1991 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Rover - Austin 200 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

Grippy, frugal, light and easy to drive

Faults:

Head gasket leaking at 111,000.

CV joints knocking at 111,000.

Gearbox ticking at 111,000.

Rain leaks at 111,000.

Sump gasket leaking at 119,000.

The gearbox has a nice ticking noise which matches the engine when it's cold.

General Comments:

I must say the car handles extremely well for a 5 door hatch and a Rover to boot.

I bought the car knowing some of its high milage problems, but have enjoyed the ownership.

Like other comments about the 200, my car likes to leak rain water in wherever it can see a gap. Boot, front door seals, front windscreen and the top of the hatch onto the backseat.

I believe the gearbox noise is common on the GTI DOHC, but with the window down and the stereo up, I can't hear it!

Excellent MPG for a GT, 32-38.

The gearbox is an absolute delight. Apart from the ticking which makes the car noisy above 55mph. Still not bad for a grand.

Although registered in FEB 1991, the local Rover dealer stated the car was manufactured in Sept 89. Looks like Black 5 door GTI'S were not too popular.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin 200 Si 1.4i SP 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4i SP 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Cheap and cheerful

Faults:

First gear difficult to engage from new, but after 10,000 miles the problem disapeared.

Rain seeps into the boot and passenger side foot well at 40,000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 42,000 miles.

Cam belt changed at 42,000 miles.

Cam belt snapped at 58,000 miles, needed a complete engine rebuild. New valves, re grind, re bore etc.

Head gasket blew at 78,000 miles. Also replaced the water pump and radiator.

Rear antiroll bushes replaced at 108,000 miles, but keep falling out over bumpy roads. Any suggestions?

General Comments:

I enjoy driving this car. It's quick, but only if you thrash it up to 6500 revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin 200 216 GTi 1.6 twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Lots of car for little money

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with the car since I have owned it.

I needed a new CV gaiter at 80,000.

General Comments:

This car goes like rocket, and it handles quite well.

The insurance group for this car is 14 which means that a 21 year old with 2 years no claims bonus will have to pay roughly £1400 per year for comprehensive insurance.

Mine has a Honda double overhead cam engine which makes it very reliable and very free revving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin 200 216 GTi Twin Cam 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Reliable, quick. A damn nice car

Faults:

Battery failed.

Non-starting due to me not bothering to check the rotor arm when servicing. Oops.

Both exterior door handles have snapped.

Engine sounds tappety.

Rear suspension bushes are going bad.

General Comments:

Makes me drive too fast. Can't help myself from revving to 7200rpm all the time.

Economy 32-36mpg.

Handling excellent.

Can almost change gear by breathing on it, it's so light.

Good seats, lots of toys for a GTI type.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin 200 214 SLi 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Dull, but could be worse

Faults:

Serious engine problems - required an expensive rebuild.

Water pump went.

Clutch cable went.

Currently some intermittent ECU gremlins.

Plenty of wear and tear items replaced.

General Comments:

Desperately dull. The automotive equivalent of eating flour. But it gets me around until finances allow something decent.

Bought it second hand because of the K-series engine really, although that burned oil soon after purchase. It goes quite well for a 1.4 though and in theory offers a nice balance between economy and performance. Handles OK.

Fairly generous kit for the money on my SLi (PAS, electric bits). A few reliability headaches, but it always starts first time to be grudgingly fair and hasn't properly broken down; touch wood (or dreadful fake walnut dash).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1991 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Great! - get one now, excellent value for money!

Faults:

Just had a new water pump and timing belt at 100,000 miles.

Front brake pads needed replacing in Jan 2000 and Jan 2001 (That's probably my high mileage though!!)

General Comments:

Absolutely fantastic! - much more comfortable and more gadgets etc than most cars of this age (J-Reg) - a lot bigger than you'd expect from looking at it, and very easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

27th Apr 2001, 08:08

I have a Rover 214 Si and it is a very reliable and quick, I would just like to know if any one knows were I can find a body kit for a 214 or a web site with pictures of a modified 214?

I would be grateful if anyone knows.

30th May 2001, 01:55

You want to ring Moto-Build racing. They are Rover tuning specialists and they are based in Hounslow London. The number is 0208 893 4553. Web site - www.moto-build.com.

For an example of what they can do, they can take the 1.4 16v MPi engine to 180-200BHP if you have the cash, and also have some nice body kits for all Rovers. I have a Metro GTi 16v, and it has been slightly modified by Moto-Build, and it runs like a dream. So give them a call.

24th Nov 2001, 06:51

I own a Rover 214 GSi, it's my first car and it's my pride and joy, but the only thing is I can't get body kits for it at all. If anyone could help I would be most grateful. Heeellllpppp!!!

17th Jun 2003, 15:45

Does anybody know if you can fit a dump valve to a rover 214 without a turbo.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 32 reviews