2003 Seat Leon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2003 Seat Leon Cupra R 210 1.8 20v turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 20v turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Fantastic performance, from a practical and sensibly priced car!

Faults:

Front splitter has been knocked several times.

Something dropped inside the drivers door which stopped the window from closing.

Badges are looking shoddy, they have weathered badly.

General Comments:

Awesomely quick car, when it's up and running there's little to out-pace it.

Comes well equipped as standard - 6 CD changer, Air Con, All Electrics, 6-speed box.

Looks fantastic due to the 18" alloys, and elegant shape, Recaro seats and sporty bumpers.

Extremely practical with 5 doors and plenty of room for the whole family.

Bargain price considering the mark up on it's sister cars (the VW Golf and Audi A3).

Servicing and parts are reasonably priced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2003 Seat Leon Cupra R 210 1.8T from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Car as a whole good, but too many little things have gone wrong!

Faults:

Horrendous rattles behind dash board.

2 new gear knobs.

9 replacement 'R' badges - 5 resprays required after dealer decided to remove badges with a screwdriver on wings and couldn't match the colour (Platinum grey)!

Digital display failed.

Brembo brake calipers required replacing after the paint bubbled.

Brake pedal cover keeps dropping off.

Had £3000 worth of damage caused to car when theives decided to steal the bumpers!!!

General Comments:

Performance good.

Build is average.

Seat workshop/fitters awful!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

31st Jan 2005, 16:55

I'm still waiting 2 months later to get my back light leak fixed! Dealers spat their dummy out when I complained of damage to the car! Customer services couldn't care less. Was told to take a day's holiday to try another dealer! They won't pick the car up. Well done Seat UK. That's customer care!

10th May 2005, 16:09

And I am still waiting!!!

14th Jun 2005, 00:59

I had one for just over 2 years. MY2003

There was a chain of interesting problems. To name the major one.

The car was delivered with corroded front brake disks.

Both front wings rust in less than 12 months.

Lamba sensor warning light keep coming on staring with every few thousands then every few hundred miles after reset or repair and lately permanently logging an error.

Dealer had many hours of effort trying to resolve this problem and eventually SEAT's chief mechanic plus brains from VW, AUDI & SKODA were joining in.

It is a lemon and so as it is yellow colour.

7th Sep 2005, 10:32

I too have far more faults than expected. But to be fair to my local dealer, all have been fixed - under warranty. These included A/C & Radiator fans, Leaking air inlet filter box, Spark plug coils, and the latest; the whole of the clutch hydraulics. Still a quick car for the money.

30th Sep 2005, 04:43

Ah, good old VAG build quality...

3rd Nov 2005, 10:16

I have been there, my TDI has been to the dealer 9 times in 6 months, Seat customer service was a joke, I sold my Leon and I will never ever buy a VW product again, I even ask hire companies for non VW brand cars on holiday because I don't need an other brake down again.

24th Mar 2006, 17:42

Looks like seat uk have shot themselves in the foot with customer care.

2003 Seat Leon SE TDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission TDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carSeat Toledo

Summary:

The Leon is stylish and has a great blend of performance, handling and economy

Faults:

The dealer added a 6-CD auto changer at my request. This failed and was replaced under warranty without quibble. However the replacement unit has also failed!

The steering wanders to the left all the time. Not a problem in town, but tiring and a nuisance on long motorway journeys. The dealer checked it out and claims that there is no fault, but I am not satisfied.

General Comments:

The TDi engine pulls smoothly and strongly from just under 2,000 RPM and the gearchange is light and smooth.

Steering is sharp with excellent feel and the handling is excellent with a firm, but smooth ride.

The car feels very well put together with absolutely no squeaks or rattles. My previous Toledo TDi covered 54,000 without a problem.

48 mpg is easily achieved with a mixture of heavy city driving and fast motorway runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews