1994 Rover - Austin Metro L 1.1 from UK and Ireland


An excellent first car, very easy to drive


Nothing, dealer serviced from new.

General Comments:

Very low mileage vehicle, first owner was Rover dealer, then an acquaintance of mine had it for 9 years as a second car.I have done 1500 miles in 5 weeks and it has been faultless, doing at least 35 mpg. Has been strange using a choke, but you soon get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

1994 Rover - Austin Metro L 1.1 from UK and Ireland


You can't really go wrong for what you pay for them


Engine was hesitant to accelerate at pulling away or increasing speed. This was due to the carburettor not being cleaned, adjusted, or oiled. Once these were done these problems disappeared.

I had trouble starting on damp/wet mornings, replaced worn rotor arm and distributor cap along with spark plugs and have had no problems starting since.

General Comments:

The Metro is a surprisingly good cheap car to drive. The 1.1 engine gives so much more performance than I ever expected it to. Will cruise happily at 80-85mph, 100mph is easily achievable with a clear road.

It handles really well too, it is a smooth and stable drive, and handles corners so much more reassuringly than my Mk3 Fiesta.

It's a shame the model I have (a red 'L') looks like a granny wagon! The sporting models look so much nicer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

1994 Rover - Austin Metro GTi 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Outstanding in all respects


The driver's seat has started to show a little wear, but what else can be expected after 6 years?

Fortunately, as yet nothing has gone wrong- I live in hope it will remain that way.

General Comments:

A very inexpensive, fast and tidy little car. I can't fault the performance.

Typical of all Metro's, it under-steers when pushed around the corners hard. However, the thresh-hold of the GTi is high and so you'll have to drive it erratically to upset the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2002

1994 Rover - Austin Metro Li Auto 1.4 from UK and Ireland


A heap of junk


Auto Gearbox failed at 55k miles (£1000 to replace)

Reconditioned Auto Gearbox now doesn't work properly - often won't move until revved for a few minutes.

Won't Start in Park - have to start in Neutral.

Alternator replaced at 40k miles.

Main relay replaced. Indicator stick also had to be replaced.

Radiator Replaced twice.

Head gasket blew at 98k miles.

All pipes in radiator system corroded and had to be replaced.

Expansion bottle leaked and replaced twice. This also caused Cam belt to perish which had to be replaced.

Body work in wheel arches badly rusted.

Car broken into twice - easy car for crooks to get into. Steering column snapped and had to be replaced on one occasion.

Alarm stopped working about two years ago.

Central locking works when it feels like it. sometimes unable to open drivers door and have to climb in through the passenger side.

Indicator hanging out.

General Comments:

Would not have another of these cars given to me.

Very noisy on motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2002

25th Mar 2003, 18:31

The reason your Transmission is difficult to shift is beccause the car is not maintained properly. Try changing the fluid.

6th Aug 2003, 09:09

I have had no such problems with mine I have it serviced regularly! Every Year or 10000 miles.

11th Mar 2010, 11:56

I have had no problems with mine, apart from a bit of rust on arches, and blown backpipe, but these things happen on old cars.. it was SORN for a year and didn't get started, got jump leads and it started first time... proper workhorse.

1994 Rover - Austin Metro GTi 16v, multipoint fuel injection from UK and Ireland


Highly underrated little scorcher


The alternator belt broke.

Water pump is on its way out, will cost £35 to replace.

Theres a little rust around the rear wheel arches.

General Comments:

The best thing about this car is its cracking little K-series engine. The 1.4 16 valve has 103 BHP as standard, at 6250 RPM.

0-60mph in about 8.6 seconds.

I have modified mine slightly with a performance air filter, exhaust manifold and catalyst replacement pipe, which gives about 115 BHP.

The interior is good, with very comfortable and supportive front seats.

Unfortunately room in the back is not good.

The boot is a reasonable size (for a small car)

It handles better than most people expect, and seems to love roundabouts.

Its just a shame the dealers have not been very helpful about getting parts, I now use independent suppliers for better service and lower prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002