1996 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1996 Rover - Austin 600 620i 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

The biggest bargain at the upper end of the family car market

Faults:

Electric sunroof failed at 87,000 miles.

Power steering failed at 99,000 miles.

Stereo failed at 101,000 miles.

Engine became rattly towards the end of my ownership.

General Comments:

Aside a few electrical problems and despite its age, the 620i was a very good car which gave me two years of excellent and reliable service. It was a bargain at £4,000 for a six year old compact luxury car with a high mileage, and its next owner got it two years later for just £1,500 with a six figure mileage. One of the best cars I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

17th Nov 2006, 07:46

Thank you ROVER 620 SI.

1996 Rover - Austin 600 620i 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired109500 miles
Most recent distance110200 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Large Blue/Green Frugal Machine!

Faults:

Drivers seat lightly worn.

Tick over problem when getting warm. This clears when engine warm though.

Few scuffs on bumpers.

Bit of rust showing.

General Comments:

My Rover 620i is the 1st Rover I have owned, and I have to say, I'm pretty impressed.

I know the basic 600 is a Honda Accord with a different body shell and badges, but that to me, makes this car worth it.

The engine is the tried and tested 2 litre unit from Honda, 16 valves, even with a single overhead cam.

The interior has withstood a lot of abuse in the past. I found the 1st owners info in the handbook, and it belonged to a construction firm, so it had a hard start, but this does not detract from the light and airy interior.

Speed sensitive power steering makes light work when parking, but takes a bit of getting used to.

In the past month, since having the car, I've averaged 27mpg, which is pretty good, considering I've thrashed the car a little bit myself!

Very impressed, much loved, easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

1996 Rover - Austin 600 620 Ti 2.0 turbo from Belgium

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Nice driving experience... if the car's not yours

Faults:

- alternator broke down after 15 days of ownership.

- pool of water on driver's side foot well every time it rained or when the car was washed (the whole left front wing had to be replaced, the dashboard had to be dismantled etc)

- the car eventually self-ignited and was a total loss.

General Comments:

The car was bought at a rover dealership, came with one year warranty, had a full service history and one previous owner.

Still, after ten months of ownership and multiple costly problems (see above) the car self-ignited on a warm may evening. The engine bay was destroyed and the insurance company could not bother with the hassle of finding out what went wrong.

In any case, a great driving experience let down by extremely poor dealers and very poor build quality. For a bit more money and same performance I'd go for a Lancia Kappa 2.0T 20v.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

9th Dec 2005, 16:07

I agree with with writer of last comment.

2nd Feb 2006, 08:41

I bought a 1997 Rover 618i 6 months ago (July 05) for £875. It's got 58k miles on it and is an amazing car for the money. My brother has just bought one the same with 1/2 leather seats. Totally reliable so far and a pleasure to drive.

2nd Jul 2006, 17:48

I've just bought a Rover 620 ti from a dealer for £650, and it's dropped its engine oil on my road and developed a misfire, which I believe to be electrical. How's that for good service then?

13th Oct 2007, 14:22

You want reliability and you're suggesting a Lancia?!! No ta!!

I've had my ti for about 15 months, clocked around 13k now and it's been superb! I've not spent on the car other than servicing and fuel.

I love how people drive one example which may have problems and say the whole of the breed is duff, 'I've driven one car from the range for a bit, so I'm an expert on them!'

1996 Rover - Austin 600 ti turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Elegant looks - poor reliability

Faults:

Cooling fans never switch off. Quoted 500 pounds to fix by replacing computer.

Warped front disk brakes at 69000 miles.

Re-skimmed for 100 pounds.

Drivers side window regulator broke. Cost 100 pounds to replace. I should have checked windows prior to purchase!

Exhaust manifold bolts broke. Eighty pounds to fix.

Gearbox whines.

Engine leaks oil a little.

This car has 72000 miles on the clock with a full service history, and had a very careful previous owner that shows in the condition of the bodywork which looks immaculate. I bought the car from a local reverend!

General Comments:

If this car has been so lovingly cared for and treated with respect, I should have more confidence in the car, but after reading all the other comments - ANY OFFERS?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews