2000 SAAB 9-5 6 cylinder turbo from North America


Maintenance nightmare


Have replaced timing belts; $800.

Rebuilt engine; $2,700.

Replaced turbo; $2,500.

Replaced internal fan; $600.

Replaced front muffler; $800.

Radio doesn't work.

On 3rd battery. Have only used car 2 months last year.

Now the oil is getting into the radiator overflow, and probably needs a head gasket or something.

General Comments:

Worst car relative to expense I have owned in 40 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2010

16th Oct 2010, 17:38

The dealership is very expensive. Firestone Services has taken great care of my 9-5. Mine is a 2004 Sportwagon, and has been very reliable.

2000 SAAB 9-5 from North America


Absolutely the worst thing one can make out of metal!


The real question when a Saab is mentioned is "What hasn't gone wrong?"

The absolute worst excuse for engineering I've ever witnessed in my 35 years! Ignition, bearings, exhaust, engine... not engine work... an engine at 16000 miles, and of course the heater should have been called air conditioning!

General Comments:

The only thing I can say about this review is for those who are misinformed that these are good cars... YOU WERE LIED TO. I would have sold mine, but I like to sleep at night, and I couldn't bear the thought of passing this headache on to another person.. so I did what any Saab owner would have done if they had my resources.. Fired up my Ford F550, engaged 4wd and ran over it a few times.. Then had it flatbedded to the local scrap yard and gave the remains to them on one condition.. that I see the machine rape the drive train out, and when the car is ready to be crushed.. I pull the lever... GOOD RIDDANCE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2010

26th Feb 2010, 14:11

I have a difficult time believing any of this.

My personal experience is that Saabs are fantastic automobiles.

21st Nov 2010, 15:49

There are tons of people that would have taken that car, and fixed it and driven it. Purely a waste of a car. Our 9-5 is amazing. A speeding bullet and very reliable.

28th Jun 2011, 19:54

I think the problem may lie within the temper of the driver, not the car.

24th Oct 2011, 18:16

I believe every bit of this story. I believe that someone would be that smart to crush a car you can sell to a mechanic, or the fact that he didn't mention once any actual problems with it. Obviously there weren't enough for him to find it plausible. Believe this guy! He's obviously knowledgeable about what he's doing! I wish I was that smart, but I'm still stuck with this stupid SAAB that has never given me problems and is a fun and fast car. Guess I'll be stuck with the fast car for a while :(

13th Nov 2011, 18:05

Sounds to me like this guy forgot that there is a term known as "routine maintenance!" and I'll bet he abused the crap out of the car when he drove it anyways. I drive a Saab 9-5 with... 260k on it! Never let me down; not once. Too bad he junked his. I would have bought it!

27th Nov 2011, 13:20

So you bought this in 2001, and by 2009 you had only put 6,000 miles on it? If you keep a car for that long, and you only put 6k miles on it, you'll need to do routine maintenance during that time in order to keep it from dry rotting, and getting locked up.

2000 SAAB 9-5 turbo from North America


Sell after 50,000 miles


Water pump failure at 59,000 miles.

Alternator failure at 61,000.

Brake power booster at 64,000.

Engine light problems frequently. Various parts changed for the engine light problem, even the gas cap.

Alarm goes off at different times of the day and night. Cost est. by dealer around $450 to replace unit battery pack -- after market alarm unit only $225.

Key stuck in ignition -- 3 months wait for new ignition from factory???. Another $750.

Power window switch module replaced. All total with regular servicing and repairs, not all mentioned, over $8,000 in the past year and a half.

General Comments:

It was a great car.

Handled well.

Good braking system.

Good air conditioning.

Comfortable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2009