2003 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A real life performance car, that a 21 year old can insure and run!!

Faults:

It all works!

General Comments:

This car is beautifully made.

Performance is very good at 130 bhp, but it has now been chipped by BBRGTi to 170 with 330 ft torque; that's more than a WRX Scooby.

It pulls like a train, 40 - 80 is extremely rapid, and it will outrun a Clio 172 or Mini Cooper S.

The handing is accomplished, although the limit is hard to judge. The standard tyres are not that great.

Price wise, and for what you get, it's near on unbeatable.

I would suggest adding cruise and Xenon headlights to the package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

28th Mar 2004, 13:34

I would be interested to know if the increase in performance has had any adverse effect on economy and/or refinement?

2003 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 TDI PD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI PD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance2100 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Sheep in wolfs clothing

Faults:

Nothing to report.

General Comments:

A real gem of a car, 0-60MPH has been clocked at 8.3 seconds.

A real pocket rocket this car is one of the greatest hot hatches around.

The car has everything you need from performance to comfort. Highly developed sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 12:45

Who cares about 0-60 in these cars, its all about the mid range and in gear excilleration. From 30-90 that's where the fun is!

2003 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 PD 130 b.h.p from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 PD 130 b.h.p Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

VW group's best kept secret!

Faults:

Other than a slight rattle from the passenger door trim which disappears once the cabin has warmed up I have had no issues with the car.

General Comments:

This is my third Fabia, I started with the 1.4 MPi 8v, which I have commented on in this forum, I then moved on to a 2.0l and now the vRS. If I hadn't the vRS hadn't have come along I would still be happy with the 2.0l. As a motorway car in some ways the 2.0l was more relaxed as the suspension was softer and the engine would pull quite happily from just above 40 in fifth gear. Due to the close ratio box of the vRS I have found the need to change down more especially as in sixth at 70 the car is only doing around 1700 rpm!The overall package of the vRS is excellent as whilst the 2.0l was better than the 1.4l I still found it rather soft especially when cornering enthusiastically whilst the seats didn't offer enough support in those circumstances either. The vRS offers performance, handling and also excellent economy for an absolute bargain price. Compared to the 2.0l it's cheaper, the road tax is less and even my insurance came down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

2003 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9TDIPD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9TDIPD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

A high performance bargain!

Faults:

Nail in tyre after 3 days :- (

(They are 16" 205x45!!)

General Comments:

Considering the same engine is in the VW Passat and even the Audi A6 consider what it does in this chassis! Very quick 9.6s 0-60 is claimed by Skoda, but its easily around 8.4s and the economy is amazing. I regularly get 52mpg on a very short 12 mile drive. Overall I can't find any bad points even the price makes me smile. A billy bargain in a world of car sharks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

8th Dec 2003, 15:47

A brilliant choice. This must be such a satisfying car. We have a Fabia 1.9 TDI Estate with 100 bhp and even that completely surprises a lot of people. Several BMW and Jaguar owners have looked stunned when the little Fabia leaves them in the dust! All this and 55 mpg too.

I would love Skoda to fit your 130 bhp version of this engine in an estate model Fabia. Now that would be THE Q-car!

Our enthusiasm for Fabia TDIs has rubbed off on friends. A neighbour now has one and a friend is about to place an order. Perhaps people have finally had enough of over-rated, over-priced, pretentious premium cars.

4th Feb 2004, 18:23

Having owned Subaru Turbo!, Mercs & 5 Series... honestly say that the VRS IS Fab, especially with its low running costs and modest looks.Basically, enough to detract any car thief! A brilliant package & no joke!

2003 Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.4 68 hp from Turkey

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 68 hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

High and reliable quality for a good price

Faults:

I just had problems with my audio system which was a production of Skoda-Auto with the participation of Grundig Co. (MS402, but it is easily repaired by the dealer service.

General Comments:

First of all the design and the lines of the car are very good looking. I have used too many cars before (such as Corolla, Focus, Polo ext..) but no other cars are charming as Fabia may be it is because of the smart, smiling, strong face and the bright front lamps of Fabia.

Secondly I want to mention the iron thickness of the chassis. In my opinion it is the thickest one in its class, may be as well as the upper class, because of this while driving I feel myself more confident then any other ones.

Also Fabia gives you the high quality feeling when you sit on the seats of the Elegance version. Fabrics are good enough for this class, also better than the rivals. Chrome accessories felt you that you are sitting in an upper class car.

On the other hand performance of the 68 hp is poor at the uphill driving, but I can say that it is quite enough for city usage. I must mention that full trunk with 4 persons forces the car very hardly on the road. So if you have enough budget try to the 101 hp ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews