2002 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Skoda Fabia Comfort TDi 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A great blend of performance and economy

Faults:

There was a fault with the alarm on delivery, but I was given a free service to compensate!

Tailgate release did not work, but was fixed at the first service.

My car suffered from on or two squeaks and rattles, but these have been fixed, one by me one by the dealer.

The rear alloy wheels can be stubborn to remove - so be prepared if you get a puncture!

Apart from these few niggles the car has been 100% reliable.

General Comments:

The performance is really good. for the money there isn't much that comes close!

Many other drivers can't understand why this little skoda just leaves them for dust!

50mpg is easily achievable.

Handling is quite nimble and the ride is also good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

2002 Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

The best car I have owned or driven

Faults:

Front 'bumber/spoiler' section is a slightly different colour.

The computer was not set to zero when it was delivered resulting in a 'service inspection' measure being displayed erroneously.

General Comments:

I am hugely impressed with the performance - it pulls and accelerates really strongly at all speeds.

The road holding is superb and the handling likewise.

The seats could be a little wider and more supportive especially in a car which corners so well.

The designer who chose the pattern for the seats had a Czechoslovakian sense of humour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

2002 Skoda Fabia Silverline 1.4 Mpi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Mpi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

Better than almost everything else unless you pay over the odds!

Faults:

I have encountered occasional creaking from behind the dashboard, usually when the heater is hot. I have had this back to the dealer on over 4 occasions, but they seem reluctant either to find the fault or acknowledge it exists. I have now grown used to it, but I am intent on getting it cured finally on the first service.

Only other faults are small rattles/squeaks, but are really quite negligible.

General Comments:

I have previously owned 5 Skoda's and had a Fabia Elegance when the Fabia was launched, which I loved dearly. I downgraded to this Silverline which is effectively a dressed up Classis, but there has been no real loss of quality, ride or comfort from the much, much more expensive Elegance. I have had a few rattles/creaks which I did not have in the first car, however, I know these are really only minor trim irritations and I can wait for the main service to get them sorted. Despite this, it is near silent when compared to a Fiesta or the dreadful corsa and punto in which earmuffs are recommended.

Despite being in Classic trim, the interior is not as unwelcoming as you might think, and it has been lifted with leather detailing and chrome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

6th Feb 2006, 16:06

I have just acquired a Skoda Silverline and so far I have been very happy with it. The only niggling faults I have found so far is a small oil leak and the fog light switch has buried itself into the dashboard. It is certainly running well and appears very economical as was expected.

20th Jul 2007, 14:01

Have had a Silverline 1.4 for 18 months. In that time the only problems were the rear wash wipe solved by ordering a part from Skoda costing £5-00. The front suspension bush went too which was not cheap. The quality of the car is superb and is better than other supermins that I can think of.

My sister in law is thinking of getting one and the owner told me that he has three in his driveway and all are of good quality. Like me he is a Skoda convert having had VWs in the past which were more expensive to service etc.

2002 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.9 Sdi from Slovakia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Sdi Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

A perfect city car

Faults:

Nothing (yet).

General Comments:

Overall a very good car.

Perfect gas mileage, but the engine is too weak for out-of-town driving.

The transmision is sometimes not really exact.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

2002 Skoda Fabia Estate (Elegance) 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good value, high quality, fun to drive

Faults:

Noisy power steering pump, but dealer replaced.

One minor interior body rattle.

General Comments:

Excellent value - full electrics, a/c and on board computer etc.

Very nice to drive - quiet, powerful, fast and good steering.

Small estate, but good load carrying area especially with back seats folded.

Good feel of quality - and not a bad looker too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

2002 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.4 mpi from Greece

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 mpi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A V.W. with another badge!

Faults:

Nothing wrong so far.

General Comments:

Handles well, and a quality made vehicle. Lot of room, pretty big boot. Below average acceleration though (1.4 mpi) and one must be a little bit careful with the brakes on wet roads. Sure needs ABS, mine hasn't got that! Last, but not least very economical on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

2002 Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A very nice car, and amazing value

Faults:

The coolant leaked slowly soon after I received the car. But the dealer found the problem. (Replaced and sealed up the ring clamps)

Since then the car's been perfect.

General Comments:

The road holding is exceptional. My previous car was a Toyota Corolla and the Fabia feels like a racing car in comparison.

The extra features like full electric windows and A/C on the Elegance are great value too.

I happen to be a disabled driver. The automatic transmission is 4-speed... this is also great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews