1999 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 10 of 13

1999 SAAB 9-3 SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

Terrible!

Faults:

I bought this car one yr ago with 74000 miles. at 84000 miles the engine has gone!

Now I find out via this blog and other internet sites about the about the fatal engine flaws and the $3000.00 repair job.

I plan to get it fixed, trade the car and sue SAAB!

I will never, but another one. This is my third SAAB. The others we from the 80's and 90's and gave me no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

27th Mar 2008, 20:14

It might have helped to use synthetic oil...

1999 SAAB 9-3 S 2.0 litre turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I wouldn't hesitate to buy another

Faults:

Needed a full set of rotors at 90,000 after driving across Canada (6000km). 4 Zimmerman cross-drilled and slotted, zinc plated rotors were cheaper than 2 plain-jane rotors from the dealer!

General Comments:

I love my car.

For $3000 Canadian dollars less than a used base model Civic coupe with comparable miles and condition, I have a car that eats most others on the road. And isn't just another Civic/Cavalier/Sunfire!

It only has a couple of shortcomings I noticed on a 6000km trip. First, the cup holder is in a terrible spot! This is trivial to some, but over long hauls it gets annoying.

Second, my acceleration can be a little jerky in very hot weather; the boost gauge jumps with the acceleration.

Third, torque steer is a pain, but easily fixed with 150 US in aftermarket parts.

I love the cargo space; the trunk is huge, even with the rear seats up.

In driving 4 straight 13-20 hour days, my back was never sore, and my muscles did not tire!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

2nd Jun 2007, 17:19

I plan on getting a 9-3 in the next couple of months, and was wondering what aftermarket modifications you were referring to that correct the torque steer? If you, or anyone reading this could e-mail me the answer, 'cause I have no idea where to start, except for stiffer motor mounts.

MrCrazyBalls@hotmail.com.

Thanks!

1999 SAAB 9-3 SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Once I loved it, but it is fatally flawed. Saab Engines Fail, Saab Fails to Care

Faults:

SID pixels blew at 20,000.

Turbo Failed at 51,000.

Engine seized and failed at 53,000.

General Comments:

I once loved this car, as did I love the 900s I owned. Now, my love has turned to hatred and anger- towards SAAB USA, GM and my local dealership. SAAB admits to a fatal design flaw with their engines, but refuses to accept responsibility for 1999 9-3 SE. They tell me it is not covered by their "recall." I've maintained the vehicle above and beyond manufact. specs, but GM does NOT want to have to deal with their mistake. SAAB OWNERS REVOLT! CLASS ACTION SUIT! Please contact me if you have had sludge problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

14th Apr 2005, 01:27

My 2000 Saab 9-3 lost oil pressure and started knocking just a few days ago. Not knowing of any special programs and beliving that my car was out of warranty (61,000 miles), I had the pan pulled and the pickup screen cleaned at an independent repair facility. The engine still seized. I went to the Saab dealer after reading about the sludge problem on the Internet. I was told that the sludge program only applies to original owners. I called customer service and they have agreed to look at my car. I'm nervous because I had the pick up screen cleaned and I think it may affect my claim. How many of these things are in this condition? Please help.

1999 SAAB 9-3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A safe, utilitarian, luxurious, sporty, good looking, price effective sanctuary

Faults:

Nothing, except the a/c read out is kind of funky.

General Comments:

The car is so fast that it is hard to believe that there is only a 2.0 liter V4 under the hood. With the sport drive, the automatic transmission is as peppy as any manual. The car also handles better than a new BMW 330CI that I recently drove, and my 9-3 has 100,000 miles! There is no other car on earth that can match my Saab's performance, utility, safety and price! If you are considering a Saab versus any other car, go with the Saab! You will be so happy, believe me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

19th Apr 2005, 08:23

I agree!

I have a 900 for 5 years (152000 miles) and it still feels like a new car. Its fast, comfortable, safe, reliable, and nice to drive. The boot will take up to 5 large bags of stuff (e.g. 5 x 50K bags of Coal - wouldn't recommend this every day though) It looks great...

Its cost me a few grand in maintenance over the years, It even let me down once (fuel pump just stopped).

But nobody is perfect.

Its just a great car

a.n. other 900 driver.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews