2002 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Skoda Fabia 1.4 IPM petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 IPM petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36200 miles
Most recent distance36500 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

General Comments:

I have recently bought my first Skoda, it's a Fabia 1.4IPM 2002 petrol.

I thought seeing as this is the first time I have a few bob to spend on a car, I would go, after much consideration, to a Skoda dealer.

On the test drive I noticed that when the car was ticking over at traffic lights; the tickover was very erratic and very jumpy. On asking why this was, the salesman assured me it was the roll bar and would be attended to.

After buying the car, the problem still persists; this is after taking it back three times. On the third occasion, the head mechanic tells me that now he realizes it is an eight valve and, all the eight valves have the same characteristic, 'well', I'm not convinced, but, having said all that, I like the car and if anybody could assure me that these guys are telling the truth, I would be highly delighted and grateful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

28th Jan 2008, 06:16

Hmm, tickover erratic due to roll bar... that's a new one on me. Some salesmen haven't got a clue.

Anyway, ask on briskoda.net; someone there will be happy to help.

7th Oct 2012, 04:39

Hi there, after being a mechanic for several years, I looked for a good reliable car for my close friend. She was somewhat apprehensive at a Skoda and wanted a Golf, so I got a Skoda for now, a lovely 1.4 MPI in blue on a 2002 reg, with only 43,000 miles on it.

Just the same problem. Seemed to be missing on tick over, so I did my bit, new coil pack, plugs, O2 sensor, temp sensor, fuel sensor, mmmmm all runs well, but the miss is still there. It's a problem with the 8 valve engines and won't go away. I've been told to increase the tick over a little to resolve the issue; this needs to be done via a Vagcom machine. Well that's worth a try.

Oh, just done a fuel check, full fill up to neck of filler, then refill. It's doing 39.34 MPG to the gallon. So accurate as to the manufacturer's guide book. BUY A POLO TDI. LOL.

22nd May 2014, 03:14

Hi, bit late now! Just seen your post; the 1.4 MPI engine is an updated Skoda 1.3 from the Felicia. It was used as a stop-gap engine for a couple of years before Skoda replaced it with the 3-cylinder 1.2. The reason that the idle is lumpy is very simple; in order for the engine to pass newer, stricter emissions tests, Volkswagen had to reduce the idle speed. This makes it seem like it's not running properly. If the engine is behaving at all other times, you have nothing to worry about; I'm surprised that car mechanics did not know of this - I'm the owner of one, and I knew of this lumpiness before I bought the car (info. obtained from Internet). Hope this reassures you!

2002 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.4 MPI from Serbia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 MPI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance73700 kilometres
Previous carYugo Koral

Summary:

The best car ever made!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong! lol, it's a Škoda!!!

General Comments:

It's great, good-looking, sporty car with great performances. I drove my Fabia 170km/h!!! And it's very cheap to drive. Škoda makes THE BEST CARS IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!! Škoda_forever!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2007

30th Apr 2007, 04:43

You need a reality check, Skoda do not make the best cars in the world. That's a fact and an opinion.

27th Sep 2007, 17:44

...They made the fastest 1.1 liter car in the world though.

2002 Skoda Fabia Comfort Plus 1.4L 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4L 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Not as good as they were

Faults:

Mysteriously the rear washer tube came off the washer bottle. Dealer put it back on as it's in accessible.

Brake light switch failed during the 3 year warranty. The dealer fixed it.

Squeak on centre console. Cured by dealer.

After 4 years the Anti-roll bar bushes had to be replaced, not under warranty. Shame, as Skoda knew of the weakness.

General Comments:

A very nice car. well built, little trouble.

On the down side -- gulps petrol at @28 mpg.

The instruments are well placed, but the radio and heater controls need re-positioning.

Warning lights need to be on the instrument panel like on my Felicia.

Can't check the windscreen washer fluid easily, as it's in the n/s wing. It keeps overflowing when topping up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2006

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews