2005 Seat Leon Reviews

2005 Seat Leon FR 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Good power and fun for the money

Faults:

Bad paintwork, FR badges fad etc.

General Comments:

For a 150 TDI they go really well.

Had mine remapped to 180. Pulled a lot better up the hills.

As for the clutch, was told that would be fine, but I did have it slip at 3000rpm.

A friend at a garage checked it, and it was fine.

As for what cars are faster, 130 or 150, the 150 is.

But at the end of the day, it comes down to the driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2010

2005 Seat Leon FR TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Superb car, shame about the sound system

Faults:

None!

General Comments:

My Seat Leon Cupra TDI 150 has been chipped, and after Power Flow exhaust and panel filter, produces 197bhp on a rolling road.

Before all the work, when it was standard with 150bhp, it was rapid. My mate had an 02 plate VTS (one of the newer versions), which has various mods, and we were about level to 100mph (so VTR guy, what are you on about, it's a 1.6 8 valve single cam engine; my Nova GSI would have eaten you, and that was slow compared to my Seat!), I would get blown off up to 60, and then come back through third and fourth.

After the work was done, my car is stupid; traction control must remain on at all times or you find yourself torque steering out of corners in fourth.

Surprisingly, the mpg has stayed around 50 combined, even with occasional toe down action.

A very good car; my only frustration is the new model of Leon looks gorgeous and has a 170bhp tdi engine, so it is no longer the fastest diesel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2007

2005 Seat Leon 225 Cupra R 1.8 T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

AMAZING

Faults:

Absolutely Nothing :)

General Comments:

Always wanted one of these cars.

I opted for a platinum grey Cupra R 225 and decided to spend around £1000 on modifications.

After getting the engine re-mapped and the exhaust system upgraded it was pushing 300 bhp and soaring from 0-60 in 5.6 seconds (rapido).

Overall, absolutely delighted and would highly recommend to anyone considering a true hot hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

22nd Dec 2006, 04:53

These car are seriously quick once they have been modded.

I do not think that you can get a better ALL round package for cheaper.

The only problem is that you need to learn how to control the weight applyed on the acceleration pedal :)

22nd Dec 2006, 14:05

A UK impreza WRX will do 0-60 MPH in 5.6 standard, and if you spent £1000 on it? well you know.

2005 Seat Leon Sport 2.0 TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carSeat Leon

Summary:

You could do a lot worse

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with this car, which is now a year old.

General Comments:

I thought it only fair to review this New Leon as I also left a review of my old car, the out-going Leon on this website.

I obtained this car as an ex-demo when it was 5 months old. The reliability has been outstanding, although perhaps you'd expect that of a car this age. Running costs are brilliant, and fuel economy is 50mpg+ on some long journeys.

Suspension is probably a little too firm. Comfy enough to ride in at high speeds, but 20-30mph can require a trip to the dentist to replace fillings. I really think the manufacturer made a mistake with that.

Having said that, because of the suspension, the car is stuck to the road like glue. The handling is immense. Due to the fantastic torque the car takes off like a rocket in low revs, best in 3rd and 4th gears because in 2nd the whole experience is over as quickly as it's begun.

The interior is, I would say, considerably cheaper feeling and less solid than a Golf or Germanic equivalent, but it's no worse than the average car. Probably still a cut above most in terms of build. The stereo system is a disappointment.

Overall, it's a satisfying car to drive and own, with a few little flaws. But it looks lovely and is cost-effective to own, so until I can afford that BMW 1-series or Audi A3, I'm happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

5th Dec 2006, 02:15

You'd prefer Audi A3 or BMW 1-series? An A3 is just more expensive and a 1-series BMW isn't a real BMW - it's really small and cheap (materials etc.) but costs a lot.

12th Feb 2007, 03:58

Thanks to the person who commented... 'And a lot better'. I'd have thought that much was plainly obvious, which is why I didn't give it a unanimously perfect review. I just like the Leon because it looks great and is a fresh sight on the roads. A lot better than joining the anonymous ranks in Fords and Vauxhalls.

2005 Seat Leon FR TDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic. The performance is brilliant for a diesel. Will give any petrol car a run for their money, but our fuel dial doesn't go down as quickly as theirs!!!

Fuel economy is also brilliant, motorway driving and the needle hardly moves.

Handling is superb holds the corners like glue..

Had the car 8 months a still haven't got bored of driving it. It just gets better and better.

Dealership in Cheltenham were extremely helpful and great aftercare.

This is a car I would definitely buy again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

20th Nov 2005, 06:24

I've wasted these in my saxo VTR.

21st Nov 2005, 13:52

Unfortunately I doubt the driver of the FR was trying. The FR is the fastest TDI hatch on the road. It is surprisingly fast and the torque produced is phenomenal. It would easily beat any boy racer Saxo.

24th Nov 2005, 17:04

The fr would brake down soon, and dealers would be unable to fix, or complain that you did not buy off them.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews