2003 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 19 of 25

2003 Saturn VUE FWD 4 cylinder VTI from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder VTI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Overall good if transmission issue gets fixed

Faults:

I am having a hesitation issue when taking off from a stop. Most of the time it takes off just fine, but occasionally it will hesitate to the point I feel like it's going to stall. So far it hasn't stalled. I'm concerned that I'm going to be hit from behind next time it decides to hesitate.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle for it's safety and reliability which until about a month ago it was. Now I'm concerned that the problem won't get solved after reading other surveys and comments.

I know Saturn has a good reputation and I do hope they can resolve this issue for me because everything else about my Vue is fabulous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

9th Jul 2004, 20:18

We recently purchased a 2.2 Saturn Vue with the standard ecotech engine. About a month ago, this vehicle began to periodically 'cut out' or seemingly stall when acceleration was required from a stopping position. The only way to regain power was to floor the accelerator and hope that no one would collide into you from behind.

I have no idea what this potentially dangerous problem is. The dealer has categorically stated that there is no mechanical problem with this vehicle.

2003 Saturn VUE from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance20300 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Piece of Junk!

Faults:

Door wouldn't open.

Horn wouldn't work.

From day one it had trouble going into reverse, dealer said it was normal with the VTi transmission.

Very noisy, dealer said that was normal.

Alarm wouldn't shut off. (Had to go in shop twice b/c first time wasn't fixed.)

Noise dealer said was caused by rear wheel bearing.

Same noise along with transmission slipping dealer said caused by transmission case. (Had to be in shop for over a week and got it back worse then before!)

Front passenger seat has always rocked. Dealer said no problem.

General Comments:

We bought the VUE to "save" money with the 0% financing...however, we wasted so much time from our personal lives as well as work to bring this car in over and over again. We also wasted a lot of money when we finally paid to get out of the car. This car is VERY unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

2003 Saturn VUE AWD 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn Vue

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

My head gasket at 9000 KM.

Engine at 11,000.

Transmission at 20,000.

General Comments:

This car is a LEMON. Too many problems, inexperienced mechanics, extremely unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

2003 Saturn VUE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Nice reliable, peppy car

Faults:

Computer module for Security system failed. Dealer replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Car has been very reliable. No trouble with the VTI transmission. This is the 2WD version.

The orange color grew on us. It's distinctive, make it easy to spot in the parking lots.

It's just the right size for us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

2003 Saturn VUE AWD from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Possible Lemon

Faults:

At 16,000 miles started to shimmy when applying the brakes at highway speeds. 1st visit to the dealer they turned the rotors. Within 1 month the shimmy started again only at lower speeds. 2nds trip to the dealer they replaced the rear drums (they really only resurfaced them). Within 2 months the shimmy started again. The 3rd trip to the dealer they replaced the rear drums, replaced the rotors. The mileage is now at 28000 miles, the shimmy is happening again. I've had it in twice for the shimmy and they say they are unable to reproduce the problem.

The steering column makes a terrible noise when turning. I've complained about this since I bought the vehicle, the dealership has yet to acknowledge that there is a noise to fix.

My gas display is not showing the correct amounts. They are replacing the part today.

General Comments:

I'm extremely disappointed with the vehicle. I like the car, however there seems to be too many problems for it to be available to the public.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

25th Apr 2004, 10:56

I bought a VUE (4cyl AWD) late last year and it only has about 5000 miles on it. The dealer has already replaced the front wheel bearing and the rear differential. That solved the odd grinding noises. My fuel gauge is now totally useless. I filled up the tank and it says its only 1/2 full. The VUE drives fine, but I'm worried that I bought a lemon. I just read on another website that GM has extended the warranty on the CVT (continuously variable transmission). GM has said that it has fixed the problem. I think CVT's are great in a snow mobile, but I don't think they are going to last in the car.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 93 reviews