1996 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1996 Rover - Austin 600 GSDi 2.0i turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A very economical and swift car

Faults:

I first got the car from a friend who had barely used it, and so left it sitting in a field for nearly a year!

A couple of small parts needed replacing in the first couple of weeks (due to lack of use).

And the belt tensioner broke very suddenly.

But basically no problems since.

General Comments:

Nice appearance, with grey full leather interior, and a bit of veneer here and there.

No cruise control on this one, and no air conditioning. But this does wonders for the fuel consumption.

Doing an average of 53 MPG, and a maximum of 63 MPG, it is seriously cheap to run.

Also, for a 2.0 diesel, it does not have bad acceleration, doing 0-60 in 10.8 seconds. Also, having loads of torque, the acceleration, although not overwhelming, is still there even in 5th gear (no need to shift down when over-taking)!

Although the 600's leather seats are comfotable, I still think that the seats in my Volvo 340 GL are more comfortable.

I am very pleased with it, and having done 60,000 miles on it already, I intend on keeping it until either the day I die, or it dies! Can't wait to find out which way it goes!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

12th Jan 2003, 18:02

I have a SLDI version, and would like to know how you managed to get such a hogh MPG although I am pleased with mine I am unable to get more that 34MPG around town, and 41MPG on long runs if I keep to 75 MP, so what is your secrete. Can you pass on any tips.

23rd Jun 2004, 07:31

The engine was run in very well, (was not revved above 2000rpm for the first 2000-3000 miles!!)

I have always let the engine idle for 1 minute before and after any journey, so the turbo will be in good condition, also helping fuel economy.

I also very rarely take it over 60-65mph on the motorway, although once took it up to 110 when in a hurry!

So general care in driving should produce over 50mpg.

The car is now 131000 miles and it has still not dropped below 51mpg, so I'm not sure what's wrong with yours. Do you have air-conditioning, as it is said to dramatically reduce fuel economy?

Regards.

1996 Rover - Austin 600 620Ti 2.0i 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova 1.2

Summary:

A wonderfully cheap high performance car that everybody underestimates to their cost

Faults:

Two new tyres at £120 a piece!!!

Fuel injection distributer blew at 70,000.

Clutch replaced at 71,000 but I believe this is normal.

Exhaust rusts badly in the winter salt.

Brakes warped at 67,000 and needed replacing.

Hand brake failed at 72,000.

General Comments:

After my previous car and only being 19 this is the fastest and best equipped car I could find at around the £3000 mark.

I love the acceleration and annonymity of its looks.

The interior was a nice surprise after seeing the drab examples within other cars from the 600 range.

The handling is better than any car I have driven, pity it has a tendency to under-steer.

It is economical if driven normally but does turn into a bit of a monster when dropped into second gear and floored. Outstanding acceleration and safe overtaking.

Very quiet and nimble in motor-way traffic.

Difficult to reverse as the rear visibility is appalling.

Try to buy one with 600 on the back and no one will ever steal it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

6th Mar 2001, 05:47

Bit of a jump from a Nova!

The obvious question: At 19, how much does your insurance cost?

20th May 2001, 07:35

With pass plus and being a member of the AIM it costs £997 pa 3rd party.

4th Aug 2001, 11:15

I thought my 620 Ti cost a lot to insure at £500 fully comp... but I've got 9 years no claims.

3rd Sep 2001, 14:51

I have just purchased an "N" reg 620 ti, firstly I could not believe the performance, it is outstanding for such a normal looking car.

The stability and solid feel to the car are very reassuring. I know there will be those that do not agree, but for a car costing £3000 with such refinement and a quality feel, I find the 620 ti a class act.

For those who are interested I am 31 years old and it cost me £315 for TPFT insurance. I consider the car to be a true wolf in sheep's clothing.

25th Jun 2005, 04:08

£315 for insurance! Give me the name of your insurer.

I just bought a 620TI from a 21 year old who had to sell because his insurance had just been quoted at £3200.

Great Car.

20th Sep 2005, 08:32

I'm 21 and my insurance on my 620ti is no where near the that price! Direct Line seemed pretty good when I took insurance out with them. Without a no claims bonus (having had my first car in my mother's name) it was just under four figures, which I thought was pretty reasonable. Hope that helps.

21st Feb 2010, 14:54

I too found the 600ti easy to insure at age 21. Forget the insurance group 17 on the technical listings!

Phone up and get a quote, and it was well under 4 figures, and only a little extra for cars 10 groups down!!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews