2001 Seat Toledo Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2001 Seat Toledo SE 1.9 tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 tdi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A good all rounder

Faults:

Glove box handle snapped off when trying to open.

General Comments:

I really didn't want this car originally as a rep left and I was forced to have it. Now I love it to bits - it's an excellent motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

2001 Seat Toledo SE 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10420 miles
Most recent distance11120 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Superbly classy all-rounder

Faults:

Nothing so far!

General Comments:

This car is an excellent all-rounder. It's brilliant value and has everything you need for a happy motoring life.

It's not an absolute driver's car; the handling is fine, but not thrilling.

It's fabulously comfortable though, and very refined for long-distance cruising. On good road surfaces, 80mph creates only a gentle hum, and you don't even need to turn up the stereo!

The stereo itself is superb too, and adds to the quality feel of the car. This car really looks and feels far more expensive than it is.

I've just done a 250 mile journey and averaged 58mpg, without even trying to be economical. These high-tech diesels are the future, enough said.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

31st Jan 2003, 05:04

I owned a Seat Leon and it was a nightmare, doors leaked and all kind of stuff went wrong, and my Seat dealer made things even worse.

I contacted Seat UK, and they couldn't care less.

Sold my Leon after 10 months and bought a Japanese car.

23rd Dec 2004, 08:50

Err, thanks, but if I wanted to read comments on the Leon I would look at reviews of the Leon, not the Toledo!

2nd Mar 2005, 09:50

Glad to see you managed to get 58mpg!

The Toledo is the only car I have ever owned that gets anywhere near the manufacturers quoted figures (54mpg) I can get 61.2mpg on a long journey if I really try and be conservative and I get 48-51mpg if I don't even try.

I have much experience of Renaults and Peugeot's and find they tend to get 5-10mpg Less than the manufacturers state even at 60mph on the motorway. The seat Toledo is a refreshing change!

28th Oct 2005, 21:41

The Seat Toledo is the best car for fuel usage; believe me, it's the best.

17th Oct 2006, 13:50

155k in four years. Did you sleep in it!If you were happy with it doing that sort of mileage I am getting one, definitely.

9th Jan 2007, 07:46

No I didn't live in it. I used it to travel to and from work, a commute of 71 miles each way per day.

The company ceased operations in Ireland July 2006 (to China)

Redundancy received, new job locally, and driving 2003 Subaru Forester XT (not very economical, but a joy to drive)

2001 Seat Toledo V5 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Great car, a BMW in SEAT clothing

Faults:

Traction Control button not working, but this was resolved when returned to dealer.

Rear number plate detached. Dealer sent me some fixing screws so now it's fixed properly rather than relying on sticky pads.

General Comments:

I had about £14000 to splash on a nearly new car that had to fit some personal and family requirements. I had a shortlist of the IS200, Mondeo ST24, Golf V5 and the Toledo V5. The latter won!

A great V5 engine which is quick, has plenty of torque and is extremely smooth.

Loads of goodies as standard, including satellite navigation, electric memory seats and six CD player to name just a few.

Mine is Ebony black and has the beige leather/suede interior which makes the cabin very light and airy and gives an executive feel.

The V5 offers great value for money and is an excellent car. I tried some competitors, but I bought a 6 month old car with super low mileage for the price of a 2 year old Lexus/Golf... I'm smiling!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

11th Aug 2005, 08:30

You seem to like the car, so it beats me why you would insult it by calling it a BMW.

2001 Seat Toledo SE 1.8 20 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 20 valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance6900 miles
Previous carSeat Toledo

Summary:

Beautiful balanced drivers car

Faults:

No problems have appeared.

General Comments:

Automatic box very smooth.

Seats comfortable with adequate adjustments available.

Rear seat legroom could be better, but does not cause problems even on an extended journey.

Rear headphone system works well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

25th Jul 2002, 17:50

My Toledo TDiSE has done 63,000 miles and it has always been absolutely perfect. My direct family and relatives love to travel in it, also we all love the car's good looks. I don't understand why people don't buy more of them. According to " Whatcar " Magazine, the TDiSE Toledo keeps 49% of it's value after three years and it's cost per mile is very competitive. In fact it does better than some of it's rivals.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews