1999 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from North America

Summary:

A good affordable used car!

Faults:

Broke the heat knob.

AC doesn't work.

Trunk leaks in heavy rain.

General Comments:

Great car, always starts right up. The build quality is very good, nice undercoating under the car to prevent rust.

The car handles great, and it's pretty quick.

Turbo is very nice.

Inside of the car is nice, strange cup holder... nice leather, good legroom.

Paid only $1600, only problem is a bad A/C compressor!!

A very nice car overall!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2010

29th Jan 2010, 08:32

I own a 1996 and a 2006. They are quirky and some what expensive to repair. That being said, my 1996 has 175,000 miles and is still going strong. My wife won't give up the 1996. My 2006 is a joy to drive and looks great. Very quick and a good value. I purchased both of them used, as that is a great way to get a good value. Resale value is not an issue, as when I finally sell it, it won't matter.

Matt Hans.

1999 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from North America

Summary:

Loved my Saab 9-3!

Faults:

Saved my life.

Totaled in a terrible wreck, and I walked away.

Loved this car, and would buy another.

Quite reliable.

General Comments:

Fast vehicle.

Could haul massive loads in hatchback mode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2010

25th Jan 2010, 09:27

I love my Saab 9-3 as well - great cars those Saab 9-3's!

1999 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from North America

Summary:

This car is a solid vehicle that cannot be beat for the price

Faults:

The display does not work, but that does not bother me.

A pulley has had to be replaced.

The knob controlling direction of the air flow has broken and falls off every once in a while. Easy fix when I get around to it.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute dream to own. In Texas, not only does it stand out (there are only 7 Saab's that I have seen driven in Texas, I own one, dad owns two others), but it performs well too.

The amount of power you get out of the 4 cylinder turbo charged engine is phenomenal, without the terrible gas mileage of other comparably powerful engines.

The clutch and gas pedals are longer smoother pedals compared to other cars, which I like. The 4 disc brakes are amazing, easily one of the best parts of the car.

The suspension is not as stiff as a sports car, but not as loose as most family cars, a great happy medium when going around corners and going over bumps alike. Bouncy would be more accurate to describe the ride than rough.

This is my first car to own, though not even close to the first I have driven, and this is my favorite out of all of them. It drives solid, ride well, packs a punch, has great distinctive styling, has plenty of cargo space, and the list goes on. I am lucky to have such a fantastic car as my first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-3 from North America

Summary:

Excellent!

Faults:

Brake pads replaced.

Water pump.

Brake light fuses replaced.

General Comments:

I've owned my Saab 9-3 SE 1999 4 door since 1999 and have had minimal issue with it. In fact, it is still fun and fast to drive. I recently equipped it with new snow tires (Blizzaks) and Firestone (Firehawk Gts) for the summer. I travel 34 miles daily with my children through all types of weather and haven't had a problem yet (knock on the beautiful wood panel of the inside dash)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-3 from North America

Summary:

I haven't quite bonded with this car yet?

Faults:

Info display says fill coolant fluid - has been on for several days because I have not been able to fill it yet. Yesterday, check engine light came on. Could these two messages be related?

General Comments:

Don't like it as much as my 95 9000!!! But unfortunately, I "lost it" in a bad ice storm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-3 Convertible 2.0 turbo standard from North America

Faults:

Bought car in immaculate condition, and reviewed service records; like clock work, serviced every 5K miles.

Only thing I can say bad about it - was the driver's seat needing repair. So, having it repaired with seat matching on color with local vendor (Fibrenew) ($350).

Everybody thinks the car is new and was garage kept.

I put new Yokohamas on it and a Harman Kardon interface.

Things changed during its service history:

SID unit.

AC compressor.

Front struts.

Rear shocks.

DI cassette.

Serpentine belt (twice).

Brake job (twice).

Other things are normal service like filters and oil changes.

So now that I found this site - I will only pray that I will not fall under the gun with the QA/Engineering defects. I bought the car based on the history and quality/engineering legacy of SAAB.

I have only had car for 1 month. Going to make sure I use synthetic oil and baby it. I love the looks of this thing with the top down, and it is in fabulous condition.

Pics of the thing are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/28063509@N08/sets/72157606573435080/

Hoping I am lucky - not holding my breath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2008

3rd Sep 2008, 15:53

Good luck with your Saab.

My 9-3 Convertible has been the best car I've owned.