairs complained about in previous entries were required by my Rolls as well. I expected it however. I knew I was buying a car 25 years old that can be classified as an antique in my state. I enjoy the benefit of a friendly and active Rolls Royce Owners Club that warns me of repairs to come and pitfalls in addressing them. Bit by bit I address them. I have to admit Rolls Royce is proud of their parts, and the Maintainability Engineer did not have much clout when my car was built, because there does not seem to have been much thought about tool clearance, but I accept these, because Rolls Royce focused on making a fine ride for those who could afford their automobiles, and did it exceptionally well.

Like Forest Gump, I may not be smart (or even moderately wealthy), but I know what love is. I admit I have a love and appreciation for what the people at Rolls Royce accomplished in building my Silver Spur.

5th Mar 2010, 07:14

The truth is there are wannabes that do buy older cars such as this to be noticed. They certainly do not cost a lot; in many cases the price of a new Honda Accord. So the price of admission to own a Rolls is possible for many.

Maintaining and keeping it running may be another matter. In my case I own 2 Corvettes; a C3 and a C5. The C3 draws more attention, especially being a convertible. The C5 gets a glance and is pretty common. I love both cars, and would be less than honest if I did not say I appreciate the admiration. I put many hours of restoration and time enjoy car shows, help charities showing my cars, and getting nice compliments and even trophies are nice. The best is seeing kids light up seeing my cars in shows. I know people are looking at my cars (not at me) at this point.

I like the beauty of a Rolls myself, even though I am driving vehicles far different.

5th Feb 2012, 10:52

Where did you obtain the gas springs, and what did they cost?

29th Jul 2012, 19:48

I have owned over 100 different cars from Austins to Volkswagens. Included were at least 30 Bentley's; one was a 1936 Gurney Nutting Sedanca Coupe, one of only 12 that were made. I always wanted a Rolls Royce. They say a Bentley is a Rolls Royce for the person that doesn't want the neighbor to know he can afford a Rolls. But, it's not the same as a Rolls. The emotion just isn't there.

Two months ago I suddenly owned a 1984 Rolls Royce Silver Spur. It wasn't planned, it just happened. It came with no history (PO claims it was owned by George Strait, but I seriously doubt it) and no way of checking it, and I only drove it around the block for my inspection. The price was right, so that was all the inspection I needed. It makes a terrible knocking noise in the engine, so I am NOT driving it, but everything else is pristine from the original paint to the perfect interior. Every time I think of something to check, it checks out good.

Normally when I buy an older car (I have only owned two new cars in my 76 years, a 1967 Citroen ID-19 and a 1984 Ford Escort) I expect to find something else wrong every day. In this case, I knew there was an engine problem after the trip around the block, but every day I find something else that actually works perfectly!! When the weather cools down, I will sort out the noise in the engine, appears to be top side, maybe in the valve train, then I will finally have a Rolls to drive. But as several have said, the love of the marque gives me pleasure just to look out the window and see it sitting in the driveway. It is, indeed, a work of art.

25th Nov 2012, 19:46

Re: Your comment; Exactly on point.

26th Nov 2012, 16:16

If all you do is look at it... How about a die cast on the shelf? I have my garage wall lined with 1:18 scale die casts top to bottom. But cars that are genuine in my garage are turn key. I saw a Rolls with a GM V8 at a car show. I would never try to replace a blown motor unless super rare. But you own one!