1990 SAAB 9000 S 2.3L from North America


A die -hard car, a little love and money go a long way


I would have to say that with the high mileage taken into consideration, I've had relatively few problems with this car...

The first part that needed replacing was the water pump.

Then the rear axle went, followed by the front axle.

The motorized driver side seat malfunctioned, which left it unadjustable and uncomfortable. I pulled it out, bought a racing seat and had brackets fabricated to fit the chassis.

Now there is an electrical problem with the horn, which fails to work.

Also, there is a small rust hole in the catalytic converter which I'm holding off on fixing for the time being...I'd like to have RAM-air installed which would require a new exhaust, so why fix it now?

General Comments:

Since the purchase of the car I've only put 93 octane gas in it, and change the oil every 2,500 miles. I spend a few hundred a year on repairs, but with the money saved on insuring a 90' SAAB with 200,000+ miles on it, the repair costs seem insignificant. Off the line it has decent acceleration, rides smooth on the highways, and conquers steep inclines like a pro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

12th Feb 2005, 20:25

Excellent. I couldn't have said it better myself. What kind of Ram-Air are you putting on it?

1990 SAAB 9000 CD Turbo limited 2.3 Twin turbo from UK and Ireland


Gotta love it


Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle. It has started right up every day and I have never replaced anything.

General Comments:

This was one of very few CD limited edtions sold in Europe and it has not one, but two high pressure turbos. I have been able to top out the car at about 160 mph. The 0-60 mph is about 6 seconds. It is much faster than my 1987 535i BMW which is now my wife's car. the Saab is far more comfortable and has much more room to move around inside. Love it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1990 SAAB 9000 S 2.3i from North America


Stylish and comfortable, but terribly unreliable


Transmission cooler line rusted through at about 90 000km.

Resistor blew out in the blower fan control, fixed relatively easily.

Car stalls intermittently, when warm or cold, only at idle or at very low speed (e.g., in traffic).

Transmission shifts poorly-- shifts too late or too soon, sometimes jerky, sometimes "lugs" the engine. Transmission also whines in first gear.

Many electrical failures (interior and exterior, including brake lights).

Idle air controller replaced; did not fix stalling problem.

Heater smells funny...

General Comments:

This is a very nice car... when it works.

On the highway, it's very comfortable, stable, and responsive. Just never drive it in the city...

The stalling problem is so bad that I'm afraid to make left turns through lights!

Nobody (I've been to five different mechanics-- all euro specialists) can figure out what's wrong!

I plan on selling it very soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

9th Jun 2004, 23:43

I had problems with stalling and not idling for years. After replacing many bits, a mechanic told me to use the highest grade of fuel, it has been great since.

18th Jun 2004, 09:48

After much research and testing, I've narrowed down the main problem (stalling and poor idling) to the transmission. Apparently these automatics can develop problems with some governor seals and/or the torque converter lockup solenoid. In light of this, I'm going to have an experienced transmission specialist look at it sometime soon.

A bit of advice: if you suspect your (auto) transmission is acting up, don't expect your regular mechanic to be able to fix it... He just isn't equipped for it!

1990 SAAB 9000 S 2.0L Naturally Aspirated from North America


Safest and best performing 4 door sedan for the money. Period.


Valve lifter noise.

Transmission pinion gear noise, transmission will need a rebuild or replacemnent shortly.

Failed clutch slave cylinder, pulled engine and tranmission by myself and replaced.

Down pipe rusted out.

Cabin blower fan bearings failed.

All front rubber bushings and strut bearings completely washed out.

New ball joints.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I was 16 and am now 18. It has been a good first car, my dad wanted me to get it because it was somewhat sporty and very very very safe. It was also a good buy. It came with the 2.0L non-turbo engine, it now has the same 2.0L turbo engine; I put a turbo on when I pulled the engine. It passed emissions insanely well, it's a major advantage to the 9000. I started getting work done at a dealership and then a Saab specialist, that soon became way too expensive for a teenage budget so I do all mechanical service by myself now. If a teen is going to purchase this car they must know how to work on it if they pay for their own repairs, I was lucky enough to have good mechanical abilities and tools on hand. Warning though, this car may lead to an addiction, I now will only purchase european cars, I plan on my next vehicle being either Saab, BMW, or Porsche 944 turbo. The turbo cars are alittle quick for a first time driver, I will say this looking back to when I began driving. Good, fast, and safe cars, alittle expensive to maintain though so be ready. Turbos and non-turbos are the same to insure if one is just purchasing liability coverage. One last item: the people who own Saabs have a cult, through clubs and a place called SaabNet. They are extremely helpful when it comes to advice, better than any other group of car owners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2004

13th Apr 2005, 22:28

My 9000 CD also has valve lifter noise. The car runs great, but you can even hear the valve lifter tapping while inside the car. Needles to say its very annoying. Does anyone know where to get a lifter.