1989 SAAB 9000 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1989 SAAB 9000 CD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired104310 miles
Most recent distance104396 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Space Wagon

Summary:

A great car for the money.

Faults:

So far the only things that have gone wrong with the car is that the sunroof and the climate control display does not always work.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and has a great top speed for a four cylinder. I have only taken it up to 70 miles per hour, but it took the car no effort to reach.

The seats are very comfortable and have power reclining. The car looks great for a vehicle from the 80's. When I first saw it for sale I thought is was a mid 90's car.

The car does not look too big, but inside is huge the car comfortably seats 4 but can seat 5. The trunk is huge and can hold a lot of cargo.

The car is a very great value for the performance I got the car for $2,400.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2004

1989 SAAB 9000 Turbo 16 2.0 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired226000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Good car, if it has been well maintained

Faults:

ABS warning light flicker intermittently.

Heater core leaking. Suspect it was like that when I got the car.

Sunroof - tilt function doesn't always work.

Cracking noise from trip computer.

Heated rear window string fail.

General Comments:

Very good and comfortable leather seats.

Excellent driving position and dashboard.

Everything is well designed with a great attention to details.

Hatchback: open it after it has rained and water will pour into the luggage-compartment.

Very spacey cabin.

Very good performance from 2.0 turbo engine - excellent for long distance travel.

Pay attention to rust in the doors!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

19th May 2003, 02:12

Rust in the doors... true, that is a weak spot. I believe that later models 91 onwards have galvanised doors.

1989 SAAB 9000 CE 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carPorsche 924

Summary:

Fast!

Faults:

Engine replaced after turbo went at 150,000.

Motor mounts have all been replaced several times.

Water pump at 162,000.

Alternator at approximately 180,000.

Defroster fan broke, 193,000.

General Comments:

This car handles exceptionaly well, and I drive it like a race car! Corners well at high speeds and very quick off the line! It certainly is a sleeper, I have surprised many high performance cars.

It is a very fun car to drive and I love it, but I don't think I'd buy another one, I learned on a Porsche, and I'll die in a Porsche! But I must say, the 9000 turbo was a close comparison speed wise, top end on mine currently is 144 MPH, the 924 was only 157 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1989 SAAB 9000 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired223000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Worst car!!!

Faults:

My belt broke.

The interior doors are splitting apart.

Water pump blew.

Alternator broke.

The heater doesn't work. Instead of floor heat I get Bi level heat.

The sunroof electrical wires ae burned.

Speakers on the right side of the car blown.

Radio antenna lost frequency.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and handles great, especially in winter.

However this car is the worst car I have ever driven, uncomfortable, small, terrible transmission and falling apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

29th Nov 2004, 14:04

I agree I had an 89 9000 to and it just fell apart I got it with 111,000 on it and got 10000 more before it crapped out.

27th Jan 2007, 20:11

Wrong!!! This car is a very large sedan, extremely comfortable and an awsome automobile!!! My Saab is still going strong at 250k. Take better care of it and do some regular service every now and then and you should be all set! The Saab 9000 is a wonderful car with only a little love!

31st Jan 2007, 16:15

No you're wrong. They are the worst car out there. I don't know why anybody would buy one. Every one I know who has had one had so many problems and ended up getting rid of them. I now drive a 95 Volkswagen Jetta GLS and it's so much better than that hunk of junk. The Saab 9000 is the worst car out there and they are too much money, so there.

26th Jan 2009, 16:24

Wow, who could say that it's small or cramped or whatever the first guy was saying? Unless you're used to a huge American luxury car, the size of the Saab 9000's interior is noticeably larger, roomier and more comfortable than most of its competition (BMW 5 and 7 series, Audi, and some Mercedes models).

If your car is crap then it's crap, but that's the previous owner's fault, not the car design's fault.

Saab's are one of the most (if not THE definite most) well built and well engineered vehicles made. Especially these ones that were made back when Saab was 100% Saab, not 30% GM design/parts like later models.

Buy a used Pinto that's been babied and it will last you 20 years. Buy a used Land Cruiser that's been badly abused and has reached end of life in many ways and you'll get a piece of junk.

Who cares who made it - buy a good condition car if you want to judge the car model as a whole.

Cheers.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews