2000 SAAB 9-5 Reviews - Page 7 of 12

2000 SAAB 9-5 SE V6 Light boost turbo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Light boost turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 164

Summary:

SAAB saved my son's life!

Faults:

Replaced the battery at 48 months of service.

General Comments:

In 2002, I bought a used Saab 9-5 SE Wagon from the local Saab dealership. It had over 45,000 miles on it, so it was well-broken-in. It came with a factory certification extending the standard warranty from 50,000 miles to 6 years or 100,000 miles, whichever came first. The warranty covered virtually everything. The car was serviced regularly until well after the 60,000 miles service which required replacement of belts, hoses, etc. In spite of having the supposedly less reliable Opel V-6 engine with light boost turbocharger, the car never let me or my wife down.

It was a faithful mode of transportation through snow, sleet, rain, and dark of night for over 50,000 miles. With the winter traction package, heated seats, excellent lighting, it was perfect for bad weather driving. It only rode a tow truck once.

Last year, we gave the car, with almost 70,000 miles on the clock, to my 17 year old son. One night, on the way home, he fell asleep (yes, for real) while traveling a highway with the cruise control set on 65.

He plowed into the end of a steel NC DOT highway guardrail. Needless to say, the car was totaled. The amazing thing of it was that my son walked away from it with only a buckle fracture of his right wrist. His wrist was broken because it flew up and hit the rearview mirror, detaching it from the windshield and injuring his wrist.

All the front and side air bags deployed as promised, and although he had glass all the way into his under shorts and shoes, he had nothing in his eyes and no other injuries or bruises except for a seat belt bruise across the lap and chest. The car properly sacrificed itself, as designed, to save the life of my son.

THANK YOU SAAB!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

11th May 2006, 12:57

Wow. That's an eye opener. I'm very glad to hear your son is okay. It's unbelievable he walked away from a crash into THAT kind of obstacle. This would definitely help me consider a Saab.

10th Nov 2006, 12:50

I used to have a 1982 SAAB 900 Turbo. The car treated me well, but I ended up selling it because of getting a company car. The Guy I sold it to had never owned a SAAB. He called me a couple of years later and said he was driving really fast through some twisty 2-lane roads here in the Pacific Northwest. A guy was coming the other way in a VW GTI, also going like crazy. He said the VW failed to make the corner and went head-on into the front of his SAAB. He believes his speed was somewhere around 65-70 MPH and didn't know how fast the GTI was going. After the impact, the SAAB driver was able to open the driver's door just fine. When he got out, he said the engine and transmission was about 50 feet away from the car. The front of the car was pretty much gone up to the firewall. He walked over the the VW GTI and the Driver was dead on impact and was "part of the metal structure". The Guy I sold the SAAB to said the car saved his life for certain. Guess what he bought to replace his totaled car? Another SAAB of course. Since then, I lost my company car priveledge and now drive a 2002 SAAB 9-5 V-6 Arc. The car is really solid and feels even safer than my old 900 Turbo. They do cost more to maintain and have a few known weak areas but I think the pleasure of driving and safety is worth the cost.

7th Oct 2007, 06:47

Glad to hear that in both stories the driver was OK. here is one to add. my girlfriend has a 1988 SAAB 900, she was traveling at around 100km, swerved to avoid a kangaroo (this is from Australia :) ), went up an embankment, THROUGH two trees (trunks snapped clean), barrel rolled, landed back on its wheels facing 180 degrees the other direction. she couldn't open the doors, but escaped out the sunroof. no broken bones or bruises. I have no doubt that SAAB's build quality saved her life.

I'm now looking at a 2000 9-5 SAAB Aero for myself.

8th Mar 2008, 17:46

How does a head on collision throw engine and transmission 50 feet away yet leave firewall (I assume and interior legroom) intact during such a severe impact?

I have a hard time making sense of it all. too good to be true for any car!

8th Nov 2011, 02:53

The SAAB 900 engine and trans-axle was designed to break away and go under the car, instead of being pushed through the firewall.

The steering column was collapsible so the steering wheel wouldn't be pushed back into the driver during a head on collision.

The old SAAB 900 also had front and rear crumple zones, and a steel reinforced safety cage passenger compartment.

2000 SAAB 9-5 Aero turbo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

The Aero Wagon is sharp and fun to drive!

Faults:

The Electronic Information Screen had to be replaced twice. Once under warranty, and once not under warranty. A couple hundred dollars for that.

Other than that, nothing major.

General Comments:

I have had this car over since December 2000, and really love it. I have the AERO wagon, and it's quick and comfortable. It handles great. I got snow tires for my car for the winters. The default racing tires pretty much suck in the snow.

I see some folks complaining about quality. The 2000's were still built in Sweden, so maybe I was lucky and got a good one. I'm extremely happy with mine. Maybe the wagons are better than the sedans?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews