2003 Saturn L300 Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2003 Saturn L300 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired350 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram pickup

Summary:

Great cars. We have two..

Faults:

We've had the transmission worked on under warranty three times.

We need front struts badly, but can't find them anywhere for sale. None of the auto parts stores list them, nor is there a Saturn dealer around here anymore.

General Comments:

The car has been dependable, with plenty of power and zip. It's really a shame that Saturn has gone out of business, as they made great cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2009

2003 Saturn L300 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

The car looks great and seems good on gas. I wish it was put together better

Faults:

The first thing to go was my body module, 2 months after purchase and exactly one month after the warranty expired.

Next the fuel pump about 6 months later. The check engine light on, I found I needed a crank shaft, 02 sensor.

I had the flasher module replaced, and soon after the car started stalling while driving. It always starts back up, however about 1 mile ahead will stall again.

I took it to a mechanic and they said the throttle was full of goop. After cleaning, the car ran like brand new.

The next day however, the windshield wipers started acting up. It only works at high speed.

One week later, the car started shutting down again. I was told by the dealer the throttle body need replacing.

General Comments:

I've had nothing but problem after problem since I had this car.

I want to trade it in so badly, yet, I still owe money on it. I could have paid off the car by now, with all money spent on repairs. Thanks to this website, I may do it anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2009

2003 Saturn L300 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Real junk

Faults:

Had to replace a transmission solenoid at 59000, cost 650.

Replacing oil cooler and thermostat at 65000 at a cost of 1700.

General Comments:

This car is extremely unreliable. Parts are extremely expensive. Is a really poor design, and have to pull the intake manifold to replace the spark plugs. The engine is known to have a problem with engine oil cooler leaking, and oil gets into radiator.

I can't wait to get rid of this money pit. Cost more to repair than my Cadillac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2009

12th Feb 2009, 09:32

Hey there, sorry to hear all that, but I actually know what you are going through, I used to have a L300, sure it had a nice kick, sound, and leather interior, but is not worth paying thousands of money to get it fix every 2 months, specially those cooling problems. My advice to you is to get rid of it ASAP!!!

2003 Saturn L300 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Beautiful!

Faults:

Computer part that monitors the dash warning lights went out. Dealer replaced for free.

Oil plug was stripped. Again, dealer replaced for free and changed my oil for free.

General Comments:

I love this car! I have never been a fan of American made vehicles. I had a bad experience with a Ford Mustang, so I was reluctant to purchase another American made car. I am so glad I bought this car, it has been a dream to drive and I have had no major problems with it. I drive the 15 fwy on Cajon Pass every day, it handles beautifully. I also drive to Big Bear most weekends and it handles the mountain roads beautifully as well. I would definitely buy another Saturn.

The leather seats are very comfortable, at least the front seats. The back seats aren't too comfy for long distances, but they are okay. The stereo is great, especially the 6 CD changer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2009

2003 Saturn L300 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

On my Saturn L300 (2003) overall, it runs great. I hate the CD player. It skips all of the time, including with new CD's and at stops. It has bee replaced once before my warranty was up at 36,000 miles. Still the same problem.

I had a BIG problem with the electrical. The door locks would unlock themselves and the alarm would go off. My husband had to pull the fuse that controlled the door locks to lock the door. We took it to the nearest Saturn dealer, the replaced some electrical module. It has been fine since, occasionally I think it relapses in really cold weather.

Recently, I have had my right rear weights missing- twice now. I have had everything checked out. The parking brake was messed up on that tire.

Earlier this winter, it was a little hard starting, but seems fine now. I thought it was the battery, but never replaced anything.

General Comments:

I too had the dash light with the squiggy lines. It is your coolant light. Mine used to come on in the winter. It has to do with the temperature making the coolant more dense and the sensor is EXTREMELY sensitive. So when your level is slightly low, your dummy light will come on. As your car warms up, the coolant expands, making the light go off again. Your sensor is in your reservoir, so when you add the proper coolant, it should disappear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

26th Jan 2008, 13:22

I also have this light come on, but it is due to a very slow leak of coolant. I have to add some coolant every time this light comes on. I got it checked out at a dealer and they found that there must be a very small crack and recommended that I just keep an eye on the level.

26th Feb 2008, 16:13

My squiggly lines come on during the first few minutes. Then the car beeps at me. After that it immediately drops to the cold area. Even after the car's warmed up, the temperature gage varies/wavers quite a bit. I checked the coolant level and it's full.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 23 reviews