1998 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1998 Saturn SC 1 1.9 four cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 four cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carsaturn sc1

Summary:

Great car..

Faults:

The only problem I've had in the month I've owned my car is the passenger door rattles... maybe the plastic is coming loose.

General Comments:

This is a great car 31mpg combined highway, its nice looking... very sporty with low insurance costs, I did lots of research before buying and I found all good stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

1998 Saturn SC SC2 L4 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission L4 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Great unless it blows up or seizes on you

Faults:

The car has run fine except for minor exhaust leaks, and normal wear and tear until today. I just past 75,000 miles and I heard a bad noise coming from the engine. To make a long story short, I need to have the bottom half of the engine replaced.

General Comments:

This is a good car, as long as the engine doesn't go out on you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

12th Feb 2008, 22:36

You let it run out of oil? Seems this happens to most owners, need to check that stuff every week.

20th Dec 2008, 20:05

Run out of oil? Where is it going at only 75k miles? Sounds like a junky engine to me.

1998 Saturn SC SC1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

The best car I'll ever own

Faults:

I had the air conditioning recharged for a leak, but, it was covered under the dealer-given used car warranty.

General Comments:

The handling is surprisingly responsive.

The small 4-banger goes when I tell it to and doesn't ever let me down.

The body looks brand new and the paint still shines.

The reconditioning was done when I bought it, just tune-up.

Everybody thinks it is brand new, and are shocked when they drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

23rd Aug 2003, 08:06

I have owned this car since 2002.

It gets great gas mileage, and has terrific get up and go power!

I just turned over 90,000 miles and have not had to replace a thing! Great little car!!

28th Jun 2004, 00:30

I bought this car in early 2001 and runs great!

Just a few minor problems, emergency brake lever broke, sun roof leaks, overhead light broke, and front driver-side seat broke.

I just had to replace the clutch after 120,000 miles (which is expected, not the car's fault, I think), and now the car's pick up is even better!

27th Sep 2006, 15:13

We bought a 98 SC1 5 years ago. It had 65,000 miles on it at the time. We currently have 155,000 miles on it and have really done nothing, but regular maintenance to the vehicle. It still runs great! We get about 36 miles / gallon on average. The only problem we've had is the parking brake handle broke, but it was a $25 repair. Of course we've had to replace brakes, tires, change the oil, filter, tune up and things, but for the 90k we have put on this little car over the past 5 years, we have absolutely nothing to complain about. The back seats are kind of annoying to sit in since they angle up awkwardly. We also have manual windows and locks (but that has less parts to break).

We would whole heartedly recommend buying a Saturn. We felt like we overpaid a bit when we bought this for 10k, but it's been worth every penny and then some.

12th Apr 2008, 22:17

We bought a Saturn SC 1 last year. Not too smart for us, but we didn't get a check done and found out that we had to replace the head that was cracked. Thank goodness we have an awesome farm mechanic and he replaced it for cheap.

Other than that, it's been great on gas and it has a lot of get up and go. Does anyone know what the sound from the pulley is? Our car sounds like a toy car. Whiny, kinda if that makes any sense.

1998 Saturn SC SC2 1.9L DOHC 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9L DOHC 4 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

An expensive safe bet

Faults:

CD player became "possessed", spitting out cd's... fixed under warranty.

Numerous recalls on the seatbelts.

Tires wore out at 36,000 miles (a little early for my taste).

Rotors sanded and need to be sanded again.

General Comments:

Great dealership experience, average car, high price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

28th Aug 2001, 19:32

There are no seatbelt recalls on the 1998 coupes. You are mistaken.

9th Jul 2004, 11:13

Every ounce in a while the car doesn't hold idle. Dealership never found problem.

19th Apr 2005, 14:12

There should be a recall on the 1998 seat belts. Mine don't work well either.

12th Sep 2008, 18:23

I am a Saturn SC2 owner and my back seat belt on the drivers side is broken, passenger side window motor burnt out, CD player is stupid (Error), tires wear out every 30k miles.

I have to add two quarts of oil each week, transmission fixed, radiator replaced, radiator fixed again, head gasket, ignition module, speaker on passenger side door blown, plastic parts break off every time I drive the car, I can't drive over 70mph because the car starts to shake, and many more repairs to mention.

Now the car is dying at low rpm, stalls when I come to a stop, jumps into gear very very hard.

I had my moonlighting mechanic take a look at it, but now I have to take it to the dealership because he does not know what the computer code error means.

The car is a 98 and has over 175k miles on it, but the cost of repairs on this car is easily greater than or equal to the value of the car. I will never buy a Saturn again! I bought the car in hopes of supporting American companies, however if this is the quality of American craftsmanship, I might be better of buying a foreign car next time.

To heck with Saturn and the problems I have had with this car. It is a waste to time and money to own a Saturn. If you are thinking of buying a Saturn do NOT. I hope if this post saves one person from buying a Saturn I have done my job.

Thanks.

Angry Saturn Owner for Over Nine Years.

P.S.

I have a 98 SC2 Saturn for Sale!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews