2004 SAAB 9-3 Vector Convertible 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland


Good value compromise between top down fun and four seater comfort


Minor trim rattles and creaks.

Front tyres wear a little too soon.

General Comments:

Vast improvement on pre-2003 model for handling and ride.

Body colour choice limited and dull - I chose Lime Yellow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

2004 SAAB 9-3 Aero Sports Saloon 2.0T from UK and Ireland


Excellent value with good performance


Nothing yet and long may that continue!

General Comments:

After test driving the Saab 9-3 Aero I could not wait to get one of my own. After a couple of weeks of searching the dealer managed to find a pre-registered car for me at a substantial discount to the list price.

With 210bhp the 9-3 Aero is remarkably quick for a family car. When driven sedately you could be forgiven for thinking that the performance is equivalent to most cars in this group. However, with a little push of the right foot the turbo kicks in and all of a sudden you are approaching the speed limit with at least two more gears to go!

The chassis and suspension, whilst a little firm, are perfect for the power that is generated and the traction control lets you get all of the power onto the road without wheel spinning. I was asked by the salesman if I wanted to have the car "tweaked" so that it puts out 250bhp, but I thought that 210 was enough.

The styling of the car is subtle rather than in your face with the spoilers and skirts setting the Aero apart from the other 9-3's.

As a parent of two children safety was also a big part of my thinking when buying a car. The Saab does not disappoint with airbags literally everywhere (driver, passenger, curtain, etc.)

The boot is large enough to pack 3 suitcases, two large holdalls, one small holdall and five backpacks. I found this out when driving to the airport for our summer holiday.

The seats are very comfortable when on a longer drive and the dual climate control keeps the cabin at a comfortable temperature.

The audio equipment is good with a seven speaker system coming as standard, but this is where my one minor complaint is. Why does the standard stereo system only have a single CD player? It seems such a shame when the car has almost everything else as standard. For the record, I upgraded to a multi disc player which manages to keep everyone happy.

All in all I am delighted with the car and with the new V6 Sports Wagon now on the scene I will certainly be looking at Saab's again when it comes to changing cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

4th Nov 2005, 09:42

How you can possibly comment that the audio is "good" is beyond me... But then, you may enjoy weak, muffled, poor quality sound coupled with vibrating door bins at even a modest volume!.. but for the rest of the car, I could not agree with you more!

8th Nov 2005, 07:04

I also have a new Aero. Wait until the annoying rattles and door creaking starts and then having to put up with mechanics telling you it's a common problem with the 9-3 and difficult to solve. My Aero feels more like a 10 year old Skoda - no insult intended to Skoda.

14th Oct 2012, 10:42

Yeah that's insulting! Skoda is pretty good now :)

23rd May 2015, 17:14

Perhaps the standard 4 tweeter system you have is crap... but if you have the 7 or 13 speaker systems, you'd change your post. If you are looking to turn your car into a teenager's boom tish, boom tish machine... then no standard system will satisfy you... but for all other purposes, investing in the optioned up systems is worthwhile.

2004 SAAB 9-3 93 1.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


I have teething problems with the brand new Saab 93, 2004 model.

Firstly, the rear window behind driver's seat could not be closed fully. The window went up to nearly 90% then automatically went back down. I took it to the service center, who told me he had replaced some 'module'. I forgot to test it when I took the car, brought it home, the problem still exists, only differs slightly. I can now close it using the button on the driver's door, but when I try comfort closing (with remote control), same problem.

Secondly, the audio system stops functioning, no display on console, no sound, the CD player takes in CDs OK, but the system was just completely dead. Since the indicators' audio uses the same system, no 'tic-toc' noise was audible either. This happened on a long trip and it's when you need your music most. We gave up after trying to turn the audio system on/off at the control, tried to switch ignition on and off... It came good about an hour later.

Thirdly, the LCD (?) display panel in the dashboard intermittently goes dim and the odometer display under the speedo dial disappears.

Fourthly, the first gear is 'sticky' when the engine is cold.

General Comments:

Even though the car is nice to drive, I don't think I will go for a Saab next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

27th May 2005, 06:51

'Thirdly, the LCD (?) display panel in the dashboard intermittently goes dim and the odometer display under the speedo dial disappears.'

I think you will find it is meant to do this.

28th Jul 2005, 15:28

I have a 2004 SAAB 9-3 Linear with 5 speed manual transmission. The car was purchased during August 2004. After one year of driving I have had no problems and can only give the highest regards for this car. Engine is as smooth as silk, smoother than many six cylinder engines on the street, and we are talking about a 2 liter 4 cylinder here. Handling, breaking is excellent and the cooling system is the best I have experienced in a car. A better drive and roomier than the Audi A4. Overall very happy with the car and plan to keep if for many years, as there is no point trying my luck again with a different make. Like the old proverb, if it works why fix it? or replace it.

2nd Dec 2005, 16:10

I have a 2004 9-3 Arc. I have had several problems with it including the problem with the windows rolling back down. In addition, I have a problem with speaker vibration when the radio is on medium volume. I've had the back brakes replaced because of loud squeaking when braking in reverse. I've had a piece in the steering column replaced because of creaking when turning the wheel. Most of these issues have been taken care of and I love the way the car drives when it's driving normal. However, as of late, I have had hesitation and bucking issues (it's an automatic). I have a friend with the same car with the same hesitation and bucking. She had a software upgrade, but it did not fix the issue.

9th Nov 2006, 23:59

I had an 03 Arc that went back to the dealer 15 times in 11 months. I became so dillusioned with it I took the loss and moved on. I was hoping that reliability had improved as I would one day like to return to the product as they are well thought out and stylish...waiting.

16th Nov 2007, 15:49

I bought my 04 SAAB Aero and loved it! Drove nice & had great features. Fast forward to 2006 and the on-star & phone feature no longer works because it changed from analog to digital & the 6 CD disc changer doesn't work (who knows why). Power windows are also beginning to have issues. It is very expensive to do repairs so my advice... if you are going to buy get an extended warranty to cover wear & tear as well as manufacturer breakdowns!

2004 SAAB 9-3 Linear 2.0 turbo from North America


I don't think I can live without a Saab


I have had no problems with this car.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a loaner car at a great value. Service was better than expected and the dealer was very accommodating.

I traded in my 2001 Saab 9-3 in the summer of 2003, when my turbo went at 48000 miles, and bought a Honda Accord. I had no other problems with the 2001 Saab other than having a front wheel bearing replaced at around 15000 miles.

After a year of complaining about the performance and styling of the Accord, I am once again ecstatic to have a Saab again.

Since purchasing, I have gone on trip which entailed driving through the Catskills and the engine did not rev once. I reset my miles per gallon computation before I left and when I returned home, 16 hours or about 900 miles later, the computer read 34.8 miles per gallon.

The seats are extremely comfortable and the backseat is quite roomy.

The paint seems to be of a better quality than the 2001 9-3.

My only complaint is the "tune" knob for the radio does not exist. You have to hold in the seek button for an couple seconds to tune to the next station.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004