2003 Seat Leon SE TDi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The Leon is stylish and has a great blend of performance, handling and economy

Faults:

The dealer added a 6-CD auto changer at my request. This failed and was replaced under warranty without quibble. However the replacement unit has also failed!

The steering wanders to the left all the time. Not a problem in town, but tiring and a nuisance on long motorway journeys. The dealer checked it out and claims that there is no fault, but I am not satisfied.

General Comments:

The TDi engine pulls smoothly and strongly from just under 2,000 RPM and the gearchange is light and smooth.

Steering is sharp with excellent feel and the handling is excellent with a firm, but smooth ride.

The car feels very well put together with absolutely no squeaks or rattles. My previous Toledo TDi covered 54,000 without a problem.

48 mpg is easily achieved with a mixture of heavy city driving and fast motorway runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

2003 Seat Leon CUPRA R 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Beautiful

Faults:

CD player started to chew the Cd's.

General Comments:

The car is extremely reliable and acceleration is excellent.

This car is exciting beyond belief and attracts a lot of gazes!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 13:33

My cupra r is pants and so are the dealers.

10th May 2005, 16:05

Lancaster dealer still refuses to pick up the phone to arrange to to fix car, customer services coudent care less

2003 Seat Leon S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Better than the staid VW Golf

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The car is based on the Golf, but looks far more stylish. I am not saying I like the styling (its different, but not the best looking car!) but at least the car tries to look good and does not just rely on its suppos-ed fabulous image, like the Golf does to win round buyers.

Interior quality seems very good, but its very dark and sombre- luckily the optional electric sunroof lets in some light.

High Spec including standard alloys, the tyres 195/65R15 look a bit too fat and bus like for my liking, but again they are not as bad as the Golf's 175/80R14!

What lets it down is the engine and drive. Again, better than a Golf in terms if handling, but the engine is slow and gruff, steering heavy and gear change ponderous.

Its better than a Golf though (have I already said that???)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

27th Aug 2004, 08:52

Better than a Golf

Better than a Golf

Better than a Golf.

Sounds like the mantra from a Leon driver who regrets he did not buy a Golf.

Accept that you drive a Spanish car based on the old Golf and it makes live much easier.

26th Oct 2004, 05:35

Just to clear something up. I do not regret not buying a Golf. If I wanted to buy a Golf, then I would have done. But then my name would be Mr Bland from Blandford Forum. Obviously this person knows nothing- the Seat is virtually a VW in the interior layout, engines, materials etc, but it has more style and a more realistic price tag.

27th Oct 2005, 16:19

Anything is better than a leon, or was that the dealers!!!

2003 Seat Leon TDI 110HP 1.9 TDI from Spain

Summary:

Brilliant car, but must be polished in some components

Faults:

I've had several issues with the car:

- I changed the Turbo because it crashed after 15000 kilometers (8.000 miles?). With Turbo Diesel Injected cars is usual to change the air mass meter, but not the turbo.

The suspension arm was broken (no hits given by my side)

The motor part responsible for charging the battery when running (we call it here something like "alternator") had to be changed.

I usually have backache and the seats don't help. There is no lumbar regulator.

General Comments:

Apart from all the problems I have had with the car, its behavior is brilliant. The official Horsepower is 110 although it has 127HP. On fast tracks works fine and it seems to be not as much noisy as others.

Sorry about mistakes ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

2003 Seat Leon TDI SPORT FR 1.9 tdi from Spain

Summary:

The best daily car

Faults:

Not a single thing.

General Comments:

The car is really fast and handles great. It's specially good on fast tracks.

The quality of the materials is superb and the cunsumpition low. The only problem is that for a sports car it's too heavy, but much better than any compact car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

16th Oct 2005, 12:04

Please remember this is not a sports car. It is a family hatch with a sporting attitude. But yes, what a great car.