2003 Seat Leon cupra 2 from UK and Ireland


A beautiful bargain



General Comments:

This car is beautiful to drive, it has a massive amount of power and the handling is excellent.

I was involved in a serious accident in the car, the airbags and fantastic build of the car not only save my life, but left me practically unmarked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

2003 Seat Leon SX 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland


Where is that mpg?


Bought car to save money, tempted by the 50+ mpg. I have now reached over 3000 miles and still only achieving 46mpg. No mention that this is a gradual increase when I bought the car.

How is mpg test achieved if it takes 10,000 miles to run the car in?

Annoying whistle around door mirror area at about 50mph, went in to dealer to investigate, after 4 hours and lots of tape, I still have whistle, but not as much.

Started car this morning and had a horrific scream come from the engine area, like a fan belt squeal, I will get dealer to investigate.

Seat have changed the retaining clips on the foot well mats to a lozenge shape. They have not however manufactured any mats to fit the new mounting. I have had car for two months and still no sign of mats. Will Seat pay for valet or replacement carpets, I don't think!

Had rear mud-flaps fitted to car when new, as I couldn't retain from Toledo because of different fitting. Mud-flaps were about £25. I was charged over £50 with them fitted. fitting is three screws per flap.

General Comments:

General Build quality is very good. Very impressed with the cars style and comfort.

Drive is enjoyable and smooth.

Service staff have always been polite and helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

13th Nov 2003, 03:16

I have a 110TDI MY01, basically same car as yours without the body coloured bumpers. All engines don't free up until way beyond 3000 miles. IIRC I was getting 46-50 if I drove reasonably in the first 10k.

Now, at 50k I'm averaging 50mpg on all motorway journey, higher on a-roads, let the car loosen up. All cars do this.

28th Nov 2003, 09:11

Our Passat TDi 110 (same engine) does between 48 and 54 mpg. Even a steady 46 in a car with this level of performance is damn good.

9th Feb 2004, 02:01

Anyone any idea what petrol consumption you get from a Seat Leon Cupra (not Cupra R) does at a constant 70mph?

15th Dec 2004, 06:44

I have a Toledo TDi SE 130 and have easily got 55+ mpg from the beginning, (28 miles on the clock). Even seen 67.7 on a run to Manchester from Southampton once, 80 mph most of the way. Think its the luck of the draw, but most easily give 50+

2003 Seat Leon Cupra 1.8 turbo 180Bhp from UK and Ireland


A high performance bargain


Leaky Washer Bottle due to poor fitting screen washer motor and grommet.

General Comments:

This is a excellent car overall. The performance is great with a very smooth power delivery.

A very quick car in the straight line, a good amount of overtaking power and torque.

6 speed gearbox feels light and easy to use.

The new body-kit of the MY03 Cupra, gives the car a very sporty and aggressive look. The car always turns heads especially in yellow.

An excellent motorway cruiser, although the soft suspension means it rolls a bit too much in the corners.

Equipment levels are excellent for a car of this price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

17th Dec 2004, 06:53

These cars are so good, they really do not get the recognition they deserve. I had a 20VT for over 3 years and it was as close to perfect as you could get.

I treated myself to a Cupra R 225 this year and it is awesome. Everything you love about the standard car is made better and the result is stunning. The major differences are the engine, which feels totally different in character to the standard car, and the handling.

The engine is the same 1.8t engine, but extensively reworked with forged internals and a new intake and exhaust system.

They also added a second intercooler to aid flow. the result is slightly more lag than before (due to bigger turbo) but when it gets on boost it pins you to the seat like nothing this side of an Evo.

The addition of 18" wheels and lower profile tyres has added an edge to the handling which just wasn't there before.

All the Leons are good, my girlfriend had the 1.6 S and even that flies!

4th Oct 2005, 17:01

Just a pity dealers question you why you did not buy off them and not repair car and seat uk couldent care less!!!

21st May 2008, 12:40

I have a Leon Cupra 2003 which I bought brand new. It's an excellent car all the way. My plan is to keep it as a classic... I do like the new versions of the Leon, but I prefer the smooth lines of the version I own.

I had the car tuned with APR - just the computer chip, so now the horsepower went from 180 to 220. It's incredible to see how this old version can kick the new ones, either from 0 to 60 or just going on the highway at more than 140 miles per hour.

17th Feb 2009, 11:48

I can't wait to get mine, I'm getting the 180bhp. I luv em, them go like f***. I do agree about the body roll, but never mind, going to lower mine anyway. Could someone tell me round how much the mpg is, 35?