2003 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2003 Skoda Fabia TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Heap of scrap

Faults:

New starter.

Gearbox rebuilt.

New flywheel.

New wheel bearings x2.

High level brake light.

ABS wiring problem (in dealer for a week).

New clutch.

General Comments:

What a pile of junk, VW build quality!!! I have had 8 proper VW's & they were brilliant; then I buy this heap!

To add to the list above the bushes on the front suspension, which is a known weak point. They are on their way out, but at least I can replace those with powerflex items & they should last for a while.

I am stuck with this as I am not in a position to buy another car, but once I am it won't be another Skoda. Don't believe all the hype; Skoda are no more than an average car maker at best.

Run a mile if you're offered one.

JUNK!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2008

2003 Skoda Fabia 1.2 HTP 1.2 gasoline from Bosnia and Herzegovina

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres

Summary:

Best buy for that price (6000 EUR)

Faults:

Only thing I found bad on the car is the alignment, car goes slightly to the right when you go under 80 kph.

General Comments:

Good and reliable car, in my town I have 2 Skoda service centers so that is a plus, well built, lots of space for a small car, great gasoline consumption rate.

Motor has enough power for 1.2 liter engine

+ no transmission belt, instead of it there is a transmission chain!?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

2003 Skoda Fabia 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

It's a disaster from start to finish

Faults:

Gears grind when going into 3rd or 5th.

Dreadful to start after 60k service, especially now on a cold morning.

Despite numerous alignments, still pulls to the left.

Leaks oil.

Back windscreen washer pipe keeps disconnecting.

Back door central looking failed.

General Comments:

Poor handling in my honest opinion.

It's now at the stage that I don't listen to the radio in the car as every journey I make if I listen carefully I can identify yet another noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2006

27th Sep 2007, 17:47

...What do you expect? It's a VW!!!

2003 Skoda Fabia 1.2 54 bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 54 bhp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Superb car, unless you want something that goes fast

Faults:

The only fault I can find with it is that the paintwork gets scratched really easily. I would recommend paying extra for the lacquer finish if buying new.

General Comments:

This car is superb value for money, being a very well-made, comfortable and spacious (for a small car).

The performance of the 1.2 is slightly disappointing - very slow acceleration (compared to a 1.2 Polo). The fuel consumption is very good and it will cruise happily at 90mph when it finally gets there.

The level of equipment for the money is excellent - I got electric windows, alloy wheels, power steering, CD player, air conditioning, etc. for 8k on the road.

Not great for large adults in the back, but will comfortably carry 3 children or average sized adults in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2006

10th Oct 2007, 05:40

Do you have any problems with steering and aligment?, my Fabia goes slightly to the left on the road when you go under 80 kph...

2003 Skoda Fabia Combi Breeze 1.2 - 12 V from Denmark

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 - 12 V Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres

Summary:

A true Volkswagen!

Faults:

Contact to rear window wiper broken. Fixed at dealer.

Front disks wobbling. Until now changed three times within warranty period, but without any luck.

Squeeking noises behind radio in the dashboard. Dealer tried to fix this, but without any luck.

Transmission hard - even when oil is warm - especially 4. gear very hard to access.

Thermostat for A/C gets "confused" at times, meaning temp goes up and down - which is quite annoying. Will be tried to fix at next service within warranty.

General Comments:

Elegant mini estate.

High driving comfort. Low noise.

High quality materials.

A good alternative to a VW product, although the bad things from VW seem to have been adopted to Skoda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

2003 Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Fun, involving to drive and very economical

Faults:

Intermittent momentary failure of power steering.

Air conditioning failure (twice).

Air re-circulation inoperative.

General Comments:

The car feels solid and is great fun to drive, if a little nose-heavy compared to the petrol version.

It has been a marvellous workhorse and, because it it such a good all-rounder, we use it for nearly everything. Our Yaris (good though it is) often stays at home.

My previous car (SAAB 9000) was comfortable on long journeys, but its petrol consumption was too high, so we (perversely) often used a smaller car for those long journeys.

On my Fabia, I have supplemented the already adequate power by adding a 'smart box' in between the Engine Control Unit and the fuel injector socket. I reckon it has increased bhp and torque by 25% plus. My long term fuel economy (the car is mainly used for long journeys) is now 64mpg, an improvement on the standard consumption, which used to be in the high 50's mpg.

I like this car a lot and would certainly buy another one, despite the minor problems.

Dealer service has been very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews