1995 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Rover - Austin 600 623is 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Smooth comfort at high speeds

Faults:

A few too many bulbs have blown.

Strange noises from the front suspension, cured by a main dealer modification.

No other faults.

General Comments:

Smooth effortless driving with more than enough power. Can cruise at high speed all day and still be comfortable.

Depreciates heavily so 4 and 5 year old bargains to be had, look for an accountants old company car. Pipe and slippers image, but with enough power to give the boy racers a red face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

22nd Feb 2005, 12:54

I Have owned a 623is for the past four years and found it to be one of the best cars I have had. the 623is is a very quick car, but is even better now I have fitted an air induction unit and a noz system. Also I've not had any problems with the front suspension.

1995 Rover - Austin 600 620i LPG 2.0i 85kw from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 85kw Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance173500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Underestimated fine car

Faults:

A few minor things with the LPG.

Tail pipe at 140.000 (replaced with a non-Rover part, much cheaper)

I'm still amazed at the durability of the car.

General Comments:

My next car will be a Honda Accord or Civic, it's comfy, reliable and runs fine.

The Rover 75 is too big, and the 45 is too small and has no Honda parts.

The Rover 600 is a really good car and cheap to run and buy as a used car.

The amount of space needed for parking and turning is really big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

1995 Rover - Austin 600 620 GSi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired199000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Affordable luxury

Faults:

Central locking actuator on the driver's side door (about £30).

Slight boot leak.

General Comments:

Beautiful car with good performance and luxury interior.

Very high mileage, but you wouldn't know it - Honda engine purrs (apart from a bit of a knock when the engine is very cold).

Low mpg is a bit disappointing, as is the high insurance group, but it's well worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

1995 Rover - Austin 600 Ti 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra 2.0 16v

Faults:

Back box was replaced (only lasted 2 years).

Drivers window is slow.

Gearbox whines a bit in neutral.

General Comments:

Nice, quiet, safe & plain car.

Not very good on consumption, even in comparison to a 3.0 Supra Turbo !

But I do drive it at high revs everywhere. Handling is quite good but is far better after being lowered by 60mm. Power is there but is not as quick as a slightly modified 2.0 16v Vauxhall Calibra (suprisingly). I have only had sports cars and in standard form the Rover is not really a sports model but has potential.

Hate not having a rear wiper!

Door post is in the way when looking right if you have the seat back quite a way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2000

1995 Rover - Austin 600 620si 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

New tailpipe on the exaust (4 years isn`t bad) £36 fitted myself.

General Comments:

Brill family car (I'm off to buy another).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 1999

13th Jan 2001, 12:46

Hello, my name is Luis Martins and I'm writing from Portugal. I've got a 620Si Rover of 1994. I'm very satisfied with it. Now that I changed to GPL (gas) I'm even more satisfied because the price of fuel is no longer a problem.

I would like to know more about this car, especially how can I have more potent lights (Xenon lights) and other things. If you would be kind to send me all information you can to gameirovsky@netc.pt

Thank you.

12th May 2002, 12:58

I bought a Rover 620si just over a year ago. At first, I was really pleased with it, but just lately a lot of things have gone wrong with it all at once. Had to have a new tail pipe fitted, not too expensive, then needed a middle exhaust, cost a bit more, now the radiator has a hole in it. Even the radio-cassette player doesn't work properly! I am a single mother, with 3 children to support, and only work part-time, so this car is costing me rather more than I can manage. It is a great car for somebody who can afford the high costs that come with it (let's face it, 620's do not come cheaply: tax, insurance, parts, fuel consumption, are all expensive) and it is a lovely looking vehicle, but I'm afraid it's not for me, I simply can't afford it, so I am off to buy a smaller car tomorrow! (sorry!!)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews