1996 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 12 of 24

1996 Saturn SL SL2 twin cam from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Screw your 4x4, I got a Saturn that will tear you up

Faults:

This car would be perfect, except I beat the you know what out of it.

General Comments:

This was originally my work car, but it turned into my beat the slam hill out of it car. This thing refuses to die. I take it mudding with boys and get through most of the stuff that they get stuck in. I have driven it out on soft sand at the beach. I have to say. This car gets awesome brownie points for putting up my harsh driving habits. I now own a Volkswagen Jetta, and I miss my Saturn every day and thinking of selling the Jetta and keep on truckin in the Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 12:32

This review is incomplete. I'm curious to know what does go wrong in a Saturn if one was to trash it. Please tell us.

15th Mar 2005, 11:06

The review is not incomplete, it's worthless.

17th Apr 2005, 18:46

This review should be deleted. The author posts a glowing review full of imponderable generalities under a frowning face? Obviously clueless. These kinds of reviews detract from the credibility of the site.

1996 Saturn SL SL1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

No Good

Faults:

My cylinder head cracked at 80,000 miles. There was mixing of my coolant and oil.

I got my oil changed every 3,000 miles regularly. I even had the required 30,000 mile checks. This car was so well maintained and driven.

General Comments:

I am very disappointed that this happened to my car. I am just wondering why this known problem was not brought to my attention when I bought the car in 1999.

I brought this to the dealership's attention that 1996 Saturns are known to have this problem and if I fell within the 6-year 100,000 mile replacement. I did not because it was from when the car was first made, not when I bought it. If it was from the time of purchase I would have been covered.

I liked my Saturn before all of this and now I would not buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

1996 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 Gas from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carHonda Passport

Summary:

Great little car, super vehicle, no complaints at all

Faults:

This car has required vary little maintenance other than the norm. Had to replace AC parts last June.

No other problems.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage 30/34 in CA. Just towed it to AZ behind our Motorhome. Got gas in AZ and the Saturn got 34/38mpg. CA gas just doesn't hack it.

Car accelerates, drives, handles great. This car was purchased to be towed behind our RV. Has subsequently ended being driven more than our 98 Passport and 92 Acura in the past year. Have been loyal Honda/Acura owners since 1975. Would most definitely buy another Saturn!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

12th Jan 2005, 14:06

I own a 2001 Saturn SL2, this is the best small sedan that I have ever owned. The car has a great engine and gets great gas mileage. This sedan is a wonderful car for somebody with a small family. I have had no problems with this car from the day I bought it brand new. I would definetly buy another S-series which has been replaced with the Ion. I love my Saturn this car also has great reliability, and it is very cute looking. I would recommend this car to anyone.

1996 Saturn SL SL2 1.9 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

There are better choices

Faults:

Just to let you know, I am very good with cars and do all of the repairs myself. This vehicle is meticulously maintained. I bought it new in 1996.

Front pipe cracked/rusted at 135,000 at the transmission support bracket. Dealer wanted to charge $850 to replace front pipe/ converter as a single unit. I took the broken pipe off myself and had the cracked welded for $15.

Saturn oem muffler rusts out about every two years.

Struts replaced at 75,000 miles.

Brake rotors warp often, but I now buy higher quality non-dealer rotors and it is less of a problem.

Oil consumption first started around 80,000mi, but switching to 10W-30 helped a great deal. There is some evidence of antifreeze getting into the oil because of a white film on the bottom of the oil filler cap.

Rear sway bar links rattled and were replaced at 85,000mi. Poorly designed part, grease caps feel off causing premature failure.

Manual transmission leaks around the axle seals, but not enough to warrant repair.

Check engine light comes on often, fault is usually the upper O2 sensor, which has been replaced three times.

Spark plugs foul easily and are replaced every 8-10,000 miles.

Clear coat paint on trunk lid spoiler scratches easily.

Rust has been a problem on all four door sills, and in engine compartment. Single layer of flat black paint on inner frame is prone to rust. Most manufacturers use multiple layers of paint.

General Comments:

For the money, was and still is a good car. You get what you pay for. It has good power, a fairly decent ride, and always starts. I feel some Saturn parts are poor quality and designed to wear quickly to keep people going in for dealer repairs. Saturn (GM) is not the only one to do this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

16th Feb 2005, 14:55

Well if you do not put any thing on the cars body and keep it waxed it looks great it is just not taking care of your car.

26th Dec 2005, 09:06

I have a 1996 Saturn and replaced the Heater core, Now I have a service light on with a wrench symbol beside of it, why is that? Note: It is not the " Service engine soon light". If anyone knows what to do please let me know.

Debbie from Indiana.

20th Jan 2006, 20:34

I have a 1993 Saturn SL2 with 304,000 miles on it. It is really starting to show it's age, but it has been a great and vary reliable car.

I still have all of the original suspension parts. I also still have the original muffler and sway bars. In fact, the only things I have had to replace on the car are the rotors, the radiator, an oil gasket, and the right front wheel bearings. I also had to have 4th gear in the transmission replaced after 200,000 miles when it burned up. However, this is the only work I have had done to the car.

I am going through oil very quickly, about a quart per week, but with so many miles on the car, I am not complaining.

Rust has also not been a problem.

It has been the best car I have ever owned, bar none!!! I would not hesitate to buy another on once this one finally does give out.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 84 reviews