1999 Saturn SC Reviews

1999 Saturn SC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance234000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

In the beginning, I replaced the brake pads frequently.

Recently had to make repairs to the catalytic converter.

No other major repairs.

General Comments:

I have gotten every penny I paid for this car. While it is not the most glamorous car and it has had problems, it has held up reasonably well over the years and the miles.

Had very few problems until car really began to show its age. Then, sunroof quit working... well, it would open but not close. Then, the passenger side window quit closing too. I chose not to repair them and simply live with it.

Car still gets 38-40 mpg so I keep driving it. Hard to find a comparable car with that kind of mileage today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2010

1999 Saturn SC SC1 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I wish she could last forever!

Faults:

Only minor fixes.

General Comments:

VERY reliable.

I have not been kind to this car and she still runs like a champ.

The only reason I will not buy from Saturn again is because their quality has hit rock bottom the past several years, and my recent Vue purchase has been riddled with problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2008

17th Apr 2009, 08:12

I love my 1999 Saturn SC2. I have taken trips to a lot of places and it still runs awsome. My car has almost 200,000 miles on it and it still runs good. I love it and wish it could last forever too.

1999 Saturn SC 1 1.9L SOHC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance238000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Faults:

I installed a clutch at 180,000 miles.

I installed a head gasket at 200,000 miles.

Otherwise only basic maintenance.

General Comments:

This is a great car for the money.

I've took this car on numerous road trips and it has been a daily driver for me for 7 years.

I'm not afraid to take it anywhere, even with 238,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

1999 Saturn SC SC2 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Best car I ever had

Faults:

Axle went at 85000 miles (because of the way I drive) but it's OK because parts for it are cheap.

General Comments:

Great car all the way around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2008

2nd Oct 2008, 15:09

I totally agree this car is awesome! I wish I could keep it forever! I have had my Saturn since 2003 and I have only had ONE problem the entire time I owned it which was a coolant problem just recently. This is without a doubt a great car!

1999 Saturn SC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Good car with some normal quirks!

Faults:

I just bought the car used this past spring from a gentleman that I believe was the original owner, and so far I have had no major problems. There are just little minor things such as:

It gobbles up oil (which is completely normal for just about all Saturns, this is my second Saturn and for whatever reason they burn through that stuff, so as long as you check it regularly it won't be an issue).

The engine does shudder every now and then, and there is a vibration when idling at a stop light, but so far it hasn't affected the way it drives or handles.

The sun roof has started to rattle a little bit, but the little cosmetic stuff like that doesn't bother me. You get what you pay for.

General Comments:

Overall this car has been very good to me! It is very cute and sporty looking.

Has really great gas mileage. I drive roughly 28 highway miles per day, 5 days a week, and then run errands on the weekends and only have to fill it up about once every 7 days.

Drives really smooth on the highway.

AC, Heat, Sun Roof, Cruise Control, etc. have all been in great working order.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2007

1999 Saturn SC 2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC2

Summary:

Great car until it completely fell apart

Faults:

Starter went out after 6 months of owning... had to push start the car in order to get home from work.

Sunroof quit working in the open position and would have been very expensive to fix had I not returned the car to the dealer.

Power windows quit working about a week after the sunroof quit.

Car rattled and squeaked shortly after purchase.

Clutch cable broke while driving at 80,000 miles. The car was stuck in 3rd gear all the way home.

Finally, right after I fixed the clutch cable, the transmission blew. This was the last straw and I gave the car back.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I first bought it. Very fun to drive, quick, sporty, handled well, and had a convenient third door. The seats had lumbar support which felt great on my back.

The sunroof and power windows were great and another reason I liked the car so much.

Then it fell apart! Within 6 months time the starter, clutch cable, sunroof, power windows, and transmission quit on me. I was very sad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2007

3rd May 2010, 23:37

Wow, eerily similar to my Saturn SC2. I am at 70000 and my clutch linkage cable broke. Brought it to a repair shop, which charged me $520 to fix it. But something is wrong with the shifter again, and now it is stuck in fifth gear.

Before that: window stopped working, sunroof stopped working, ventilation directional lever broke, and water leaks into my trunk during rain.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews