1999 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1999 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from Singapore

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A car with very deep seated virtues, that take time to appreciate

Faults:

I crashed the car at around 20,000km. The suspension was replaced, as were the wheels and the brakes. For such a major crash, it was a miracle that the rest of the body was completely unmarred. For that alone, I give thanks to SAAB for providing a car that excels in real world safety.

The front passenger light sensor that triggers the cabin light has malfunctioned, and there's a little ticking sound coming from the rear windscreen; apparently something that happens with all liftback format vehicles that I know of thus far, which would include the Toyota Corolla and the Ford Mondeo.

Left headlamp bulb is loose, as is the left fog lamp assembly.

General Comments:

The size of the car is excellent, and it is very easy to park, despite the high back.

The steering is a little too heavy, and while there's some vibration coming through, there's not much useful feedback. The 95 is better in that respect.

The air con controls are seriously cheapskate... the rotary dials feel like I'm trying to control the air con through elastic bands. The feel is imprecise and made of cheap plastics. As is the headlamp dial. The radio, thankfully is much better in that respect.

The omission of a console armrest is pretty sore in a premium car. As are the plastic internal door pulls in place of the chrome ones used in the Viggen and the 9-5 series. The handbrake feels completely awful.

The car seriously needs bigger footwear. My version uses 15" 195/60 tyres, but it's really crying out for R16 215/55, because the car struggles with corners sometimes, and the chassis feels skittish over quick but twisting roads.

The 1-2 gear change is also quite jerky.

But that's it for the bad points. Otherwise, the car has been wonderfully reliable, incredible boot size that takes all sort of junk, very very usable, and it has a smoothly integrated turbo that never fails to give me an adrenaline rush =), and excellent supportive seats despite my slip disc. There's not much storage space, but the glove box is very spacious and usable. The car alters its personality dramatically over 120kph, from slightly stodgy to wonderfully stable and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

29th Dec 2002, 20:31

This review is right on the mark. I am very pleased with my Saab, and also traded in a Mitsu Galant!

2nd Aug 2004, 13:30

I like my SAAB also. Although it is a little noisy when you shift, almost like something is loose. I've also had a problem with wind noise from the doors mainly on the passenger side. Otherwise a good reliable and that Turbo really kicks in when you need it... Cali girl.

1999 SAAB 9-3 LPT Convertible 2.0 Eco from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Eco Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFiat Coupe Turbo

Summary:

A great four-seat convertible cruiser

Faults:

Not a single thing.

General Comments:

Fantastic car; reliable, comfortable, fun in the sun, safe, clean.

It does not quite rate as a sports car (although it's not too bad if you hussle it along), but it makes up for it in relaxed top down cruising.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

1999 SAAB 9-3 SE Turbo Convertible 4 cylinder turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFerrari 348TB '94

Faults:

There are really no bad parts to this vehicle. I haven't had anything wrong with it yet. I truly admire and love this car.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely phenomenal. My Ferrari is not as good as this Saab. The Saab was extremely comfortable. There is nothing like it. Every time I drove by the beach the car turned heads. This car has an amazing performance.

I bought the car for 38,000 dollars as its second owner. I don't know how much the car goes for now. But it is well worth every damn penny. I give Saab a 10 star rating in this vehicle. This is an extremely luxurious and sporty automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

6th Mar 2001, 15:35

I agree with you, the car is phenomenal. The seating is amazing. And the dash looks like a cockpit of an airplane. I own a 1999 Saab 9-3 SE also.

-Sergio D'Ellagucci.

7th Jul 2001, 16:42

You are all right. These Saab cars are the best!

2nd Aug 2003, 06:30

This is my second Saab and it is 1999 9-3 a well made car and very responsive to the drivers needs. I truly love this car more than any car out there around $40k+.

Thanks Saab.

6th Nov 2003, 13:03

I have just bought a 1999 Saab 9-3 se Automatic and collect it on the 14th Nov 2003... I cannot wait!!! Hope the Wind deflector makes a difference!!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews