1999 SAAB 9-3 SE Convertible 2.0L turbo from UK and Ireland




Won't start. Doesn't even turn over!

General Comments:

Had it for a week as of today. All fine till I tried to start it yesterday!! Nothing - engine wouldn't even turn over. All display panels lit up, seat belt sign and ding working, but just dead. It's probably best if I leave a comment later when the mechanic's been!!!

Apart from that, when the top's down it looks fantastic, and for the little time I drove it, it was fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2015

11th May 2015, 10:20

Just a quick update. The mechanic called round last evening, told me it was just the battery that was flat, so jump leads out and hey presto it fires up straight away. So took the car for a drive to put some charge in battery and all's good so far. This morning it started first turn, so decided to take it to the local MOT station I use, and asked him to just check for the dreaded bulkhead crack!!!! And fantastic news, not a sign of it, so it's straight on eBay and order a bracket and brace for it. After all, prevention is better than cure as they say.

11th May 2015, 14:21

If the engine doesn't turn and all the lights are on, it probably is the starter. Shouldn't be too much of a headache for you, hopefully!

10th Jun 2015, 14:56

Been a month of ownership now, and no problems with starting since my first post.

Firstly I put on a steering rack and brace kit; what a difference that makes. Then I saw a dreaded puddle under the rear passenger side by the back wheel - the dreaded leaky rams. So found a set of four on eBay, and fitted them this morning. A bit awkward, but job done, so now all's good. If anyone needs to know anything about fitting them themselves, just give me a shout, I'll be pleased to help.

1999 SAAB 9-3 S 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland


Would not swap this 11 year old Saab for most brand new cars



General Comments:

Great to drive and own. I love it so much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2011

11th Dec 2011, 06:54

I agree. I own a 1999 Saab convertible. Great car, great performance, great looks and lots of fun.

25th Dec 2011, 10:23

Now that a year has gone by, I wonder if the number if issues this reviewer had is still at "zero".

Just saying, because this person wrote the review after only putting on 3000 miles on the car, and no updates since January 2011.

1999 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from North America


Fun to drive, proud to own


Fuel pump died at 112K miles.

Serpentine belt is starting to go.

General Comments:

At the dealer, just for fun I test drove this car. I instantly fell in love with it, and the next day I brought it home. This car is by far the nicest, fastest, quirkiest, capable car I've owned so far. SAAB's are rare on the road, and that's one of the best things about owning one, you don't see one at every other stop light, it's once every other day.

After buying the car, I kept finding out new features in the car for months. It's definitely an enthusiast car. I've added a boost controller, which brought the car to life. The Trionic system the car is run by is very advanced and reliable. Makes the car's engine close to impossible to blow up.

The automatics have a 'Sport' and 'Winter' mode; Sport remaps the ECU to push out more power, and Winter starts the car in 3rd gear for slippery roads.

I always have fun every time I drive my Saab; the turbo and the MASSIVE amount of torque this car has, makes it for a very fast and fun ride.

This car does have its cons. It's not ALWAYS reliable, but there is plenty of online forums with people to help you out, and the car is very "at home mechanic friendly". Easy to maintain. Parts aren't too expensive either. The seats are not comfortable after sitting in them for over an hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2010