2003 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 25 of 25

2003 Saturn VUE AWD 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Maybe not ready for the road yet

Faults:

This vehicle had a transmission problem at 1000 miles. Some part was replaced that transfers torque from front to rear wheels. After that back in the shop to have the transmission control module replaced and reprogrammed for a rumble at highway speeds. Now at 3500 miles it makes a rumble and vibration while turning corners and is yet to go back in the shop. We'll see what the problem is THIS time.

General Comments:

I bought a new vehicle so I wouldn't have strange sounds and problems. I like this vehicle. It has the space I need. The steering and highway driving is very smooth. I'm not sure I like their new transmission though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

5th May 2004, 09:50

I have a 2003 Vue AWD. It has spent more time in their shop than my garage. Transmission is gone, gas gauge has been replaced twice, still not working, Head Gasket has been replaced, griding noise, rattling is continuous. I will never buy another Saturn, nor deal with the West Edmonton Saturn dealership again. I have contacted CAMVAT, (Canadian Motor Vehicle Arbitration), they are investigating. In all the years I have owned a vehicle, this by far is the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

2003 Saturn VUE AWD / VTI 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

A great value and a good car

Faults:

A rumble or vibration between 55-70 mph.

A small, but noticeable squeak in the steering wheel.

General Comments:

I bought the car in December and I now have 9200 miles on, and I have had no real problems with car. I live in the northeast and we have a pretty horrible winter this past year, but the all wheel drive was great, it always got me home, and I have to travel some very steep hills to get there. All in all it is a great vehicle with a strong motor and very nice transmission, they work well together.

The only service I have had were oil changes and to update the program for the transmission.

The steering wheel squeak I had has quietly gone away by itself.

The back seat has the most room I have seen in an SUV of this size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

2003 Saturn VUE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance8800 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

When I picked the car up, the door lock button was not properly attached.

Paint scratches very easily.

The passenger window does not sound as if it is closed properly.

When you open only 1 rear window the noise literally hurts your ears.

The high beam switch was broken.

The torque bar had to be replaced.

And last, but not least, the transmission went on the car, leaving me stranded with 2 small children.

Forget roadside assistance!!

General Comments:

The only thing good about this car is the gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

18th Jun 2003, 14:15

How does a manual transmission go on a car with 8800 miles on it???

18th Aug 2003, 07:51

How does a transmission fail on a new car? I bought my 2003 Saturn Vue last October and I am on my third transmission. So far Saturn has only given me free maintenance for 30,000 miles for my troubles.

11th Jan 2007, 17:46

Wow, problems with a manual transmission? That's unheard of with this car, its all auto problems!!

12th Jan 2007, 07:11

No, they're not automatic transmission problems. They are GM's VTi (continuously variable transmission) problems. They were installed on all 4-cylinder "automatic" models from 2002-2004, and a few 2005 as well. The V6 versions all have traditional automatics that are reliable, and from 2005 onward, the 4-cyl models also have a traditional auto.

2003 Saturn VUE AWD4 2.2L Ecotec from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired195 miles
Most recent distance20600 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

An SUV with great potential - IF GM will let Saturn do what it was created to do, build great cars.

Faults:

Took car in at 6700 miles for a grinding noise on turns. Saturn replaced transmission.

Screeching noise immediately after transmission replacement. Caused by tech not tying off shift cable correctly.

Recall for wiring harness and software update for transmission control module.

Second transmission control module software update to correct vibration and rumbling noise between 55 and 65 mph.

Right front strut replaced due to creaking.

Fuel pump has started making loud noise intermittently.

General Comments:

I bought my VUE after I had injured my back, leaving me unable to drive my coupe as I could no longer get into and out of the car without extreme discomfort. I really do like the overall package. The 2.2L Ecotec four and the VTi continuously variable transmission are a perfect match. The vehicle is very comfortable on long trips, and I even managed to squeeze 30 mpg out of it with careful driving. Not bad for such a large, heavy vehicle powering an all wheel drive drive-train.

Unfortunately, GM is getting deeper and deeper into the division - much for the worse. The transmission, which was boasted as being 10 years in the design and test phase, rumbled and vibrated under light throttle between 55 and 65 mph. I had to live with this problem for over 6 months while GM searched for a solution. So much for product testing.

I am coming up on 8 months of ownership of this car, and it has been in the shop five times, with a sixth problem already making itself present not two days after the last fix. With a 60 mile drive one way to the nearest retailer, I'm beginning to tire of repeated trips to have irritating quality problems addressed. If this is what GM's increased involvement in Saturns lineup is going to result in, then I'm done with them. This vehicle also replaced a 1988 Suzuki Samurai. In that vehicles entire lifespan between my folks and me, it never went into the shop for anything - ever.

Despite the problems to date, I really do like the car. I am more frustrated with the vehicle due to the constant battle to have stupid problems like these kept up with. C'mon GM, quit cutting corners at the expense of product quality. It is completely inexcusable in this day and age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2003

3rd Jun 2003, 08:56

I have the exact same rumble and vibration in my 03 VUE between 55 and 65 mph. It's great to see a complaint and solution on the same page. Now I know exactly what to tell the dealer when I bring it back. Otherwise so far I like this vehicle.

6th Jul 2004, 14:20

Actually, it's the opposite, the VTI is actually a Saturn design which is why GM hasn't introduced it into their other models and also the VUE is made at a Saturn plant which GM should, but hasn't yet interfered to improve quality control at the Spring Hill, Tenn plant. GM has improved quality at their other plants with the Oshawa Ontario plant being the best plant in North and South America for good quality from JD Power and Associates. The Saturn SL and ION are good cars because they used good transmissions. I know the VUE has had other problems other than the VTI, but it seems they've gotten rid of all those problems from what I've heard from people that I know. I would recommend though that you should try and see if they will trade cars as I was offered to at the dealership where I got my VUE. They said if I wanted to, I could take the new V6 instead because of the problems I've had, but I'd rather go back to a car instead so I'm trying to see if they'll let me take a regular GM vehicle since the L-series looks kinda small in the back.

2003 Saturn VUE FWD 6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Saturn's Screw Up

Faults:

At 3,500 miles I hear a lot of wind noise from the rear.

Something has went wrong with the CD player, costing $500.

Front struts were making loud noise, grease wore out at 10,000 miles.

General Comments:

This seemed to be a nice SUV, but it has only cost me more money.

The only thing better on this than my Dodge is the gas mileage.

Way too much road noise, I would never buy a Saturn again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

8th Apr 2003, 16:48

How could you have spent a dime on repairs, when your new Saturn Vue comes with a 36,000 mile/3year bumper to bumper warranty? Just curious.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 93 reviews