2000 Seat Leon Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2000 Seat Leon SE 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

A great family car for those who want to hold onto their youth

Faults:

Car was bought as an ex-demo from a dealer. There is a small diesel leak from the engine which is yet to be addressed by the dealer. Too early to ascertain reliability and dealer service score.

General Comments:

Engine is very torquey and economical - at least 50mpg.

Build quality is excellent as is the CD system.

Looks great - better styled that a Golf or A3.

Sports suspension is also good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

23rd Mar 2001, 02:18

I am considering buying the Leon TDi and hence have some questions. How quiet is 110 TDi engine in the Leon? How obvious is it that it is diesel at idle?

11th Apr 2001, 05:14

Don't expect any diesel engine not to sound diesel. Be careful and consider what you want: economy of fuel or economy of clatter. I have never met both together (yet, it may be in the future).

2000 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 20v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 20v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired520 miles
Most recent distance698 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf VR6

Summary:

VR6 beater for a fraction of the price

Faults:

Memory on the seat not activated.

General Comments:

Very pleased, still running it in until 1000 miles is reached. However it pulls in every gear including 6th at 60 mph and I'm not even pushing it yet!! I want to see exactly what the car will do and I can't wait!

One thing is that the front screen sometimes takes up to 10 minutes to de-mist even on the highest blower setting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2000

22nd Feb 2001, 09:40

Your screen misting problem is the aircon. Switch it on as the unit has a dehumidifier built in. My Toledo V5 (basically the same car) does the same thing.

13th Mar 2001, 03:33

I have had my Leon for 5 months now and it has now done 3600 mile and I found that when I push the car hard it misfires from about 4000 RPM. This is a common fault and Seat are working on a cure.

I still love the car and think it is excellent value for money.

I have found that if you use the air con the windscreen clears very quickly. This is true for all cars with air con.

16th Apr 2001, 15:15

Don't bother waiting for SEAT to sort it. You'll never get any sense out of them. Take it to your local Superchip's dealer, gain 20hp and a car that hasn't got any flat spots and goes like really quick.

Only problem is more torque steer. I've put some 17 X 7" TSW's on mine with 225/45 X 17 Kumho rubber and this has made it a lot better at coping with the extra grunt.

29th Apr 2001, 16:46

Anybody got a 1.4 se. Comments.

3rd Oct 2001, 14:46

I've got a 1.4s, nice car, but the condensation that forms on the front and back screens is insane for a new car, it also mists up very quickly.

Does anyone have similar problems?

Kind Regards.

Jon.

19th Jan 2003, 13:04

2002 Toledo 1.8 SE. Bought new. Having problems with moisture-condensation on all interior windows. Windscreen takes 10 minutes to clear, and rear just dribbles over rear shelf. This happens regardless of air-con status, and when it's below freezing I have to de-ice the interior with a scraper.

The door seals have always let water in and were supposedly replaced under warranty.

Can't really fault rest of car apart from the quality of rear seat fabrication.

Paul.

2000 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra 1.8 Sport

Summary:

The next real world performance car icon

Faults:

On delivery the electric seat memory had not been activated, so every time I came back to the car the seats and mirrors reverted back to the default positions. The dealer talked me through the set-up over the phone a week later.

General Comments:

Absolutely brilliant car! 180BHP, six speed gearbox, latin looks, full leather trim, 6 disc CD player, climate control, Audi A3 interior and a real feeling of quality for only £18,000.

Really lives up to the rave reviews and seems to be great at everything. Equally at home 'rush houring' in city centres,'hot hatching' around back roads and 'executive cruising' on motorways.

If you are looking for the next real world performance car icon (after the Impreza Turbo) get along to a Seat dealer and buy a Leon 20VT Cupra!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

26th Mar 2001, 03:51

If you order this car through Virgin Cars you can get it WITH full leather and metallic paint for less than £15,000.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 26 reviews