1999 Saturn SC SC1 1.9 I4 gasoline from North America


Econo-coupe with style!


Nothing what so ever has gone wrong with this car to date.

I replaced the brake pads and rotors at 95 000KM.

Suspension in the front has a little squeak, but the handling has not been affected at all.

General Comments:

The car is meant to be a good looking econo-cube and it suceeds with flying colors.

I get great gas mileage.

The price was cheap and to date the maintenance has cost very very little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1999 Saturn SC SC2 Special Edition 1.9 liter from North America


Better put your money elsewhere!


The sunroof leaks whenever it rains.

Transmission went out at 59,000 miles.

Very little head room in rear seat.

Module for air bag deployment went out 1 week after purchase.

Just toady, 3/17/03 I started it before school and it quit half way down the driveway and it won't start up again. Got it towed for the second time in the past 30 days and he says it has something to do with the fuel lines.

Overall I have been very dis-satisfied with the car.

General Comments:

The car looks nice and has some pretty good acceleration for a little four cylinder.

The car rides smooth and looks appealing too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

14th May 2003, 00:39

You should have at least two drain lines on the moon roof. Try taking a can of compressed air and use the little red estension that comes with the can of air. Connect it to the can, insert it into each drain line and blow the drain lines clean of debris. That may solve the leaking problem on the moon roof.

1999 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 DOHC from North America


A Highly Reliable Cheap Car


Something with the sunroof is starting to rattle (not a problem, but just really annoying without CD player on)

Front and rear Brakes.

General Comments:

This is a great car for the college or high school student. My model is loaded with leather, sunroof, spoiler, fog lights, 3rd door and just about anything else you would want. The car's plastic body does tend to rattle a little, but the engine runs flawless and should not have a problem reaching 200,000. This car has only needed oil changes and the Brakes done once. The car has plenty of power for a 4 cylinder. Overall, it is a great car as long as you take care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

17th Aug 2004, 12:30

I have a 1999 Saturn SC2, it burns oil horribly, I add a quart every week and all it does is burn bluish smoke out of the tail pipe, it only has 57000!!! Does anyone else have this problem with this car, or any Saturn??

2nd Nov 2007, 10:49

I have a 99 Saturn SC2 manual. Going on 176k miles. Leaks oil and has gotten worse over time. I probably need to add two quarts before my 3k mile oil change, but since I drive so much that's usually done in about 5 or 6 weeks.

Other than the oil problem, car is completely reliable. In fact a few times I just haven't had the chance to add oil, the car hasn't really complained.

Biggest complaint with the car is the lack of power. At 124 HP you can't just get up and go, you need to build up to it.

1999 Saturn SC SC2 from North America


GM has a long way to go to get the little Saturn right


The main computer went out at 37 months or 31,000 miles, which meant it wasn't covered under warranty.

This car has been thru 7 (yes 7) tires and it only has 33k on it. Firestone rarely (only twice) stood behind the warranties on these tires which were on the car new, and of course Saturn won't admit to or assist in the tire replacements.

Defroster has never worked properly, and service has been of little use, the car develops wet spots on the floor when it rains (and it has no sunroof).

General Comments:

This car has shoddy build quality, even for GM. It has a very plasticy feel and all the ride of a mack truck. It is the SC2 three door, which I'm told has a sportier feel, and it does have considerable punch for a four cylinder.

The car is generally uncomfortable for anyone over 5'5". And the rear view mirror is totally obtrusive, I have to bend down to look at street lights.

Saturn service is by far the best quality I have ever seen, I just wish the car didn't have to go there so often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

27th Jun 2008, 18:09

I own a 1999 Saturn SC2 and I think it's an amazing car. I own a special edition it is white on the outside and it has nice tan leather bucket seats. It also has two automatic black mirrors the car great handling and the only problem I have encounter is one not for anyone over 5 feet and 9 inches, and two don't mess with the electricals; I already got shocked twice just adding an amp. The car does great on the high way and has great mpg. as for the horsepower I added a e-ram electric cold air intake. The twin cams helps with the horsepower. It has great take off and it sound great even after 117,000 miles. It sounds like new even after 9 years. Very easy to customize. It has great handling.

1999 Saturn SC 3 Door Coupe 1.9 L Twin Cam from North America


A good value for a fairly well-made car


The car's handling ability is not the greatest. Sometimes it feels as if the tires are going to wobble off when taking curves at normal speeds.

Major oil burner.

General Comments:

The '99 Saturn SC2 has a very tough frame and is generally very strong.

It has a nice, zippy engine for being a 4 cylinder.

The style is very sporty and aero-dynamic.

The interior is a bit cheap, the folding rear seats sometimes don't close properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

1999 Saturn SC SC1 1.9 from North America


A well made, reliable bargain


Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

My rotors are shot, but that is because my commute(to New York City) requires me to brake often and hard.

I heard it was a good economy coupe, and that's what it is.

General Comments:

I feel this is a very well made car. The dent-resistant polymer panels really are dent-resistant. The price is more than reasonable, and I have not had a single problem that has not been my own doing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1999 Saturn SC SC1 from North America


Mostly hype, but a reliable car


Floor mats disintegrated within a month. The dealer replaced them.

General Comments:

3rd door is not as convenient as they make it out to be. If parked between two cars, the rear occupant is effectively trapped beteen the front door and the 3rd door!

The rear seats are as comfortable as an iron maiden! Tortuous on long trips, even in the front seats.

Performance is anemic, but with such a small engine it's to be expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

12th Feb 2008, 22:30

Hmmm, my car has excellent power, especially coming off a red light. Try getting rid of the standard air filter box and add on a Cone filter, they are cheap at AutoZone, you'll notice some differece, also try NGK spark plugs.