1994 Rover - Austin Metro Tahiti Limited Edition 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland


An ideal first car for a new driver


The battery keeps going flat and doesn't hold its charge very well.

The car doesn't respond in first gear for a least three seconds, it just crawls and then suddenly flies off.

The car is leaking water and there is a huge puddle on the driver's side floor.

General Comments:

This car is cheap to run.

It is an ideal first car, because it is small and easy to park.

The steering is heavy and power steering would be helpful.

It is very comfortable, and it feels safe to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 04:49

UPDATE!! 9/8/2001.

I've just found another puddle in my little baby, this time it's the passenger side at the front. I'm not sure where it is getting in, if anyone knows any common places where water gets in, could you please leave a comment on my review.

1994 Rover - Austin Metro GTi 16v MPi 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Reliable, cheap and fun pocket rocket!


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

With a tune up this car is very quick and flexible. Pulls eagerly in 5th from 30mph! 0-60 around 8.0s.

Handling is go-kart like.

Interior a little cramped, nice sporty hugging front seats.

All in all a very sporty reliable car that is massively underrated. With very minor tuning this car is very quick and easily as good as other hot hatches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

27th Jul 2001, 17:39

Wait till you put a 150hp lump in it, together with a stronger gearbox. Then it really goes.

1994 Rover - Austin Metro S 3 door 1.1 from UK and Ireland


An amazing first car


The head gasket went at 99500 miles. It's too costly to get Rover to fix it (£350). So me and my dad are going to do it.

No other problems yet apart from rust in the rear passenger side wheel arch. The other one is fine.

My friend crashed into it when it was parked next to my house. He was in a Golf, managed to take the bumper and the driver's headlight and indicators with him. Also the wind and part of the bonnet.

General Comments:

This is my first car. My mate had the 1994 Metro 5 door Quest. But he ended its life when we ploughed into the back of a Volvo 850 T5. Ouch. The volvo had zero damage.

This car moves and provided you look after it. It will last.

The worst thing about the car are the brakes and that is probably due to the quite skinny tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2001

1994 Rover - Austin Metro CD 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Underestimated and cheap to run


New fan belt fitted at about 35,000 miles.

Fuse box cracked, had to be resoldered and cost thirty big ones.

New front tyres as I curbed them at 40 mph.

Rust on the arches, DOH!

General Comments:

Very very cheap to run, petrol lasts weeks. I get about 60 miles to the gallon.

Reliable, never had any major problems apart from the fuse box. This was cheap to repair though so it didn't really matter. Many cheap parts going.

Low insurance, excellent first car.

Can be quite sluggish but flooring it gets it to a reasonable speed. Got mine to 100mph down the motorway which is quite good for a 50 hp car. I would recommend these cars for people who need a cheap city runabout.

Only the bodywork lets it down, rust IS CAR CANCER and canes the wheel arches!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

9th Apr 2001, 12:48

Quality review of my first car at this moment in time! nice one and spot on!

1994 Rover - Austin Metro S 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland


A very fun, reliable car


Nothing whatsoever!

General Comments:

This car is seriously fun and easy to own, mine was a sporting S spec and has a very upmarket interior and the performance from the 1.1 litre engine is excellent! The grip is great and the handling is very fun indeed. Standard stereo with 4 speakers is also good but this car is a nightmare to clean!!

You have to carwash it, then jetspray it! The design is simply so old now and the plastic bumpers are all updates on previous Metros so it is very difficult to clean properly. Gearbox is excellent though.

Dealer really doesn't want to know (Douglas Grahams Windsor), they really don't want Metros on there on the forecourt!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

22nd Jan 2002, 09:49

I know what you mean by cleaning metros. Just do what I do, and don't wash it for a couple of months, then when you do get round to cleaning it, you have done a good job!